We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Trip to Tropical Beach Resort! When Can We Go Back?!?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I just visited the Tropical Beach Resort on Siesta Key Beach for the 3rd time. We absolutely love staying at the Tropical Beach Resort due to the attention to detail, and we are already talking about how we can get back for another trip. The rooms are always really clean, the beds are incredibly comfortable, the staff is very friendly and helpful, there are free beach chairs and towels, and the pools are really clean. I work online so I was very pleased with the high speed of the WiFi at the Tropical Beach Resort making it easy to complete work while on vacation. We highly recommend staying at the Tropical Beach Resort when you visit the #1 Beach in America!

Room Tip: They have rooms with kitchenettes that are great if you want buy groceries to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy-James-Flint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from our trip and had a great time. The location is excellent! It was only a short drive to restaurants. Beach and pools were very nice. Free beach chairs and beach toys for our daughter was awesome! We only like 2 hours away, but were able to leave ours at home and use theirs. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. My husband and I are already talking about going back.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank kimkaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We read all the comments before and thought we would find ourselves in paradise (*garden Eden"). The beach is really like paradise, white, like sugar, with crystal blue water. And it is near, like promised. It ends when you go to the left by a concrete wall after 100 meter but to the right side, you can walk for miles.

So, the rooms are exactly like what you see on the pictures but they are holes. You get the feeling of a hobbit, sitting in his grotto. Our baby liked the room and started crawling around - her feet and knees were black after 5 minutes from the dirty floor. This room has not been wiped for ages but as it is dark you probably would not recognize it without a crawler. The rest of the room was all clean.

As we are traveling with a 10-months-old baby, we spend a lot of time in the room so we double-checked the hotels that they are clean and have nice rooms. As sitting in our hole was no option we decided to use the patio. The patio is a small space between your hole and your car. If you'd like to spend a lot of time with your car, here you get the chance to do so. After your car is a nice barbecue garden in the middle, with green grass, beach chairs and palms. Small but nice.

After the first night in our hole we asked the friendly staff for another room and were lucky that we got one on the second floor with much more windows (3) and daylight. Also the floor was very clean like the whole room.

We used the two pools and both are nice, the one near the street is not that crowded and you always meet nice people there. Our baby loved the crowded one in the middle. There is a big fence around each pool so the kids cannot run away, also some palm trees around, which is nice.

The staff is very friendly and you get beach towels and beach chairs to take it to the beach. That was really good. At the beach you have to pay for the chairs and umbrella.

The area around; we tried every place which was recommended on trip advisor. "The Cottage" e.g. has awesome food, "big oläf" has great iceream, "Javier" is very good for peruvian food, we went to Venice, and to the "Sarasota Jungle Gardens" (great!).

The overall experience was just disappointing. You always sit at a street, even the so called "park" in Venice was a parking lot with water fountains. In the resort, you have big tarred paths so they make sure that you can reach everything by car.
There are no nice beach restaurants with beach atmosphere: you sit in dark, cold restaurants if you choose inside. If they have a window you feel excited. The food was always good but don't people like the sun? Or even that it is warm? Isn't that the reason you go to Florida?

We had the feeling of a simple motel but paid for a hotel (in average, we paid over 200$/night for 10 days).

In the end I would say it depends on the perspective; if you have a baby I would never ever go there again. If you have older kids and can stay on the beautiful beach the whole day, just come back to sleep or watch a DVD (there were a lot to rent), you will have a good time. We talked to a lot of very nice guests and they all seem to like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with daylight (if you like it). These rooms are rare and on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NadLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay with our 2 kids (3 yrs & 10 mos). This was our 2nd time staying at Sara Sea - Dh & I stayed here about 5 yrs ago & loved it & said we would always return w/ our kids someday. We decided on the Sara Sea property to be closest to the beach. We had a boutique room with a king size bed: the room itself was sufficient for us (they even had a high chair & pack n play for the baby which was great!) and the small kitchen w/ coffee maker, toaster & microwave was enough for us. But the only big negative was the size of the bathroom - it is a really tight squeeze to even get to the toilet. The shower is very nice & updated (no bathtub - just a stall) - but it really is very very small. If we return I would opt for staying at the Tropical Shores property to have a bigger bathroom next time. The entire property is very well kept & maintained - beautiful palm trees, grills & chairs to sit outside.

The beach is so close - only about a 3 min walk or so, and the umbrella/chair rental is very convenient also. The resort has a huge box of sand toys for the kids to use which was also great. The beach is so beautiful here - soft white sand and very shallow - great for small children. We met many nice people staying nearby on the beach. The evening sunsets are gorgeous & the kids loved it too.

As for food - we got pizza one night from Solzanos (very good!!!) and some fish plates & sandwiches from the Big Water Fish Market just across the street from the resort (you can call ahead & get take out, or eat there) - the snapper was delicious & very fresh.

The resort staff was very helpful in giving tips for local attractions & if we needed extra towels or early housekeeping they were also very accommodating with this.

The only complaint really was that our last day they were cutting and sawing down palm trees in the little park area all.day.long... and it was very loud - we couldn't even really enjoy the pool that day. But the hotel management said it was the association surrounding the property - not their doing - but it was quite annoying & loud - too bad it just happened to be when we were there.

We will definitely be returning to Siesta Key - for us it's the most beautiful beach we've been to in Florida. We miss the nice warm weather already! =)

Room Tip: Sara Sea is closest to the beach - the boutique rooms have very small bathrooms. Tropical Shores is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The beach was amazing, but the beds in our room left alot to be desired. we had the suite for 4 people, 1 bed and a pull out sofa. The bed was ok, but the sofa was horrible! you could feel the springs under the matress and we could not sleep on it. I ended up giving my kids the bed and sleeping on the floor. I think that for $250+ per night, they could at least provide a decent matress. I don't know, I love the area, the beach and all, but maybe next time I will try a different resort.

Room Tip: Bring your own matress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salwa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was a last min family vacation, and it was great relaxing here. the beach was minutes from our rooms and the staff at tropical shores were excellent . We have found our new peaceful getaway. We will definitely be back .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I recently visited for a beach weekend getaway. We had heard that Siesta Key had a beautiful beach and it was less than a 3 hr drive from our home. The beach was indeed beautiful! White sand, beautiful clear blue water. That being said, Tropical Shores Beach resort was simply OK, not great. The room was VERY small, with almost no closet space and a tiny kitchenette. We went out for all of our meals, so we really didn't need a kitchen. We liked having a refrigerator but we only used the oven once to reheat pizza. (The oven was so small that the cookie sheet provided didn't even fit in the oven!) Cleaning service was pretty poor, especially at that price. Our dishes were not washed and put away- the counters weren't even wiped down. All they did was make the beds and change the towels. The place really could use some updating- it's pretty rundown and tired looking. We loved the beach, but I was expecting more than just an average motel room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
712 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range: $144 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our world where relaxation meets paradise at our Siesta Key Hotel. It is here at Tropical Beach Resorts in Sarasota Florida, where the setting sun meets the gentle rhythm of the sea. Siesta Key is where you will experience the best of all worlds… vacation fun, natural beauty, choice of activities and so much more… Proudly rated the #1 Beach in the USA, this stretch of the most beautiful powdery- white beach is just the beginning of what this natural gem on the west coast of Florida has to offer. It is home for us … and will be paradise for YOU! Just imagine walking on a pure white beach, while savoring spectacular sunsets over the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico or just strolling through the quaint village of Siesta Key with its lively atmosphere and friendly people… you will experience it all! Siesta Key is home to exquisite fauna and flora offering a collage of breath-taking colors and exotic wildlife. Whether you are looking for single solitude, a romantic get-away for two or family fun in the sun, Tropical Beach Resorts provides the perfect fit with beautiful hotel rooms and suites! The variety of room types offers a choice to fit your style and your budget. From stylish smaller floor plans for singles or that romantic getaway for two to spacious one- or two-bedroom units, perfect for the whole family to enjoy, we can accommodate you. All units offer a colorful garden view with the nearby pool area and the beach only a short walk away. We take great pride in our attention to detail, personal service and exceptionally high standards for cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Our hotel is conveniently located directly on Siesta Key (Sarasota, FL) and within immediate walking distance to our private beach access to Crescent Beach where you can meet some of Florida’s natives: dolphins, manatees, pelicans, sandpipers, sea creatures and seagulls galore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing