We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on Siesta Key” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Siesta Key”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stayed at the Sea Spray Resort the last week of August and had a great time. The room was large, clean, comfortable and had all the amenities you can need. At check-in Ann took me on a tour of the complex, suggested dining options, and spent quite a bit of time recommending must see home locations in Sarasota. Her advice was so helpful and made my trip even better. The resort is right across the street from the beach and the beach buggy was perfect. The sand was cool, despite temps over 100 degrees and the gulf was glorious (only a small amount of seaweed, was crystal clear, no jellies or sting rays). You can easily walk to town for dining, shopping, or picking things up at the market. Stay here if you want a great resort in Siesta Key.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LuvPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. Ann is knowledgeable about the area. I am glad she gave you good advice on homes in the area. You point out something that is interesting about the Siesta Key beach. The sand is 99% quartz. That makes it so white it reflects the sun light. This reflects the heat also. And yes we have that nice clear blue water if the weather is clear. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    72
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
205
212
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The staff bent over backwards to make you feel like you're home. Beach chairs, towels, pool toys, BBQs, etc. Our original unit the AC did not work and they had a repair guy there on a Sunday trying to fix it since it was the room I really wanted. They let us see the other rooms and pick the one we liked. Rooms are cute and clean, most of them with full kitchens. Short walk across street to beach. Less than a mile from the tourist area with shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtrvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the AC unit. We are awaiting the arrival of a new PTAC unit (heat and ac). Thing happen and we respond to the best of our abilities. Even on Sunday mornings. Your understanding made an unfortunate situation a positive outcome. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I recently made our way to The Sea Spray for a fourth-time and it keeps getting better and better every time we visit! We decided to stay a week (8/09-8/16) and we were happy we stayed longer than our usual 4-5 day visits. We stayed in the Seagull (#201) and really enjoyed the space and the two separate balconies. The main front-balcony, which has a living room and bedroom sliding door, looks out to the canal and parking area. The other balcony is more secluded and has lush tropical foliage that makes it very relaxing to enjoy breakfast or a few drinks. The grounds are always well kept and very conveniently laid out. There is also a perfect amount of high-quality beach chairs, umbrellas, and easy pull beach carts to help make things easier.

The location of The Sea Spray is one of the best parts. Easy access to the beach and a quick walk into town. This time around we explored beyond Siesta Key and drove up through Longboat Key to Anna Maria Island which wasn't too far away.

Of course Bob and Ann are very welcoming. They offer great suggestions for places to visit in and outside of Siesta Key. Ann suggested an excellent local grocery store called Morton's Gourmet Market that had amazing food you won't find in many markets. Also checkout MOTE Marine Laboratory & Aquarium!

Of course this won't be our last stay at The Sea Spray as we will continue to be regulars for years to come!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank StefanTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Wow. What a great review! You mentioned many of the things that we feel sets us apart. The photo of you being the first to use our new washers and dryers should be on facebook by now. Mote Marine is an excellent recommendation. We are certainly happy to hear you will be returning again and again.

Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Sea Spray Resort and can't wait to go back next year for 4 or 5 nights! My mom, dad and sister also stayed at the resort and were equally impressed and happy with their accommodations and experience as well. We stayed in #7 (they stayed in #3) which is located right next to the pool. Check in was easy and included a tour of the facility which was very helpful. When we first went into the room, we were very impressed with how clean and complete it was. It almost felt as if we were the first ones to ever stay there. The unit was spacious and well decorated. It included just about everything you might need for a comfortable stay including a toaster, blender, beach towels and even an ice maker in the freezer! It is very evident that the people who run the place really take a lot of pride in it and do everything they can to make your vacation experience as pleasurable as possible! They really have thought about everything and even more impressive, they don't skimp with cheap stuff. The common areas were clean and well kept. The pool was very clean and refreshing. The location was great! It was a short walk to the beach. The beach access was great because it was less crowded and cleaner than the main public beach a .5 mile away. The carts the resort provides included all you needed for the beach and really were great to have. The resort is a short walk to the village. If you choose and I recommend it, take advantage of the numerous free shuttles available, but don't forget to tip them! All in all it was a wonderful stay! Before we left we decided we are going to invite more family and friends next year and stay longer as this really is a hidden gem and great vacation experience!!!

Room Tip: We had a room right next to pool. It was convenient and surprisingly quiet. It looks like great ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. You really made a great impression on us for noticing that we really do try to provide "a pleasurable vacation experience" for all of our guests. We provide over sized beach towels along with chairs, umbrellas and a cart to take them to the beach. We do not buy the cheap stuff. We went through a lot of umbrellas until we found the ones we use now. Same with the beach chairs too. They are not the top of the line, but sturdy and useful. We have replacements on hand as needed. We bought new stainless steel gas grills this year too. Yes we provide the propane. We were very happy to make your reservations for next year. A returning guest is very rewarding to us. It show that what we are doing is working!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanberry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Myself and my son and daughter ages 13 and 15, stayed four days at Sea Spray! Bob was such a nice, sincere man! He gave us a full tour of all ammenities upon arriving. They had carts with wheels that held umbrellas and chairs to take to beach, beach towels were provided. There were bbq grills, a wonderful outdoor pool on the grounds, places to wash off sand from beach before entering your room, washers and dryers, and your own little porch area outside front door with a table to sit and relax ! It waw the ideal location with a trail literally right across the street to the beach and siesta key village was three blocks away with a grocery store, pharmacy, restraunts, ice cream shops, a rental place for renting bikes, segways, and a handful of other fun items to rent, also lots of souveneir shops. I wanted a easy convenint vacation for a single mom with two children and this hit this spot! I didnt rent a car for our stay because get nervous in busy places, however johnnys free ride was all we needed, they only work for tips and will take you anywhere in the keys!! I will definatly stay here again !!! Oh, I also left a ring in my room when I came homeand I called bob, he found my ring and mailed it to me, I was so grateful ! Thank you Bob:)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. Your kind words have me embarrassed. I like to give a tour of the grounds so everyone knows everything they have access to at not charge. I admit showing the hose locations to wash the sand off helps the guest as well as us. It helps us maintain the cleanliness of the units as well as keeping sand out of the pool and its plumbing and filters. As you pointed out the "village" has lots of things to do. It is big enough to have variety but not so big as to make it uncomfortable. Thanks again for your comments. We hope you can come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed for four nights and had a wonderful time. Right from the start Bob provided us with a tour of the grounds and showed us all the amenities. Our room was clean and comfortable (great A/C). The beach essentials (carts, umbrellas and chairs) were a great help for spending the day at the beach. We took advantage of the pool which was kept at a comfortable temperature and was not crowded. The location is convenient to restaurants and shops. It is also close to downtown Sarasota for shopping. The next time that we visit Siesta Key, we’ll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. It is always rewarding to get such an excellent review from a Senior Contributor at TripAdvisor. After having contributing many reviews, it is nice to know we measure up. We of course want all of our guest to have the positive experience you have had. Thanks again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent the weekend here and it lived up to all of our expectations. Right from the start Bob made us feel welcome and provided us with a tour of the grounds and showed us all the amenities. We stayed in room 203 "The Egret" which was exceptionally clean, nicely furnished and had an extremely comfortable king size bed. The unit was adequately stocked with all the essentials except instead of a stove there was a hot plate which we only used for our morning coffee as we didn't plan on doing any cooking during our stay. The carts with umbrellas and chairs worked out great for us as we had brought a large cooler with wheels so it made it easy for the two of us to bring everything we needed for our day at the beach. The weather was boiling hot and our A/C worked like a charm made the room almost frigid! The pool and the grills looked nice but we didn't utilize them. Location was Close enough to town to walk or use the free shuttle service that works on tips. My only minor complaint would be that the wifi was a little spotty at times other than that a great stay and would definitely return on trip back to Siesta Key.

Room Tip: Room 203 The Egret very comfortable King size bed and a great A/C unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emjets32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. Every time a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor gives us an excellent review we get a feeling of accomplishment. As a Senior Contributor that means you have experienced many other hotels. To know you feel we are up there with the best is very rewarding. We want everyone to have the same feeling as you did. Sorry about the internet. I had to unplug and replug in one of the range extenders. That happens once in a while. So happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
2.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key

Property: Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
Address: 574 Canal Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Sea Spray Resort" ...Just steps to the beach on beautiful Siesta Key... Your source for clean, comfortable and affordable vacation rentals. If you want to enjoy a tropical vacation where you are steps to the beach, walk 3 blocks to the Village for drinks, shopping or dinner, or simply lounge by the pool and bbq, then "Sea Spray Resort" is the place to be! From our tropically landscaped grounds to our granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and turnkey tropical furnishings, you will find your full condo sized accommodations new, clean and relaxing...And we are "Pet Friendly"! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing