We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cola de Mono Lodge(Santa Teresa)
Book now, pay at stay
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hospedaje Puriq(Santa Teresa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Isma Hostel(Santa Teresa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hostal Yacumama(Santa Teresa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Andean Cusco Hotel(Santa Teresa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
H.Falcon(Santa Teresa)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hospedaje Cajamarca(Santa Teresa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
105
34
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
34
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivereco quechuaaguas calientesinca trailzip linelocal coffeethermal bathstree housemachu picchuwelcome drinkcomfortable bedhot watertroutour tour guiderelaxing stayfresh fruittreehouse style
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 147 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Not only is this a beautiful place to stay, but they have such wonderful staff!! The staff was so helpful and worked so hard. The dinner we bought at the hotel was delicious. They also had free purified water for guests to drink and free fruit to eat. They arranged our taxi services for us and our zip line experience as well. The room I stayed in was beautiful. It over looked a river valley. Could hear the rushing water down below. So peaceful. They also placed fresh freesias in our bathrooms. They smelled so good. Santa Teresa is off the beaten path, but staying here was so worth it. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tews20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My girlfriend and I were traveling during the Christmas holidays and we had planned to make the Inca Trail towards Machu Picchu but we were too late in booking the trip so we decided to do it completely differently. We found the EcoQuechua lodge and tried to try it and what a great surprise!
They went take us in Cusco an early morning and after a more than 5hours car trip towards Santa Teresa (great landscapes, story etc etc) we arrived at the lodge! Super nice place, integrated in the nature, comfortable and great cooking Kike waw, thank you!
The guide came for a briefing and ate with us that evening and the next morning we were on track for One day and it was quite tough but a normal physical condition is enough! Lenin, our guide is very interessant and explains everything!
We climbed for the first part, then lunch in a lost restaurant with a view on the Machu Picchu, then descend towards the valley where we took a train to Aguas Calientes. Christmas dinner there with Lenin and a goooood night. I recommend you to wake up the earliest possible to get to Machu Picchu, what we did and the site with no one around is -no words- amazing!
Organisation, team, site, rooms everything was perfectly done with EcoQuechua! We will never forget our time with them, best Christmas ever!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harold w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I know some people want to come to Peru and trek all over the place. While that's ok and fine, consider Eco Quechua first. We passed many trekkers on our hikes and they were quite envious of us returning to a bed and warm shower at the end of our 8 hour hike.

We found Eco Quechua Lodge on Hotels.com of all places. This lodge is SO MUCH more than just a place to stay. When I went to their website I saw that they offered 4 or 6 day “Adventure Packages”. We were going to the area with MachuPicchu as the main attraction of course and we wanted to add a few days of other exploring. The adventure packages are very much worth every penny spent (and very economical) as the lodge arranges ALL of the transportation, from the hotel pickup in Cuzco, to the drop off back in Cuzco at the end of the journey. Their package prices seem in line with what other adventure companies are charging, but with the added benefit of warm showers, a comfortable bed and AMAZING food and outstanding service.

The lodge itself is so picture perfect, and better than it appears in any online picture. One of the owners, Kikee (spelled with one e but tripadvisor won't let me spell it that way), was in the taxi on our pickup and he spent the ride over the mountains to the lodge as our tour guide. We stopped off at several vistas, saw a demonstration on how wool is made into the traditional clothing, ate lunch at a roadside restaurant (a lot of Americans may turn their nose at this place when they pull up to it, BUT we had grilled duck with rice and vegetables. MOST EXCELLENT), and had a very nice drive thru the mountains.

Upon arrival we had a welcome drink, served by Kikee’s wife, with Kikee (again, one of the owners) and were shown to our room. One wall is windows with a big door, looking out over the forest canopy down to the river. We had chairs right outside our room which we sat in during every free moment. We were there in April, mild temperatures, no bugs. On that first evening we took a short walk up the hill behind the lodge on a trail, then returned at dark for dinner
.
Dinners here at the lodge during our stay were different than those to which most travelers are accustomed. There was no menu, they told you what was being prepared, we like all sorts of food so whatever they served was good with us. First night we went down to the dining area(outdoor of course) and there were 3 place settings. Note that there were two of us. Having never traveled to Peru we did not know that, at least at this lodge, your guide will dine with you the night before some excursion. This was a very nice plus as the guide explained the next day’s plan, and talked with us about the local culture, landscape, business, or whatever. We learned so much more than if the guide just showed up day of excursion.

As far as what to do while here at the lodge. Book an adventure package. Options are listed on the website. For us, Day 1 was the drive over from Cuzco. Day 2 short guided hike up behind lodge, then a trip to Hot Springs near Santa Teresa (we choose not to do to the extra cost zip line). Day 3 a hike to a coffee plantation, and over the mountain on part of Inca Trail, with lunch on top of mountain at a small "restaurant" with a view of Machu Picchu. Day 4 the trip to Machu Picchu (again, transportation was arranged for us and we had a guide for just the 2 of us). Then transportation (first class train) was again already set for our return to Cuzco. On the drive back one of the other owners called our driver and asked to speak to us to make sure we had a good and safe trip.

We did note that some things happen out of order than what is listed on the website, but that’s ok. Sometimes schedules conflict or weather happens. Be flexible and go with the flow of this beautiful country.

My wife and I HIGHLY recommend Eco Quechua Lodge and one of their “Adventure Packages”.
I can't imagine finding a better place to stay, or better hosts to travel with in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worryknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Found the place on TA and gave it a try after visiting Machu Picchu. They helped us by advising to take the train and a collective taxi. Make sure you ask the driver if he is a collective taxi and only pay S/5 per person. We got ripped off on our drive in.

Cute place, up the stairs. Mostly open air and the weather was great in June.
Rooms were clean, bathroom is small but great!
Get concept on their Eco side. Staff spoke some English.
If you reserve during the day, they'll make a family dinner for you around 7pm for about S/30. It was Good but it's an adjustment getting used to eating so late.

They helped us book tours like zip line.
20 ish minute walk to town and 30 minutes more walk to the hot springs. Or we paid S/20 for 3 people to have a collective taxi take us there.
They have free water and fruit that they grow.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank chelsmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We wanted to do something more than just a day visit to Machu Picchu in this area, and decided to spend a few days in Santa Teresa. We were super glad that we did! A day hike on the Llactapata Inca trail with the owner, "Kique" was amazing! Dinner and coffee at his lodge were fantastic.

Although getting there wasn't straight forward and required a bit of research, it was all worth it! We highly recommend staying here to anyone who would not like to get to Aguas Calientes and turn around the next day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews