We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
RIVERVIEW,FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Family Getaway”
Reviewed July 15, 2007

As Florida residents, we have vacationed on Siesta Key several times, each time at a different resort. This time we were lucky enough to stumble upon a gem known as Tropical Shores. It may not be a five star hotel, but it certainly was a neat, clean, family friendly place at a great value. My husband and I and our 2 children, ages 8 and 12 , were very comfortable in our deluxe room with 2 double beds and a sleeper sofa. Having daily maid service is a plus. The staff is the most friendly and helpful of any place we've been.
We enjoyed the use of an outdoor gas grill under the roof of a tiki hut and sitting in lounge chairs under shade trees. All very relaxing.
The beach of course is great and the short walk to it did not bother us. The resort supplies beach towels, chairs, and loads of beach toys for the kids to borrow, so no need to pack "everything but the kitchen sink". We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Family Friendly, Quaint Beach Resort
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FLGIRL4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    605
    109
    33
    23
See reviews for
738
1,263
70
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mertztown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

I booked this hotel based on the Travel Channel's excellent rating and recommendation. Hard to judge just by looking at pics on the internet. We booked the King Deluxe Efficiency with 2 adults and 2 kids ages 9 & 10. Space was very tight! Next time I will book the One Bedroom Suite. I asked to take a look at it when someone else checked out and that would have suited our needs better. (A much larger room) The hotel pool was small and is shared by a few other resorts on this street. The sister hotel next door, Tropical Sun seemed to have a different "clientele" since their room prices were lower. Their own pool was even smaller. The room was very clean and the hotel staff (front office and maids) were very friendly and helpful. We asked for extra beach towels often and there was never a problem with that. Their laundry facilities came in handy. There were no "rowdy" loud groups there when we went, just other families like ourselves. I will defintely go back but in a larger room. PS..Mote Marine Lab is a MUST as well as their Guided Nature Boat ride!!!!

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach, Showers to rinse off sand before going into room, Family oriented place
  • Disliked — King Deluxe Efficiency was too small and hotel pool was soooo SMALL.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FormerFlaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

While Tropical Shores was not flashy or fancy, it was actually a great place to stay. My family of 5 (boys ages 5, 9 and 13) stayed for 3 nights. We got an upstairs room. It required a few trips up and down the stairs to unload the car, but the privacy was nice and a pretty view of the treetops.
The landscaping was very pretty. I loved that there was a grassy area with tables and chairs downstairs. It was a peaceful area to enjoy morning coffee or an evening drink.
The resort was divided up into several buildings. Each building had a barbecue grill nearby. We easily made use of the one near us for lunch one day. The grill was large and clean and there were clean utensils right there for use.
The room was quite sufficient. We had a living room with both a pullout couch and a loveseat. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes. The bedroom was plenty big enough and the beds were pleasantly soft enough for my liking. And the bathroom was fine; a sink with large vanity, roomy wall cabinet for storage and a big tub.
There were beach towels supplied on the first day. While not directly ON the beach, the walk was not too bad. We went back and forth several times a day. The way it's set up is that there are several hotels along Sara Sea Circle. Tropical Shores actually spans across both sides of the road. We got the building on the north side (room 121). All of the hotels are lined up behind or next to one another from the beach back to Midnight Pass Rd along Sara Sea. So in order to get to the beach you need to walk down the road and pass the parking lots to the other hotels. It's easier than walking in soft sand and then once you get to the beach there is a wooden walkway and then the beach is short.
As for the beach, I must admit disappointment. I expected much more. Sure the sand was white, but there was so much seaweed it made it seem dirty. The beach was not raked so the seaweed really built up and it was totally gross. You had to walk across dried mounds in order to enter the gulf. Maybe the public beach had better maintenance? There was tons of seaweed in the gulf as well. I didn't like the feel of it swirling around my ankles and legs. Maybe that's why people float on rafts or boogie boards- so you can avoid the bottom.
It was convenient being able to rent umbrellas and lounge chairs and bill them to your room. I only opted for the umbrella since we brought our own chairs. The guy drills a hole and sets the umbrella securely so it won't blow away. Great service.
My kids loved visiting the office. They had a jar of cookies and little trinket toys such as stickers and sunglasses. I made use of the coffee with flavored creamer one morning.
Overall, it was a great place to stay. Workers were out every morning maintaining with a blower or powerwasher. The grounds were maintained very nicely with attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyflmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Stayed here one night June 7th to spend a relaxing day at the beach. Gave us the key to our room, but when we walked in, it was not cleaned yet and was a disaster! Luckily, the manager upgraded us to a better/bigger place. This one had living/full kitchen together in one room and then the 2 double beds in another room, along with a bathroom. The rooms were very clean. The bathroom was very small and cramped though. Each room has a marked parking spot. Quiet atmosphere. Not alot of "riff-raff" or little children running around.

The full kitchen was great. It's a short walk (about 1 city block) to the actual beach, but you do not cross any major roads. The beach is "private" for only the resorts on that little road. Nice and we rented chairs and umbrella, which they direct billed to our room.

The pool area was clean and nice. We would stay here again. It was not a bad rate either $109 per night. We ate out and shopped about 5 mins away in Siesta Village.

  • Liked — quiet and location to beach
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Only stayed for a couple days, but the service was paramount. Every member of the staff went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant one. The pools were great and it was only a 2 minute walk to the beach. I would recommend this resort to anyone with or without kids.

Excellent, "AAA"

Keep up the good work

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — door locks hard to open
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank larrybird56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

I had my doubts about the Tropical Sun but when i arrived i couldnt ask for more! Perfect location, BEAUTIFUL beaches, friendly staff, nice and quaint rooms. Everything was a dream. We booked the King Efficiency and as mentioned in a previous post it was great. It was kinda small but it had a full kitchen with all the forks, knives, spoons, pots, pans, cups, ect. and a very comfortable bed. My boyfriend and I travelled and found the room to be just big enough for the two of us. I dont recommend booking this room if you have a lot of children. They will run out of space quick. Yes the bathrooms are small but the shower pressure was amazing and well we didnt spend much time in the bathroom because of the beautiful beach. If you get a choice book room 146. It is the closest to the tropical Shores resort which means its close to the beach and everything else. Im so glad i found this secluded paradise. I will be posting pictures later. We will be back!

  • Liked — Beach-Sun-Value
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank asandefur1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Just returned from a great holiday In Siesta Key. Stayed 5 nights at Tropical Shores (SaraSea Circle Siesta Key)

Stayed in a room with own Sundeck and Kitchen & made use of both. The grounds have BBQ's available & it was great to cook out & dine on our own deck. Room was clean & nicely decorated (tropical theme) Bed was comfortable & housekeeping prompt & efficient. Kitchen was full equiped and it was nice to be able to make picnic lunches for the beach & prep for BBQ's

The Resort:
Pool was never crowded & water was great
The maintaince of the grounds & pool was excellent. There is real attention to detail.
The front desk were very welcoming & helpful - The are truly please to see you & will assist you in any way they can. (There is also free coffee available in reception)
Whilst not 'on' the beach, it is only a very short walk away with no roads to cross. The beach was fantastic (as always) The sand at Siesta key is amazing. We found some great shells
Many people take beachchairs & a drink down to the beach each night just before sunset - The sunset times are available in reception and it was worth the effort each night.
This is a great place to relax if you are looking for a low key holiday.

There is a 7 11 within walking distance (but you are probably best popping to Publix for supplies) as well as a few restaurants such as Capatian Curts (was OK but would not rush back)
If you have a car dont miss Phillipi Creek Restataurant (Casual but fun), The Sarasota Farmers market (every saturday) & Frozen Custard at Sweetberries -(on Clark road over the causeway) and a trip to Myakka state park

This was our 2nd visit to Tropical shores & we will be back

Helpful?
7 Thank ljn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
694 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
22 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Property: Tropical Beach Resorts
Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our world where relaxation meets paradise at our Siesta Key Hotel. It is here at Tropical Beach Resorts in Sarasota Florida, where the setting sun meets the gentle rhythm of the sea. Siesta Key is where you will experience the best of all worlds… vacation fun, natural beauty, choice of activities and so much more… Proudly rated the #1 Beach in the USA, this stretch of the most beautiful powdery- white beach is just the beginning of what this natural gem on the west coast of Florida has to offer. It is home for us … and will be paradise for YOU! Just imagine walking on a pure white beach, while savoring spectacular sunsets over the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico or just strolling through the quaint village of Siesta Key with its lively atmosphere and friendly people… you will experience it all! Siesta Key is home to exquisite fauna and flora offering a collage of breath-taking colors and exotic wildlife. Whether you are looking for single solitude, a romantic get-away for two or family fun in the sun, Tropical Beach Resorts provides the perfect fit with beautiful hotel rooms and suites! The variety of room types offers a choice to fit your style and your budget. From stylish smaller floor plans for singles or that romantic getaway for two to spacious one- or two-bedroom units, perfect for the whole family to enjoy, we can accommodate you. All units offer a colorful garden view with the nearby pool area and the beach only a short walk away. We take great pride in our attention to detail, personal service and exceptionally high standards for cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Our hotel is conveniently located directly on Siesta Key (Sarasota, FL) and within immediate walking distance to our private beach access to Crescent Beach where you can meet some of Florida’s natives: dolphins, manatees, pelicans, sandpipers, sea creatures and seagulls galore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing