We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and view”

Ophelia's on the Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Ophelia's on the Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $39
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stickney Point Road
Description: Ophelia's on the Bay is one of Sarasota's premier fine dining waterfront restaurants. Enjoy beautiful vistas of Little Sarasota Bay, from the floor-to-ceiling windows that line the dining room. Or join us for al fresco dining on our open-air patio, as the dolphins and manatee swim by. Winner of many awards both locally and nationally, including an Excellence rating from Zagat as well as being listed as the number one restaurant in America in Power and Motoryacht Magazine for dock and dine. Ophelia's on the Bay has also been voted most romantic, best waterfront and best restaurant with a view by its loyal customers. The menu changes nightly using fresh and seasonal ingredients, fresh fish flown in from all over the world and specialty meats. There is certainly something for every palate! We feature an extensive wine list, specialty martinis, as well as a full bar. Family owned and operated for over 27 years, we have an experienced staff that prides itself on exemplary service.
Norwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food and view”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Enjoyed a delicious meal with a beautiful view of the bay with my daughter tonight. Our waiter Michael was friendly and very pleasant. Will definitely be back on my return visit here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JannieNorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    241
    112
    54
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shameful food for such a good restaurant”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been to Ophelias restaurant so many times in 20 years - tonight was the worst it's ever been - they have such an amazing restaurant and outlook over the bay- it's a shame the food does not match - the pudding of piña colada crime brûlée tasted of nothing !, beef was tough as old boots - real shame - This evening it lacked atmosphere as the restaurant was practically empty too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Callie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Has it all”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not many restaurants have the three features I m looking for but ophelias definetly does! Great service was much appreciated. Beautiful lighting, peaceful view of the water and wonderful outdoor seating made for a romantic atmosphere.Food was amazing we had an excellent steak and a lobster served out of its shell_great idea for people like me who don t want to fight with their seafood.Only question is_when can you move the restaurant up to Pennsylvania?!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfar52189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great service and fine food.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have been visiting Sarasota for years and this restaurant presented the most flavor filled meal in the area. The scallops were delicious and the portions were plentiful. My wife raved about the fresh tuna and as a topper, the desert, peach cobbler, was fantastic. If you enjoy fine dining, this is the place to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best Yellow Fin Tuna”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is on Midnight Pass and relatively close to Turtle Beach. The atmoshere was great as it sits right on the water. Valet Parking made it easy. Make reservations as it gets a bit crowded as it is so well known. The Yellow Fin was flown in from the H Islands and was buttery smooth and tender. The wine list was diversified. Wait staff was very attentive and the meal, although pricey was one of the best I've had in the Sarasota area. Plan on speding some time there as the views are great and the place is relaxing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveljounalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophelia's on the Bay also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ophelia's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing