We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what getting awat is!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sea Spray Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Apopka, Florida
1 review
“This is what getting awat is!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The resort is all you need. Close to beach, the viilage and store's. Bob and Ann very friendly and helpful. Free parking and Wi Fi. The condo is clean, everything you need even beach towel's.Tv's very room. We stayed in the manatee, 2 bedrooms 1 bath. Thanks to Bob we got to check in a littler early, that was helpful. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.we will be back but next time spend more days here. Love Siesta Keys.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Your comfort is our priority and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    75
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
225
236
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Even with the terrible June weather we loved this resort. We stayed in one of the one bedroom one bathroom apartments and they really have everything you need and it was spotless. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the village and the beach is just across the road. Bob was really helpful answering questions and parking is included. We did not make use of the kitchen facilities but you could easily prepare a decent meal for four as all the equipment you need is provided. I would love to return here (but out of the rainy season!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are having a very active rainy season! Typically the summers here have a quick shower in the afternoon hours then the sun comes right out so sorry that Mother Nature wasn't playing nice. We hope that doesn't deter you from coming back! Siesta Key is such a lovely place to getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

After reading that the Sea Spray was the second best hotel on the island, my husband and I decided to give this hotel a try for one night. I've lost all faith in TripAdvisor after our stay as this place is just a few steps away from being a dump.
We stayed in room 201, the Seagull. While I knew it was on the second floor, what I did not know is that there are no elevators in the building. My husband luggged up our bags to the room. We could not help but laugh when we walked into the room. There was an antique hotplate and microwave on a small table. The shower had mold on the ledge...I took pictures, but do not know if I can post them since I am writing this on my iPad. But that was not the worse of it...both my husband and I did not sleep for more than a few hours. The hard bed had the cheapest and thinnest of linens, but what kept us awake was the air conditioning. It "roared" on every few minutes waking us up everytime it switched on. It was awful.
What is more awful is that Tripadvisor has this dump placed ahead of the Hyatt Resideces at Siesta Key in their rankings. The Hyatt is a world class five star facility with at least $150,000 in furnishings in each unit. I guarantee that there are not $150,000 in furnishings in the entire Sea Spray. We stayed at the Hyatt in a two bedroom, three full bath, full kitchen unit for only $150 a night more. That is the difference between a fabulous, on the beach facility and an old, rickety, cheap unit. Split the cost with another couple, and it's cheaper to stay at the Hyatt.
Avoid the Sea Spray. Do not listen to the glowing reviews. They are so far removed from reality that I question the reliability of TripAdvisor and their contributors.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank laplume9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I have to say we were quite shocked by this review. We are sorry to hear that the Sea Spray was not up to your standards. Had you brought any of your concerns up to our staff, we would have been happy to try and rectify any issues. Thank you for bringing the slight mildew issue to our attention. Our handyman quickly corrected the issue. As for the sheets, we only use 500 thread count and 100% cotton so we are surprised that you found them thin. We do provide the double burner and microwave for guest convenience but they are far from antique. The second floor units are only accessible via stairs so we are changing our website to inform guests that so we appreciate that feedback. At the Sea Spray Resort, we take our guest comments seriously and will always try to improve the property based on their input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very clean, well managed property. Crystal clear pool. Big comfortable king size bed, slept like a rock. 10 minute walk to Siesta city district for shopping & dining. Beach across the street about 5 minute walk. Had a great stay, sorry it was only for a weekend. Only negative, but no fault of the Sea Spray - we had a herd above us on the second floor...could hear them stampede across the floor all night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captkess59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Again, congratulations on your anniversary! Sorry about the noise above you. Unfortunately, not all guests are considerate of others. We hope that you include the Sea Spray in your next vacation to Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Let's not pretend Siesta Key is the lap of luxury, every accommodation in the area is pretty modest but this place was clean and they guys who run it were nice. There are signs on the toilets telling you the other guests will be unhappy with you if mess with the delicate plumbing system. The floors are bare tile but they do have kitchens and outdoor washers and dryers available for use.

The hotel is in a neighborhood and the next door neighbor is home to a chainsaw artist. The noise from the chainsaw only bothered us one afternoon of our stay but was seriously annoying.

The beach is truly beautiful and a short walk away, the small central area of town with its rather mediocre restaurants is also an easy walk.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ichecked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are pleased that you selected the Sea Spray resort for your vacation and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in unit #203 (Egret). It is a one bedroom/one bath unit on the second floor. I could not get over how clean the unit was. EXTREMELY clean. The complex is quiet so we got some good sleep. There was a TV in the living room and bedroom. Free Wi-Fi. Free parking. Be advised there is a one time cleaning fee, which Expedia did not let me know about. You can call the resort to check on the fee for your unit before checking in. There is also a 13% resort tax. The toilet and sinks worked great. No problem with shower draining. The kitchen is equipped with enough to prepare and have meals there. There was a small dining room table with 4 chairs.

The grounds are kept up well. There are washers and dryers on site for use. Also, gas grills, picnic tables and a hammock are on site. Nice pool with picnic tables and lounge chairs around it. Pool hours are dawn to 8 p.m. There are beach carts, beach chairs and beach towels to use. There is a beach access directly across the street. The public beach with life guards, restrooms and picnic areas is just a short walk up the street. There is parking for 800 vehicles. Articles we read state that at times it can be hard to find a parking space at the public beach so you may be better off just walking to it.

There are shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Have read reviews stating it is a 3 block walk. I personally think it's longer than 3 blocks but you can still walk there. If someone you are with has trouble walking I wouldn't recommend you walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countdowntovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are currently working with Expedia about posting the cleaning fee so that you for pointing that out. We definitely don't want our guests to have any surprises! We are happy to hear all was to your liking and hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything from the beautiful grounds, awesome location, accommodating staff, well equipped units, BOB, and quaint feeling...this place is the best! It is easy walking distance to The Village (even little kids), literally across the street from the beach with awesome free beach carts and chairs plus beach and pool toybox for the kids! Grills at pool have all accessories and are clean/nice, free washers/dryers on-site. Unit #2 was great with 2 bedrooms, hideaway sofa and 2 bathrooms for 4 adults and 2 kids! Wish we were back there already!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Manager at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Fantastic! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. 3 days is never long enough but those nice little breaks in life sure do help out. Thank you for thinking of us when you plan your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,426 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
479 reviews
2.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Spray Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Spray Resort

Property: The Sea Spray Resort
Address: 574 Canal Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sea Spray Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Sea Spray Resort" ...Just steps to the beach on beautiful Siesta Key... Your source for clean, comfortable and affordable vacation rentals. If you want to enjoy a tropical vacation where you are steps to the beach, walk 3 blocks to the Village for drinks, shopping or dinner, or simply lounge by the pool and bbq, then "Sea Spray Resort" is the place to be! From our tropically landscaped grounds to our granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and turnkey tropical furnishings, you will find your full condo sized accommodations new, clean and relaxing...And we are "Pet Friendly"! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
The Sea Spray Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing