We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's closed for now, but...”
Review of The Broken Egg - CLOSED

The Broken Egg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“It's closed for now, but...”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It was one of my favorite places for breakfast. When it reopens (as Another Broken Egg), I'll give it a try. If the new ownership does the name proud, I'll be able to keep on recommending it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    143
    94
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Broken Egg Is No More”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I attempted to find this restaurant for our first vacatin breakfast without success. Found out here's why.
This a line out of the Siesta Key News Round Up from the December 2013 Siesta Sand local news rag. The headline stated "Broken Egg Broken Up".
The owners sold their interest in the 3-shop chain. The Clark Road store will keep the name and recipes and not be affiliated with the chain. In Siesta Key, a large chain breakfast store called Another Broken Egg will open in February 2014.
Sorry for the review rating. It was the only way to get this current info posted.

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make it "The Greasy Spoon"”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Reading the reviews, I was thinking my husband and I would be able to have a good, old Chicago-style breakfast. Service was mediocre. My husband's breakfast was "OK" as he would put it. I had some kind of scramble which was overloaded with onions and grease.
Between the onions, grease, and service, I would have to rate it between 2 and 3 stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 913betsyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Arbor
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food was Ok”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate here during our stay in Siesta Key and I was disappointed. The food was just ok. The service was not that good and we had dirty glasses and silverware. I was a little put off by watching the cook go to the restroom and then returning to the grill. I know they have to go too. I just don't want to see it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Resseguie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OMPancake”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a lovely little restaurant right off of Ocean Blvd. We had to wait briefly for a table for brunch, but they had a coffee pot set out for us to help ourselves while we waited. We sat out on the patio which was nice and cool. The breakfast was very good, and the pancake was massive!! Yep, it filled up the entire plate! My hubby and I were able to stuff ourselves just by sharing one. Delicious. (However, I would probably recommend running down the road to get sweet potato pancakes from Sun Garden Café if you had to choose! Wow.)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PugCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Broken Egg also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing