We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical Shores and Siesta Key are Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tropical Shores and Siesta Key are Wonderful”
Reviewed April 13, 2007

I have to say I just loved Tropical Shores Resort. I lived in the Sarasota area for 10 years, and knew I needed to stay on the key to avoid the public parking during spring break week. This place was wonderful, and the grounds are well kept . The rooms were very clean. The bathrooms are a bit on the small size, with limited outlets, but even with a teenage daughter we managed fine. The pool was very warm, and it was never over crowded. It was a nice refreshing swim after the beach.The walk to the beach is short, and you must see the sunsets if you stay here. I will defintely be back, as it is the most beautiful place to visit.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, and the beach access
  • Disliked — The showers, and size of the bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeymom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    592
    108
    33
    23
See reviews for
705
1,224
67
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wenonah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed for six nights at Tropical Sun. Everything was adequate, the bed was comfortable,the pool was fine, the beach was pretty. The room was small and cramped. the weather was so nice and hot we felt as though we needed to retreat to the air conditioned room to escape the intense sun and wished our room was just a bit nicer, or that we had a nice area to sit in the shade outside our room. As the other reviewers said, it is a great place to bring children and there were plenty of kids running all over the beach and pool. We were traveling alone; I would not recommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — beach access
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazonkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

My wife,27 month old and I stayed at Tropical Shores for 2 nights in March. The location was great. A nice walk to a few ammenities including a small grocery store and a nice little ice cream store. The beach is all that it has been made out to be and more. Best beach I have ever been to! The hotel staff is just wonderful and helpful and the rooms where nice and clean. We stayed in a studio efficiency. It had everything you needed for cooking except for dish soap. Yes their is a short walk to the beach. The area is very peaceful. I would go again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a little pricey for what you get
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank brodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Tropical Shores Resort was an excellent choice to vacation in Siesta Key!! The daily room service was a bonus and the accomodations were very clean, updated & roomy. Friendly staff. There were 4 of us, 2 adults & 2-16 yr. olds. Plenty of room & plenty of things to do. We loved that the beach was walking distance away. And what a beach!!
We were disappointed that when you stay at Tropical Sun(with kitchenettes), you can only go into one pool. The other pool (by Tropical Shores) was always much warmer. Which was important to us, as the temperature when we got there was 50 degrees.
Overall, we'd recommend this resort to anyone looking for a resonably priced resort so close to the beach. Very safe area. We found the restaurants to be quite expensive. We are looking to buy a condo in this area as it is the best place to be in FL!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Location
  • Disliked — Use of only one pool
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ppizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2007

Older property, but well maintained. Very clean and quite. Beds were comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Short walk to Siesta Key beach. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean and comfortable. Full kitchen.
  • Disliked — Size of swimming pool.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank themingster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Stayed a week at Tropical Shores with my husband and 3 daughters. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor I knew not to expect the Ritz and it wasn't but for what it is, it provides the opportunity for a nice vacation.

Though it would have been nice to be right on the ocean with a view, we enjoyed having our little lawn area with the barbeque. The beach was a quick walk and the beach was awesome.

The staff was nice. When I called to confirm the week before our trip I asked for directions and was referred to Mapquest. Our Mapquest directions were wrong, so double check directions first.

The rooms were dated, but clean. We had a 2 bedroom suite so we had a bathtub. Good to have with small children but I know that some of the regular rooms do not have bathtubs.

We went to have a relaxing low key vacation and that is what we had. The location is very close to casual kid-friendly restaurants. We have done the Four Seasons and other top notch hotels with our kids. Personally, it was good to do something like this for a change. It was casual and I do not want
my children to think that luxurious hotels are the only way to go. We had very nice family time in a down to earth spot.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank MomX3Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

Tropical Shores had a nice location, not on the beach, but steps away. It was very quiet & the room was large & comfortable.

  • Liked — The room was clean, bed was comfortable & the location was near the beach
  • Disliked — It was too far away from St. Armands Circle, where all the great restaurants & shopping are
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank miss8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
4.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Property: Tropical Beach Resorts
Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing