We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great food, distracted service”

Ophelia's on the Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
Ophelia's on the Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $39
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stickney Point Road
Description: Ophelia's on the Bay is one of Sarasota's premier fine dining waterfront restaurants. Enjoy beautiful vistas of Little Sarasota Bay, from the floor-to-ceiling windows that line the dining room. Or join us for al fresco dining on our open-air patio, as the dolphins and manatee swim by. Winner of many awards both locally and nationally, including an Excellence rating from Zagat as well as being listed as the number one restaurant in America in Power and Motoryacht Magazine for dock and dine. Ophelia's on the Bay has also been voted most romantic, best waterfront and best restaurant with a view by its loyal customers. The menu changes nightly using fresh and seasonal ingredients, fresh fish flown in from all over the world and specialty meats. There is certainly something for every palate! We feature an extensive wine list, specialty martinis, as well as a full bar. Family owned and operated for over 27 years, we have an experienced staff that prides itself on exemplary service.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, distracted service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

As mentioned in other reviews: the food is excellent and surprises the pallet. The setting is simply perfect, especially on the deck and during sunset. The prices are high indeed, but we felt it was worth it. What annoyed us a little was the service. We struggled to get any attention and place additional drink order etc as the waiter was obviously focused on only the neighbouring table.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SigInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    232
    112
    54
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saratoga ny
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“splurge worthy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

had dinner here midweek in off season at 7pm. glad we had reservations. filled up quickly. we ate outside by bay. i had a graet pear martini made with pear cognac. i had salad, filet mignon and key lime pie. hubby had stuffed oysters, scallops and handmade rocky road ice cream. food was prepared perfectly and beautiful plates. service was efficient. atmospher was lovely. we dressed up but saw people with flip flops and dressier shorts. not cheap, but nice for a special night

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amymiazga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the place for a splurge on Siesta Key--but you don't have to spend this much to eat well here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is the 'fancy' restaurant on Siesta Key--the highest prices, the most elegant setting, and the most lavishly created dishes. It really is lovely, especially if you can get seated on the deck overlooking the bay. Eating by candlelight, off glistening china on a white tablecloth, looking out on a balmy night at the peaceful sky, stars twinkling, water lapping--there's nothing like the ambience. The service is courteous and the food is splendid. Dishes are ornate and tasty concoctions--well prepared, delicious and creatively original. Main courses are about $30. You will get a good meal here & a pleasant dining experience, for a special occasion. But what Siesta Key is really about for me, is being casual, laid back, unpretentious, economical and fun. There are many restaurants that serve delicious food at less extravagant prices and provide an equally enjoyable, if different, experience, and include music as well.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carolfriedling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere for a good meal
Level Contributor
279 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Still Very Good...after all these years.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We approached Ophelia's with a little trepidation. We had been told it was a great place to dine, great food, great atmosphere, great setting, great service..yadda yadda....and fortunately, it was almost as good as its reputation. A long standing place for better dining in Sarasota, it gave us a wonderful evening...with a gorgeous setting. Our waiter was knowlegeable and efficient..the menu was fairly standard fare...nothing terribly cutting edge, but it was good. And better than good in some instances. My escargot was fabulous..the highlight of the evening for me. The pompano was good, not great, but good. The crab cakes were good, not great, but good. The salads were good, not great, but good. The dessert (a fruit compote) was killer. We'd go back, but not to visit it as a "destination"..rather a safe bet for a good meal with a fabulous view. Our table was on the lower dock, with fish jumping out of the bay right next to us. Enjoy. It's good, not great, but good.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Foodies' Paradise On The Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Wow!! What a dining experience! From the first cocktail at the bar to the last bite of the amazing bread pudding. We had a truly wonderful experience at Ophelia's by the bay. The Seafood bouillabaisse was amazing. The Grouper with dauphanoise potatoes melted in my mouth. Oysters with special Rockefeller sauce was to die for!! Staff provided personalized service from start to finish (especially light haired Michael). Outstanding!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ophelia's on the Bay also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ophelia's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing