We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Close to the beach”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great location to the beach, great staff. It was nice to have towels and chairs available to take to the beach; just have to make sure that you sign them out and back in. If you want lounge chairs and umbrellas, they have to be rented, charged to your room - we found out $20 for a full day and $12 for a half day; found at the beach. They were very accommodating in splitting the charges between 2 credit cards. We were surprised to find a bottle of wine and glasses chilling in the fridge when we arrived - from the staff acknowledging our girls' getaway! That was so nice thoughtful. Having said all that, the room itself was definitely older with some cosmetic updates but wasn't set up very well, I don't think. The double beds were set up with one side of each bed up against a wall. If there had been 4 of us, one of us would have been crawling out of the bed, disturbing the other one, if she had to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night - also, the one bed was blocking the bathroom access by about 6-8 inches. The bathroom itself was pretty clean but again just old - be careful when you take a shower - it seems taking a shower at night was the best time otherwise you dealt with very hot water with a good shot of freezing cold water you never knew when! The closet was very small - couldn't hang a pair of pants full length or a dress because some of it would lay on top of a shelf. The kitchen was adequate but the sink was set up rather inconveniently -it was back in the right hand corner of the kitchen lengthwise with a short counter top between it and the fridge. There was a bit bigger counter between the sink and the oven.In order to turn the cold water on, you had to reach towards the back of the sink and it was very awkward to try and wash dishes. The fridge was a full apt size as well as the stove/oven. No dishwasher but they did provide dishwashing soap and also coffee and filters for coffee making, I would stay again but I would like to see another room arrangement, if there is one, in a Deluxe Efficiency. Not sure it was really worth the rate - but it was high season.

Room Tip: Depends upon the type of room you're looking for since they have several different arrangements...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyirishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    605
    109
    33
    23
See reviews for
738
1,263
70
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here end of Jan 31 st for the week end, had excellent room with separate kitchen area and exceptionally clean, had everything you would need , friendly staff and walkable to stores and two bars, beach chairs to rent reasonable ...totally recommend Tropical Shores.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for the cost! The beach is only a short walk on a brick path. Hotel provides beach chairs & beach towels. Or you can rent lounge chairs & umbrella for $12. We stayed in # 129 which is on 2nd floor w balcony & chairs for relaxing. Unit 130 is also on 2nd floor. All other rooms are on ground level. This upper room is great I think! Hotel people are amazingly friendly & helpful! Our room had a full kitchen & it was clean. Our 2nd stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indianajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Staff was very accommodating from first contact by phone for reservations, to check in, to attending to details during our stay. Great location on Siesta Key, close to beach, and access to restaurants, 7/11, etc. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We just came back from our 4th visit to tropical shores. It was wonderful as usual. Everything was perfect. Staff accommodating. Beautiful gardens. Room decor so tropical. Stayed in sera sea. We had a one bedroom. Peaceful surroundings. Easy walk to beach to watch sunset. Restaurants nearby. Tiki bar down the street. Perfect vacation. Only problem I am afraid it is going to be so popular and we can't get a reservation. We refuse to stay anywhere else in siesta key. Our memories are tropical shores.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneD12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We felt SPECIAL from the first moment we steeped into the registration office until the last second we were on property!

The staff are very knowledgeable of the resort, the area, the restaurants, what to do, EVERYTHING!

The room was lovely, it feels you are actually staying at your own little apartment more than a hotel room. The amenities are great! We even got a Jacuzzi :)

The private beach is located one block from your room and it's beautiful!!! I love Siesta Beach, but this is the further south point of it so it is very private and even in season had very little people :)

There are 2 heated pools in property and lots to do. You can rent a movie, BBQ in one of the many Grills close to your room, or just sit down and read under one of their beautiful Gazebos.

You can tell someone cares about every single detail at this resort!
My wife and I loved it and you will love it too!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmarguglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newington, ct
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

we come here every year - we love everything about it - the rooms are very nice - nice pool and the people are so helpful - close by are lots of restaurants to choose from - and of course, the beautiful white sand beach

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paris87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
694 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
22 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Property: Tropical Beach Resorts
Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our world where relaxation meets paradise at our Siesta Key Hotel. It is here at Tropical Beach Resorts in Sarasota Florida, where the setting sun meets the gentle rhythm of the sea. Siesta Key is where you will experience the best of all worlds… vacation fun, natural beauty, choice of activities and so much more… Proudly rated the #1 Beach in the USA, this stretch of the most beautiful powdery- white beach is just the beginning of what this natural gem on the west coast of Florida has to offer. It is home for us … and will be paradise for YOU! Just imagine walking on a pure white beach, while savoring spectacular sunsets over the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico or just strolling through the quaint village of Siesta Key with its lively atmosphere and friendly people… you will experience it all! Siesta Key is home to exquisite fauna and flora offering a collage of breath-taking colors and exotic wildlife. Whether you are looking for single solitude, a romantic get-away for two or family fun in the sun, Tropical Beach Resorts provides the perfect fit with beautiful hotel rooms and suites! The variety of room types offers a choice to fit your style and your budget. From stylish smaller floor plans for singles or that romantic getaway for two to spacious one- or two-bedroom units, perfect for the whole family to enjoy, we can accommodate you. All units offer a colorful garden view with the nearby pool area and the beach only a short walk away. We take great pride in our attention to detail, personal service and exceptionally high standards for cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Our hotel is conveniently located directly on Siesta Key (Sarasota, FL) and within immediate walking distance to our private beach access to Crescent Beach where you can meet some of Florida’s natives: dolphins, manatees, pelicans, sandpipers, sea creatures and seagulls galore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing