We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best place to stay in Siesta Key”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sea Spray Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Riverview, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the best place to stay in Siesta Key”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our second time staying here. We were a little concerned about the recent reviews about cleanliness since we did not have that problem last visit in September 2011. Those concerns are definitely put to rest as our room (Manatee #5) was spotless about arrival!!! Josh is a great addition to the staff and will help in any way he can. You truly lose all worries when you arrive there and just wish it would never end. Great location with beach access right around the corner. About a 15 minute walk into Siesta Key Village. Pretty much parked my car and did not move it until we left. Definitely looking forward to our next stay at this little gem.

Room Tip: Our room (Manatee #5) was pet friendly. Nice little pool area if you want a break from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZapala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Of course, we have to agree with you that Sea Spray is still the best place to stay on Siesta Key! :-) That is our goal! We are pleased that you had a lovely relaxing time and found everything up to your standards. Josh is one of our many treasures at Sea Spray. Thank you for your appreciation of his efforts. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    75
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
230
239
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our family of four with 11 and 13 year old boys stayed at the Sea Spray over the week of July 4th in the Egret condo unit 203. The location is absolutely perfect. It is a very short walk right across the street onto Siesta Key Beach access #10. This is just north of the public beach area and is apparently just far enough to be incovenient to those parking at the public beach area to walk-which means this spot even during the week of the 4th (peak season) was never crowded. An extra added bonus was also the Siesta Key 4th of July fireworks launched right off the beach were an awesome view from this spot! The village is a short walk or drive but be warned, parking at the village is very, very limited so we would suggest walking.
The grounds at the Sea Spray are well maintained and lit up nicely in the evenings. The pool is small but fine for a resort of this size (think the pool from Melrose place), and the resort also has a lot of pool and beach toys, chairs, frisbees, etc. that are free for your use during your stay. We aren't usually people who grill on vacation but we did use the grills several times as they are really convenient to grill up hotdogs, burgers, or whatever for lunch right by your room. A short drive off the island and you will find Publix grocery store. There is a grocery at the village but you will pay a premium here. There was one washer and two dryers in the building where our unit was but usually these are not available until the night time as the housekeeper seemed to always have loads running throughout the day. Not a big deal since we just did towels and suits anyways. Right across the street behind the resort is a canal that runs around the interior of the island where you can fish. Although we never caught anything we did see some flounder, pinfish, and some Mullet jumping. If you want to fish onshore try Turtle Beach.
Our actual unit, 203 Egret was good, but not outstanding. Overall the cleanliness was average but housekeeping is not very detailed. We aren't picky at all and it was fine but if you are a neat freak just know it may not be perfect. I am talking about dusty ceiling fans, old coffee cup from Bruegers in the cabinet with moldy coffee in it, last guests left shirt under the bed. Details. Not a deal breaker, but still need to be more detailed for a vacation resort! Floors, bathrooms, and overall everything was clean. No bed bug or any types of bugs! One suggestion would be to have the tv in the bedroom get the same channels as the living room tv but honestly if you're on a beach vacation to watch tv you have other issues anyways. This unit is on the 2nd floor and during peak seasons we had people above and below us the entire time. The unit above tends to be a little noisy with footsteps but it was fine except late at night as you can hear every step. Air conditioners are the old school units and are a little noisy but we liked the "white noise" and they ran excellent the entire time. We would suggest that management takes a few minutes to follow up with the housekeepers after they complete a unit before checking in the next guests and these small details would probably be resolved.
Josh was excellent and very friendly and accomodating. He gave us a tour of the facilities, had excellent recommendations on dining, fishing, the beach, things to do, and even helped us out with a special request. He is fantastic and a true asset to the Sea Spray!
Overall we truly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return in the future, probably next year with more of the family too! If you are looking for an easy going beautiful place to slow down and enjoy an amazing beach this is it! One last tip too we would suggest checking out area things to do off the island in the Sarasota area. We had some amazing experiences at Lido Key, kayaking the bays, Myakka State Park and just exploring and finding unique restaurants and locations. Have fun!

Room Tip: Units with floors above can be a little noisy as you can hear every footstep of the upstairs units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your very thorough review of your recent stay at Sea Spray. We take our reviews to heart. Josh is, indeed, a tremendous asset to Sea Spray and we are happy to know that he helped make your stay even better. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful aspects of our location...the beach, fireworks, village as well as the off-Siesta things to do. I bet your boys had a great time, too. Regarding the few items you found not quite perfect in your room, please know that we will be addressing them with the seriousness they deserve. Thank you for your candor. I'm glad to hear you will likely return to Sea Spray. We will be working hard to make sure your next stay is perfect and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family and I spent a few days in the heliconia unit, a 2 bedroom/2 bath right off the pool. All of us, including my mom who is a clean fanatic, agree that our unit was very clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The property is located about 3 blocks from the village and it was about a 5 minute walk from our door to the ocean. The only complaint we might be able to make is that the air conditioning located in one of the bedrooms is noisy and kept Mom awake at night. She is a light sleeper, though, so perhaps it wouldn't be an issue for everyone. All in all, we're happy, we had a great time, and if we're ever back in Siesta Key we'll stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirstie811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Please, do come and see us again. We look forward to seeing you and your family whenever you are ready for another great time on Siesta Key. We will certainly check the a/c in the heliconia unit to see if we can make it quieter. Thank you for your recognition of our friendly and helpful staff. They are a big reason that Sea Spray is a great place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was an excellent location, only a couple of minutes from Siesta Key Village and the fabulous beach. The unit was extremely clean, and very comfortable. The kitchen had all of the necessary equipment to cook. We spent a great week, with our family and enjoyed our stay very much, without any complaints. Josh is also a very friendly person and very welcoming. We are very glad to have chosen the Sea Spray Resort!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are also glad that you chose Sea Spray. Thank you for the kind review. We all strive to make every guests’ stay a great one. It sounds like we hit the mark with you and your family! So happy to hear you had a good week on the Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were checking out the Sarasota area in celebration of our 49th wedding anniversary. While we are no longer "beach people", we enjoyed the easy access to the beach for our daily walks. This is an excellent location, Josh was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was cleanliness and Josh handled this to my satisfaction. He said they are getting a new cleaning company so hopefully that will eliminate the many cleanliness complaints listed in these reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZ2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Congratulations on your 49th wedding anniversary! We are so pleased that you chose Sea Spray to celebrate! I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with room cleanliness, but I am happy to know that Josh was able to sort that out. Thank you for bringing it to Josh's attention. We are still working out the necessary changes to ensure that our standard for cleanliness is being achieved by our cleaning crew. We hope you will consider us again next year for your 50th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here on two occasions. The good points of the Sea Spray are that it is just a short walk across the street to beautiful Siesta Key Beach as well as being convenient to other area attractions, it is reasonably priced, and most units have fully equipped kitchens so you can save money by eating in. It's kid-friendly and pet friendly. The brothers who own/operate it are pleasant and helpful. It's on a quiet side street in a nice neighborhood.

Now for the not-so-good points: the website states that you can "fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing" but this is not true. It's simply not close enough to the beach for that, so don't book based on that. If you want wave sounds, book something right on the beach.
When we were there only one of the gas grills was working. The grills were dirty and encrusted with "gunk" from whatever had been cooked on them previously, so even if they were working, we wouldn't have used them as they were disgusting
Although the units are reasonably clean, we were bitten by bed bugs (not fleas, not mosquitos--bed bugs) during our second stay. We were hoping they were mosquito bites but when we got home a friend who is in the pest control business took one look at the bites and confirmed that they were indeed bed bugs. This is a widespread problem and can happen even if you're at the Ritz. It's just something to be aware of nowadays when traveling. Luckily we always enclose our suitcases in Ziploc Big Bags, so none of them came home with us.
We also noticed that the level of cleanliness seemed to have dropped a bit between our first and second stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CS&AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for giving it to us straight. There obviously were some problems during your recent stay. I hope that you made the staff aware of the problems you encountered. I am certain that they would have done what they could to make things right. We will certainly make sure to check all the gas grills for function as well as cleanliness. I'm sorry that was a problem. I was not aware that our website indicates you can hear the waves from Sea Spray. I will make sure this gets corrected. Thank you for the heads up. We will have our pest control expert look into the possibility that there are bed bugs and promptly get rid of them. Thank you again for your candid review. We can only get better by knowing the problem and addressing it, which we will do on all counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Sea Spray last week and very much enjoyed the accomodations. The unit was clean and Josh is very helpful. I would very much recommend staying there in the future. The place is a very short walk to the beach and is about 4-5 blocks from the Village, which we thought was a bit overrated. The place is very conveniently located. We stayed in the Bird of Paradise unit which was perfect for 2 adults and a child. The swimming pool is right out the back door.

Room Tip: It has a full kitchen so if you want to head to the grocery store and pick up some supplies, it work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEASPRAYRESORT, Guest Relations at The Sea Spray Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation for Sea Spray. We are happy that you found it to your liking. It is a great location and we have to admit that we also think our staff is always very helpful. Perhaps you will find yourselves back on Siesta Key again. If so, please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,476 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
482 reviews
2.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Spray Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Spray Resort

Property: The Sea Spray Resort
Address: 574 Canal Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sea Spray Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Sea Spray Resort" ...Just steps to the beach on beautiful Siesta Key... Your source for clean, comfortable and affordable vacation rentals. If you want to enjoy a tropical vacation where you are steps to the beach, walk 3 blocks to the Village for drinks, shopping or dinner, or simply lounge by the pool and bbq, then "Sea Spray Resort" is the place to be! From our tropically landscaped grounds to our granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances and turnkey tropical furnishings, you will find your full condo sized accommodations new, clean and relaxing...And we are "Pet Friendly"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Sea Spray Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Resort On Siesta Key Hotel Siesta Key
The Sea Spray Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing