We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Shaores Beach Resort - Siesta Key”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Just returned from a great holiday In Siesta Key. Stayed 5 nights at Tropical Shores (SaraSea Circle Siesta Key)

Stayed in a room with own Sundeck and Kitchen & made use of both. The grounds have BBQ's available & it was great to cook out & dine on our own deck. Room was clean & nicely decorated (tropical theme) Bed was comfortable & housekeeping prompt & efficient. Kitchen was full equiped and it was nice to be able to make picnic lunches for the beach & prep for BBQ's

The Resort:
Pool was never crowded & water was great
The maintaince of the grounds & pool was excellent. There is real attention to detail.
The front desk were very welcoming & helpful - The are truly please to see you & will assist you in any way they can. (There is also free coffee available in reception)
Whilst not 'on' the beach, it is only a very short walk away with no roads to cross. The beach was fantastic (as always) The sand at Siesta key is amazing. We found some great shells
Many people take beachchairs & a drink down to the beach each night just before sunset - The sunset times are available in reception and it was worth the effort each night.
This is a great place to relax if you are looking for a low key holiday.

There is a 7 11 within walking distance (but you are probably best popping to Publix for supplies) as well as a few restaurants such as Capatian Curts (was OK but would not rush back)
If you have a car dont miss Phillipi Creek Restataurant (Casual but fun), The Sarasota Farmers market (every saturday) & Frozen Custard at Sweetberries -(on Clark road over the causeway) and a trip to Myakka state park

This was our 2nd visit to Tropical shores & we will be back

7  Thank ljn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,451 - 2,457 of 2,665 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2007

We returned last week from a four-day stay at Tropical Sun Resort. We had a king bed efficiency room, and it was very comfortable, with a small but well-equipped kitchen, a small dressing area, and a tiny, but fairly nice bathroom. The shower was great! Plenty of hot water, and really good water pressure, which is important to us. The room was clean, with fresh towels provided daily. The pool is very nice, and the walk to the beach is lovely, with lots of tropical foliage everywhere. The beach had a lot of seaweed when we were there, but my daughter and her husband have spent many vacations at this beach, and she says they have never had the seaweed problem, so I assume it was just nature! The price was reasonable, staff was friendly, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jxbigsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

Just got back from Tropical Sun a few days ago. It was so beautiful!! The beach was so beautiful! Clear water and the sand was so white and soft!! The room was so clean!!!!! So bright and sunny. The bathroom was on the small side, but we were okay with it. The ocean water was a bit cool for me. It was so tropical there. We also go to Saint Petersburg beach too which is nice, but not as nice as Tropical Sun. I was going back and forth on this web site making sure I made the right choice and I did!!!! You will be happy with Tropical Sun!

Marie

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunflr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Just got back on 4/16/07. From the website, one is to believe the beach is close by. Not so. It is quite a haul, but at least you don't have to cross the street. The room was worn and dirty feeling, not at all like the photos. The shower was dirty. Paint was peeling badly in the bathroom and the shower. The blankets were ragged and the sheets were stained. The old window air conditioning was extremely loud. Our room (king effiency) was very tiny, not what you would expect from a resort. I thought it was highly overpriced. I had to call the office twice to have my room cleaned even though the sign was out to have it serviced. The gentlemen that checked us in was extremely curt and seemed bothered that he was having to work. My teenager daughters inquired about beach towels at the front desk and were lectured about it and told to go to the pool to get some, yet the pool bin was empty when they checked. I will say there were a few positive aspects: good high-speed internet access, a couple of staff were nice, and the grounds were pretty. Will not stay again. The comfort inn or holiday inn would be a much, much better value, and cleaner.


  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank eastnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

I have to say I just loved Tropical Shores Resort. I lived in the Sarasota area for 10 years, and knew I needed to stay on the key to avoid the public parking during spring break week. This place was wonderful, and the grounds are well kept . The rooms were very clean. The bathrooms are a bit on the small size, with limited outlets, but even with a teenage daughter we managed fine. The pool was very warm, and it was never over crowded. It was a nice refreshing swim after the beach.The walk to the beach is short, and you must see the sunsets if you stay here. I will defintely be back, as it is the most beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hockeymom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed for six nights at Tropical Sun. Everything was adequate, the bed was comfortable,the pool was fine, the beach was pretty. The room was small and cramped. the weather was so nice and hot we felt as though we needed to retreat to the air conditioned room to escape the intense sun and wished our room was just a bit nicer, or that we had a nice area to sit in the shade outside our room. As the other reviewers said, it is a great place to bring children and there were plenty of kids running all over the beach and pool. We were traveling alone; I would not recommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amazonkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

My wife,27 month old and I stayed at Tropical Shores for 2 nights in March. The location was great. A nice walk to a few ammenities including a small grocery store and a nice little ice cream store. The beach is all that it has been made out to be and more. Best beach I have ever been to! The hotel staff is just wonderful and helpful and the rooms where nice and clean. We stayed in a studio efficiency. It had everything you needed for cooking except for dish soap. Yes their is a short walk to the beach. The area is very peaceful. I would go again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank brodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Sarasota, Siesta Key Beach
2.1 mi away
The Sea Spray Resort
The Sea Spray Resort
#1 of 12 in Siesta Key
596 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range: $201 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Five Things You Want to Know! 1. Call the hotel direct for reservations! We price match all rates, we will make sure you are getting the best rate and best type for your travel needs! We are here on property seven days a week.. call us at 94-349-3330. Let us ensure your travel experience is flawless. 2. We are located on the South end of Crescent Beach and a three minute walk to Crescent Beach on Siesta Key. All rooms have a garden view (Not a beach view) but are located gulf side with no roads to cross to get to the beach. 3. How far is the Siesta Key Village? The village is 3 miles north of Siesta Key. The island offers a free trolley and there are a lot of free (tip only) travel options so you don't even need to drive on the island. 4. Can I walk to shops and restaurants? Yes! You walk to many shops and restaurants, grocery store, live music, everything you need! 5. What are you hours? We are open seven days a week from 8am-10pm. After hour check ins available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing