We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puzzled as to its Popularity”
Review of The Broken Egg - CLOSED

The Broken Egg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Kalamazoo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Puzzled as to its Popularity”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We hadn't been to the Broken Egg for Breakfast for a few years and decided to try it after a long walk on the beach. Because it was a cool day, the 12 or so indoor tables were filled when we arrived at 8 a.m., so we elected to eat on the protected porch area rather than wait. Our first clue that this restaurant might not meet our standards were the dirty menus we were handed. Because they were plasticized they could easily be wiped clean. The coffee mugs are too heavy for some of us to lift. Two of us shared a vegetarian omelet that came with potatoes or fruit. When we found out the potatoes were prepared with cream and cheese we switched to fruit. The fruit was the cut up frozen variety that was past its prime. We left most of it. The omelet was greasy. We were amazed at the crowd this restaurant attracts with its overpriced and unhealthy
breakfasts. To be fair, the restaurant has a large menu with pancakes, blintzes, crepes, french toast and egg white omelets. We may have just hit a bad day. On weekends the lines are long as is the wait for a table. For right now there are other places on Siesta Key that we prefer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    143
    94
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth Trying”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you're driving through the village, I would probably recommend trying out this place. I work on the key, and decided to try a different breakfast place, other than the one I work. I had the traditional Eggs Benedict, and I practically licked my plate. The coffee was just okay, but I can be more critical than others about that. The only con I would have about this place, is the atmosphere. I feel as if I'm in an elementary school library, it turns me off a bit; suppose the food makes up for that though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor drinks, food is just ok”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

the place was very busy but the food wasn't even good ! The mimosas were very watery and the service was unfriendly and rude

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DUANE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exercise on the way to Breakfast/Brunch”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Popular old favorite for breakfast/lunch on the key. Enjoy beautiful Siesta Key beach for a brisk walk or run into the village for breakfast . Outside dining, good food. Eggs Benedict...yummy

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is one of our regular places when we're in Siesta Key and it seems like we always get the same (very good, very nice) server who is also from New York. Our kids order pancakes and love that they are served with a face made of fruit and whipped cream. I'm a fan of the fiesta skillet. Food is delicious and well-priced, service is prompt and professional. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing