We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely waterside dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ophelia's on the Bay

Ophelia's on the Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Ophelia's on the Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $39
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stickney Point Road
Description: Ophelia's on the Bay is one of Sarasota's premier fine dining waterfront restaurants. Enjoy beautiful vistas of Little Sarasota Bay, from the floor-to-ceiling windows that line the dining room. Or join us for al fresco dining on our open-air patio, as the dolphins and manatee swim by. Winner of many awards both locally and nationally, including an Excellence rating from Zagat as well as being listed as the number one restaurant in America in Power and Motoryacht Magazine for dock and dine. Ophelia's on the Bay has also been voted most romantic, best waterfront and best restaurant with a view by its loyal customers. The menu changes nightly using fresh and seasonal ingredients, fresh fish flown in from all over the world and specialty meats. There is certainly something for every palate! We feature an extensive wine list, specialty martinis, as well as a full bar. Family owned and operated for over 27 years, we have an experienced staff that prides itself on exemplary service.
nottingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely waterside dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed a delicious dinner at Ophelia's. Found it on Trip advisor, otherwise would have missed it driving by! Best to reserve,(as we did) especially if it's for a special dinner, as it was for us. Ask for a waterside table, not just an outside table, as there's quite a lot of outside tables that aren't directly by the water.
Had the most delicious fillet mignon I think I've ever eaten (and the steaks in Texas take some beating!)
The menu has a good selection of main courses other than seafood, if you're not a great lover of seafood.
We managed a full 3 courses as they're more like UK sized portions, rather than American! However, save Ophelia's for a treat ( or go for the Sunday brunch) as prices are fairly high ($200) for the two of us.
Thanks to the management for the free glasses of champagne for our anniversary-a thoughtful touch!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onlyturnsleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    229
    111
    54
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well done the Kitchen Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a should-be 5 star restaurant. The food is really well prepared and cooked from real ingredients. Well done to the Kitchen Staff
The restaurant is expensive and on the whole the food is good enough to justify a 5 star rating
We wanted to eat from the SavourSarasota special menu at $30 pp for a set 3 course menu with options. We were persuaded to up grade to a $40 price to give more generous portions and the addition of a drink of choice
All the better reviews here are correct to acknowledge the quality of the food which is beautifully presented and carefully prepared. Someone here really knows how to cook restaurant quality meals
So why not 5 stars?
Well, our waitress was attentive and informative giving great details about family ownership, the chef's tenure and accurate promise about how good the food would be. We tipped her generously despite the shortcomings below as we thought they would have to be management policies
Our key disappointments were:
We were welcomed fully but not offered a SavourSarasota menu option, when we asked for it, we were immediately told about (and sold) the upgrade to $40 but not given printed details of the upgrade
A hard sell of cocktails and other bar drinks was made before we were able to see menus etc...
When it came to deserts we were given an a la carte menu, tempting us to extra charges, even though we had pre paid for the set third course menu
When we later looked at the upgrade menu on line we saw an option of a bottle of (house) wine for 2 instead of a single bar-drink which we were offered. This was disappointing as we are wine drinkers and would have preferred this as a better value alternative
All through we felt pestered into ordering extra-charge items which we resisted. Otherwise, all was very good but our experience was blighted by the constant underhandedness of this 'bump up the bill' policy
Would certainly recommend the food here but warn about the intent to add costs onto each bill

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenSteveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect meal -- a rare five star rating from me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Our family enjoyed our last night in Siesta Key at Ophelia's -- six adults, a 7 and a 4 year old. Knowing this was a "grown up" place, I called ahead to ensure that our grandchildren could be accommodated. The chef made a small beef filet and shrimp and pasta for the kids while we enjoyed a truly memorable feast that included delicious crab cake and lobster knuckle appetizers, a very affordable bottle of good wine and great service. Hubby's Lazy Maine Lobster -- all one and a half pounds of it including potato gnocchi -- was pronounced truly memorable by a man who is not really a seafood fan. My gulf hog snapper was delicious. Other entrees in our group included pink shrimp and linguini and scallops. The key lime pie and creme brûlée were made in the restaurant and delicious. The ambiance is a little old school,and that's part of the charm. Our family will remember this remarkable meal and the caring, friendly service. We look forward to returning and would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveltexasstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

One of the best restaurants around! Meal was delicious!!! We shared the eggplant appetizer which was amazing! I had the filet of beef which was just outstanding! My daughter had the lamb and she raved about it! We capped off the meal with choices from their delicious assortments of desserts. Creme brûlée and the gelato! Our waiter was so attentive and polite. Great atmosphere as well! It is definitely on the pricer side however.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OBX999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, but pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My family and I were on vacation in Siesta Keys and I wanted to do something fun for my birthday. We had dinner at Ophelia's and we had a great time! We had made a reservation through Open Table and got a table right by the water. What a great view of the bay! My two girls ( 9 & 11) got a kick out of the fish jumping out of the water! The menu is printed daily (according to the waiter) based on what is fresh and the chef filets all the meat and fish himself. We ordered the lump crab appetizer which was excellent! I ordered the grouper and my husband ordered the scallops. The grouper had a jalapeño mashed potato and a sweet potato. Very good. My husbands scallops were cooked to perfection. The kids meals were probably the biggest surprise. One of my daughters ordered a filet which was a nice size paired with mash potato. My other daughter ordered the kids grouper. I thought the kids meals were both delicious and were like small grown up meals. We also ordered a coconut ball dessert thing that's was sooooo good. They brought champagne to toast my birthday to end the night. Great food! Great atmosphere. Great service! Then...the bill came. Our bill including tip was $250 for the 4 of us. Way too pricey! Plus once the food came, there were flies buzzing around that were annoying. We were on the deck, so they weren't as bad. The couples by the water had tons of flies they had to swat away to try to eat their meal. Plus once the sun set, the Mosquitos came out. Luckily I remembered to spray bug spray on me and the kids. My hubby did not and got eaten.

All in all, a great night and would definitely recommend if you're looking for a romantic night out or celebrating a special occasion. Don't forget the bug spray and the credit card!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophelia's on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Ophelia's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing