We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Flip Flop Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flip Flop Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We brought our three little boys here from Ohio. Our visit was great. They have everything you might need in the adorable units. The grounds are great, like a little escape. The boys were more than happy to swim in the pool. There is a lovely deck that overlooks a lagoon that we fished off everyday and caught several fish. We had free use of the canoes, kayaks & paddle boats. Very short drive to Crescent Beach which is gorgeous or Siesta Key Beach. The managers were very friendly and accommodating! We had a blast. I would highly recommend staying here :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    23
    6
    8
    8
See reviews for
37
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alachua
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

You feel as if you are on vacation from the first moment you see your cottage. Set in lush tropical landscape this dreamy property is perfect for a family vacation or an romantic get away.
Large rooms, fully equipped kitchens, flat screen TV's, and comfortable beds. Beautiful large pool with pool toys for you to enjoy.
Short walk to the white, fine sandy private beach of Siesta Key. Crystal clear, blue water.
Free taxi service into town
Shops and restaurants around the corner.
Very quiet and clean. Staff are friendly and willing to help you make your stay the best. The property is pet friendly.

Room Tip: There is a cottage for everyone here. From studio to large family cottages. Staff make sure the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Banana Bay Club - Waterside Cottages March 8 - March 15, 2014 for my son's wedding. After running into problems with our existing reservation, we found the people at the BBC to be very friendly and accommodating. We needed room for 26 people and our accommodations were great! We rented all 5 of the 1 bedroom cottages, the 2 bedroom cottage and the honeymoon villa. All of the units were nicely decorated with Florida colors and styles. The units were all very clean. They are equipped with towels, bedding, dishes..everything you need. The grounds were very nicely landscaped. The pool is small but heated to a very nice temperature. You can walk right into it. And every morning the owner came and swept the pool area and cleaned the pool. It was really nice to sit out on the deck at night. They guys all brought (or bought) fishing poles and they were catching pretty big fish right off the dock! It was really exciting! They are very close to Turtle Beach and only a couple miles from Siesta. We really liked the location. I would definitely stay at BBC again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay. Thanks BBC!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenova, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Me and my husband came down to siesta key and was finding it impossible to get a room. Our trip was very spur of the moment. We called various hotels and no one had a vacancy and if they did they were wanting 300 plus for the room. We finally spoke with someone who referred us to Banana Bay. We spoke with a man name Dave who was extremely friendly and helpful. We got s very good deal. Even though these cottages are not on the beach they are still on water and they offer free kayaks and canoes.it was very peaceful and serene and its only a mile from the beach. Would definitely recommend everyone to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRD ISLAND
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family recently gathered at Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon and had a wonderful time. We stayed in Key Lime Cottage--very clean and room for the whole family. Our adult "kids" really enjoyed the canoe and I enjoyed fishing off the pier with our 21/2 year old grandson. The staff was friendly. Communications in setting up the reservation was excellent. What more can I say--a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servicestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked a family vacation to Siesta Key for eight nights. This is not our first time visiting Siesta Key. We have stayed on three occassions at two other properties, but they were not available. We booked a 3 bedroom and 2 bath cottage at this property named the Bay Breeze.

I will first begin with the interior of my cottage: one of the "bedrooms" had a curtain for a door, I get that it is a former sunroom, but they could have put on a real door, the master bathroom was a former closet and actually had a closet door still, for a minute we were actually looking for the other bathroom, the main bathroom had duct tape around the tub drain as the tub was falling apart, the fan in one of the bedrooms made a horrible clicking noise making it impossible to deal with, both of the fan bathrooms were the loudest you can imagine, again impossible to deal with, on the nicer side, the kitchen was redone recently, but without a dishwasher, the main area was tolerable, but the sleeping and bath arrangements were horrendous.

On a side note, my friend's family rented one of the one bed and one bath cottages (number 3) and they said the springs were popping out of their bed and they did not sleep comfortably for their entire stay.

Outside: the deck was amazing. We did love the deck and the fishing area. We also enjoyed the kayaks, canoes and paddle boards available for our use. Unfortunately, it stopped there. The pool shown on the website looks much larger. The "pool" is actually the size of a hot tub and the sign does state that the maximum persons allowed in at a time is six. Well, that was the size of our family and even six was uncomfortable. We stayed out so the kids could play. The laundry area was the size of a closet with only one washing machine and one dryer. Both machines cost 1.25 each, making a load 2.50 and in a closet where you could barely open the dryer door.

Finally, the wifi connection was spotty at best. There is a small disclaimer on the paperwork that we were provided "Connection to service is not guaranteed at all times." I am very displeased with this as this was a specific question during booking and I was not told this. I work in IT and this affected my ability to work poorly. Also, because I work in IT, I know that they could have easily fixed this problem with additional routers on the property.

I think this property can be overall explained as poor consideration for guests -- from the upkeep to the wifi to the pool. We paid $2,2200 for eight nights. I certainly expected a little more for the price. The property is posted as for sale, so perhaps the future owners will do more. It honestly would not take much to turn this property around, I suppose the current owners have just lost interest and are not putting any money into it, just reaping what they can until it sells.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amywhetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband & I had the opportunity to take a last minute getaway, so we headed to Siesta Key to stay at the Banana Bay Club again. We chose to stay in the Sand Dollar Cottage, it was a 1 bedroom condo offering a full kitchen, and just steps to the pool. We took the stand up paddle boards out onto "Heron Lagoon". What a great way to work out, and get close to nature, then cool off in the swimming pool. They do not charge you for the paddleboards, and you can use them at your leisure. Turtle Beach is located further south on Midnight Pass Rd, and is a great beach for catching the beautiful west costs sunsets. The parking lot is very close to the beach so you don't have to trek for miles to get down to the water.
Overall, we will continue to go back to Banana Bay as it holds a special place in my heart. A true beach getaway, yet so close to town if you want the hustle bustle of the tourist time. Catch a ride from Jonny. He takes you around the island on a golf cart for tips. So Siesta Key! I love it.

Room Tip: The resort is in a quiet area of Siesta Key. Some of the cottages are directly on the waterfront. Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquaholic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
1.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,429 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
694 reviews
4.0 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flip Flop Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Cottages

Property: Flip Flop Cottages
Address: 8254 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2731 (Formerly Banana Bay Club Cottages at Heron Lagoon)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Flip Flop Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flop Cottages(formerly Banana Club Waterside) offers a great location on Siesta Key. A lagoon setting with private fishing dock and free use of paddleboards, canoes , kayaks and a paddle boat! All units have full kitchens, non smoking. Studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cottages available. We are also pet-friendly and offer free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Flip Flop Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Club Cottages At Heron Lagoon Hotel Siesta Key
Banana Bay Hotel
Banana Bay Resort
Flip Flop Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing