We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sea Spray Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have stayed on Siesta Key before and decided to give this place try because of their attractive website. We booked almost a year in advance and were able to secure the Honeymoon Suite. The best thing about that is it's own Private walled Pool and Patio. The Suite supplies very basic appliances and dishes should you wish to make your own meals. It is not lavishly decorated and the furnishings are less than one would expect for the "Honeymoon Suite". The Resort also supplies a cart and beach chairs and umbrella should you wish to venture across Midnight Pass to the Siesta Public Beach. They don't provide any daily cleaning service or linen change (you're expected to take out the trash) but they will accommodate if you ask. The staff is very happy to provide. We thought it a bit expensive for what it was, but the quiet privacy was worth the extra $$$. Its not a resort in the true sense as there is no food service and the closest restaurant is a 10 minute walk but, Give it a try.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have Private Patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GIZZMOCt_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. The reviews of a "Top Contributor" and world traveler like yourself show how we compare in the world market. We do get guests from Europe, South America and of course North America. It is nice to know we compete on that level. I hope people reading your review will take your advice and "Give it a try".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 592 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but I had such a pleasant experience at the Sea Spray Resort, that I feel compelled to do so today.
Our family family of 4 (daughters aged 6 and 8) stayed for four nights from April 20-23 in Condo #2, Birds of Paradise. Our unit was clean, comfortable and spacious and included a full sized fridge, stove and dishwasher. The king sized bed was firm and comfortable. The back door of the unit opened directly to the pool area, which our water-loving daughters were thrilled with. This resort lived up to all of our expectations and was very accurately advertised on the website. It was exactly what we were looking for!
We were warmly greeted upon arrival and given a quick but thorough tour of the grounds, which were beautifully maintained.
We were pleasantly surprised by some extra comforts provided by this resort, such as the barbeques, hammock, pool toys, travel carts for the beach, beach umbrellas and beach chairs that were available at no extra cost. Since this is a smaller resort, we really appreciated that it was always quite private and quiet.
The beach was conveniently accessible and very tranquil as compared to the public area further down. It is most definitely a beautiful beach.
The only improvements that I suggest would be to have more cutlery in the unit (since we did prepare a lot of our own food and were using the dishwasher daily) and to have an outdoor hot tub on the premises.
We would definitely recommend this resort to family and friends and hope that we ourselves get the opportunity to stay here again.

Room Tip: Each condo is a little different in terms of size and layout. They are all featured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. It means a lot to us that we inspired you enough to write a review. It is also important to us that our website accurately depicts our property. We will definitely look into the silverware issue. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We usually stay at the other end of Siesta. Decided to try staying in closer to "the Village". We picked Sea Spray based on location. It turned out to be a great decision. We found the condo's to be clean and provided everything one would need for some time at the beach. The rooms are well equipped. Our's had a full sized refrigerator. Mini dishwasher and hot plate. The grounds were kept impeccably neat and clean and the pool was small but very adequate for us. Its a short walk to the beach which we enjoyed because it was less crowded then some others we had experienced. The property offered beach chairs and umbrellas which was great! We would stay again at the Sea Spray!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our location is an asset to our property. Walking to the "Village" is definitely a plus. I like to say we are close enough to walk to the village but far enough away that we do not hear the music at night. The beach access across the street has no public parking so that section of the beach is always less crowded. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed in Condo #3 by the pool. It had a fence that separated us from the pool which gave it a bit of a private feeling. Bob greeted us and was very nice showing us the facility and its features (fire pit, grill, pool, beach toys/ carts, free laundry and wifi etc). The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. We knew there was no maid service so we were fine with that. There is a short walk to the beach and the beach carts that were provided with chairs and umbrellas were very easy to roll. It is much more private at our end of Siesta Key Beach as apposed to the public beach. The sand is just as beautiful as described in all literature. If one chose to go to the very busy public beach it is a couple minute drive. At the public beach they rent lounges and umbrellas and have concessions with food and drinks but it is verrrry crowded/busy there. We also enjoyed the village center. Initially we thought we wouldn't like it because it is very busy/crazy but we soon learned that you can elect to do the more touristy things or find finer dining, We liked Flavio's a wonderful Italian Restaurant. We also enjoyed the Turtle Beach Pub Restaurant for lunch out of town on the water near Turtle Beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your favorable review of the Sea Spray Resort and Siesta Key. The beach here is 99% quartz. That gives it the white, fine sand. We appreciate you mentioning how clean our condos are. That is something we strive for daily. You bring up an interesting point. There are restaurants located through out the key not just in the village. Exploring what Siesta Key has to offer is part of the fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Outstanding stay. We stayed in both starfish and sanddollar, and both were were nice apartments. One thing I must note is that the pull out sofas are not suited for juniors or adults (10+), and should really only be occupied by a couple, not by 2 adults and 2 teenagers.
That being said, we had an excellent stay, close to the excellent beach, the nice "key west" like siesta key, with music and restaurants.
We will definitely stay here again.
Nice, clean and friendly atmosphere, highly recommended.

Room Tip: families should choose the 2 bedroom apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. We know a sofa bed is not optimal for sleeping. We do want to have as many guests stay with us as possible therefore the sofa beds. Thanks for mentioning the atmosphere here. Nice, clean and friendly atmosphere is exactly what we are going for. You guys were great guests and are a great example of what a family unit should be. We will be happy to have you back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Sea Spray was everything and more than what it was described! The rooms were clean, staff and other tenants were all so welcoming and nice, and the location of the Sea Spray was SO close to the beach and perfect walking distance to town. It was my first time in Siesta Key and I feel fortunate that I stayed a such a wonderful place at such a reasonable price! I give my highest recommendation to the Sea Spray and when I return back to Siesta Key I plan to stay here again! You will not be disappointed in staying here :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmh589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. We are the fortunate ones to have great guests like yourself. Speaking for the staff, it is easy to be welcoming and nice when we have such great guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I went to Siesta Key and stayed at the Sea Spray Resort for our "Baby Moon". The location was perfect- super short walk to the beach and .6 mile walk to Siesta Key Village (we tracked it with our car the first time) Its a really easy and relaxing walk. We stayed in the "Seagull" room, Room 201. It was perfect for the two of us, anymore than 2 would definitely be cramped though. Queen bed was not the most comfortable since we are used to a King, but we managed just fine. Upgraded kitchen and bathroom with granite was a nice touch. The pool is nice too, we had it all to ourselves the one day we used it, so it was kind of like a private pool. We loved that the resort offered chairs to bring to the beach- definitely came in handy. (Also, if you go to the beach and plan on staying there all day, I'd suggest packing your own lunch/snacks-- the snack shack near the public beach is beyond horrible- It's practically not even edible- The grocery store, Siesta Market is walking distance from the resort- I'd get food from there before heading to the beach!) Overall, great stay and the people who work there are very nice and accommodating. We would go back- probably stay in a bigger room since we will have a baby next time! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayManagement, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for the great review. All reviews are important to us. Great reviews from a "Senior Reviewer" of TripAdvisor are very rewarding. Congratulations and we hope to see all three of you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
2.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,613 reviews
2 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
24 reviews
2.2 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Spray Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Spray Resort

Address: 574 Canal Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range: $215 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sea Spray Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Sea Spray Resort" ...Just steps to the beach on beautiful Siesta Key... Your source for clean, comfortable and affordable vacation rentals. If you want to enjoy a tropical vacation where you are steps to the beach, walk 3 blocks to the Village for drinks, shopping or dinner, or simply lounge by the pool and bbq, then "Sea Spray Resort" is the place to be! From our tropically landscaped grounds to our granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and turnkey tropical furnishings, you will find your full condo sized accommodations new, clean and relaxing...And we are "Pet Friendly"! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
The Sea Spray Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing