We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Perfect location in Siesta Key. The resort itself is extremely quiet and located in a beautiful residential area on the south side on the island. It sits directly on a beautiful bay with jumping fish and many birds to watch. We hardly even saw the other guests, but when we did, they were a mature crowd (no party atmosphere, thank goodness). When we checked in, we were given excellent advice as to where to go, how to get around and how to get to an extremely private beach (only accessible by canoe or kayak - the resort provides both free of charge). I believe that was our favorite part of the trip. Know that is is not on Crescent Beach, but Turtle Beach which is a bit different. In our opinion, better. The best part of the place are the extremely friendly and accommodating owners.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Boopsers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 403 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

This resort is perfect for travelers who want to get away from the crowds. It has access to a peaceful bay and a wonderful private beach! The owners couldn't do enough for their guests, we felt like their friends.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Scary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family travels to Sarasota at least once a year. We normally stay in our parents' home, but with four teens we opted for Turtle Beach Resort. We felt like we were not even in Sarasota. The need to leave the resort was only for the grocery and bait. We kayaked, fished, beached, cooked out, and generally chilled, all at the resort. The opportunities to see wildlife are abundant. We saw a manatee cruising by the dock, a raccoon paddling from mangrove to mangrove, turtle nests, and a pair of Osprey feeding their chicks. We all had a great experience.

The villas size-wise are really best for couples or small families; however, there was so much to do outside, the size didn't really matter because we were only inside long enough to sleep. We loved the quaintness and "old Florida" feel to the property. Hanging out in the private hot tub wasn't too shabby either.

All in all, I would recommend this destination if your family is more interested in being outside than staying in a luxury unit. I would definitely come back, but next time, without the four teens! It is quite a romantic spot for couples.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HRHORCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I want to be fair about this place because there truly are some nice things about it, but overall, we felt it was far too much money for a place that had so many issues. If we had been paying $200 instead of $400 plus a night I think we would have felt differently. I also think if we had been in another room, our experience would have been better. So here goes:

Pros:
Management was very nice and attentive and friendly; we had pleasant and helpful conversations with everyone on the management team.

The Bay side is quite tranquil and lovely and does not feel at all touristy.

Cons:

Our room (the Southwest studio) left a great deal to be desired. It was pleasant enough, a bit rustic, but that was fine. The problem was that its placement directly in front of the pool meant that your peace and privacy were wholly contingent upon whether the pool was in use and by whom. We like kids but during our first couple of days there, the pool was played in by about 6 children (and it is a very small pool) from pretty much the crack of dawn until early afternoon. Also, because there were three families together in the other rooms nearby, they "took over" not only their own patios but all the common areas. They were not unpleasant, simply noisy and oblivious to others. The space is small and you are subject to the whims of your neighbors.

Secondly, although the glass windows are one way during the day; they are not at night which means that anyone can see into your room during the night unless you keep the drapes completely closed, and therein lay another problem. Instead of having drapery with a curtain tracking system which close easily and completely (they have these in most hotels), the drapes were four single panels that we had to close manually and actually pin together every night otherwise there were gaps and the bed is literally right next to the floor to ceiling windows. Again, this created a privacy
issue especially if there were people by the pool (which the southwest studio looks directly over). It is difficult to understand why the owners wouldn't address this problem by putting in the right kind of hotel curtains.

There was also only one night stand with one lamp which meant that if both of us wanted to read in bed we had to keep the ugly overhead light on. Again, this should have been a simple fix.

As other have said, the rustic nature of the place has a certain charm but not for money you are paying.

I did not see the other rooms, but if we were to ever return (highly unlikely) the one that seems to have the best views and the most privacy is the country cottage. I would not recommend the southwest studio.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank aliasangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gailkippy, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Every business has its worse day and considering the fact for the first time in 23 years of doing business, the family that caused the problem was asked to leave. It is unfortunate that this family caused these guests to have such an unpleasant stay and experience with us. Our guests who unfortunately suffered with that problem and requested with us to leave earlty were compensated for the problems and also refunded the remainder of their stay.
The peaceful, tranquil nature of the property was restored after this family had left and the remaining guests enjoyed their time with us for that weekend. Tthe hummingbrids came back to the flowers, the fish went back to jumping in the bay and dolphins returned while the sun came back out to shine again.
Concerning the one way glass and the curtains, this is an issue we were not aware of and we are going to take care of ir.
Since this unruly family was the first one in 23 years, hopefully we have another 23 years of bliss until the next one arrives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We were here recently as a family wedding was nearby and we made a long weekend of it.

The pros: if you are intrigued by "old Florida", this is it. Felt like going back in time. Beautiful views on the bay, we really enjoyed sitting by the pool and relaxing. We liked that we were on the quieter side of the island and there are many free taxis if you want to get into the busier areas. Owners very friendly and helpful. For boaters, this could be a stop if you are boating up/down the intercostal as they have a dock and you wouldn't need a car. The entire place very beautifully landscaped and many nooks and crannies for privacy.

The cons: know that the experience is much more akin to renting a house/condo that renting a room at a resort. No maid service, no coffee station in the morning, no room service. So, just know that is what it is. To me, that made the "resort" title a bit of a misnomer. Our room felt a little tired - mattress felt saggy, bathroom felt like it could use an update, towels a little thin. Just felt a little dated - but reconcile that with the "old Florida" experience if that is what you are looking for.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and the area, just felt the price was high for the experience and thus the rating. If I knew the area better and could compare rates with the experience of others on the water I might have a different rating.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank CandJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this place. I've become a regular here, and I wouldn't stay any where else in Siesta Key---truly the area's best kept secret. This place is perfect for those looking for a quiet getaway (perfect place for couples), and for those who want their own space and freedom to enjoy the amenities and what the area has to offer. The property is very private and beautifully landscaped with an incredible waterfront view, quaint pool and BBQ area along with docks complete with unlimited canoe/kayak access. Each cottage on the property is unique in style and has its own fenced-in courtyard area, with private hot tub.
If you are looking for a secluded little beach nook with a relaxed, kick-back, home-away-from-home feel, you've found the perfect place!

Oh, and the owners are the sweetest, kindest, most gracious hosts! They help make this place truly special!

Room Tip: Tell the managers how many people you're travelling with and what your priorities are for your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank underseaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I had made reservations for my husbands Birthday and had to cancel unexpectedly. Gail, the owner of Turtle Beach Resort was kind enough to refund my total deposit minus a $50.00 processing fee. This is not their usual policy and her kindness went beyond my expectations as an owner of a resort. Gail treated me like I was her family so sweet, understanding, and kind.
This sincere treatment I received from someone I have never met was greatly appreciated.
Thank you Gail

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,701 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Sarasota, Siesta Key Beach
4.6 mi away
The Sea Spray Resort
The Sea Spray Resort
#1 of 12 in Siesta Key
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
729 reviews
2.4 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
28 reviews
2.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 9049 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2917
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range: $256 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort located on Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is the perfect family vacation getaway with spacious cottages that offer full kitchens, living, and dining areas. Enjoy the beautiful private outdoor space included with each cottage that includes a large hot tub facing the water. Our pet-friendly resort is a two-minute walk to the beach and offers complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, bicycles fishing gear, beach chairs, and umbrellas. If you're looking for a weekend away from the kids, visit our romantic sister property The Inn at Turtle Beach for peaceful accommodations. Plan your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing