We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice Beach place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Beach place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Within easy reach of Siesta Key Public Beach, this Siesta Key motel is located by the ocean and set on the beach. Area attractions also include St. Armands Circle and Marie Selby Botanical Gardens.
Recreational amenities at this Beach Resorts include an outdoor pool . Other amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access but in rooms the reception is terrible.

Room Tip: I made a mistake and I booked a queen bed, unfortunately there were not King abailable during my che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    517
    99
    32
    20
See reviews for
592
1,054
59
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I found this place on the internet, we live just 2 hrs. away so this was just a little short vacation for us. The resort was clean, quiet and very close to the beach. You just walk a short path to a private beach. We brought our own chairs and umbrellas - but they rent them there also. The hotel provides beach towels, and some pool toys by the pool area. The staff is very friendly and check in was a breeze. The room was LARGE with a king size bed, remodled bathroom and a full kitchen with all the supplies. I loved this place because it was quiet. There is not many stores around or restaurants, but you can take a FREE taxi - you tip the driver and SIESTA KEY VILLAGE is about a 10 min. drive from the resort. We went into the village one nite and had dinner there. I would stay again at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at the various Tropical Beach resorts on several occasions over the past 5 or so years and I have never been disappointed. The Sara Sea is a particular delight. The room is cozy, perfect for one person, and mine in particular had an outdoor patio that was fairly secluded where I could sit and have coffee in the morning even with the rains pouring down to start the day. The beach is a 5 minute walk (or less) and it's an absolutely beautiful one. I sat under an umbrella or played in the (very gentle) surf most days. Had I wanted I could have rented a kayak or done any number of water related activities as desired. Everyone at the resort goes out of their way to make your stay pleasant. There are multiple groceries, both walking distance and a short drive, as well as restaurants in the area to enjoy. I particularly like Philippi Creek Oyster Bar and Captain Curt's for karaoke on Friday and Saturday nights.
No matter the purpose of your trip, I think you'll find a lovely homebase at the resorts of Tropical Beach.

Green Features: The room was cleaned daily; towels were changed when requested (and I was happy to reuse). Recycling separated in room.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagodoc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Good location, nicely renovated. All needed amenities, on smaller scale. Only negative- parking!! You will be pleasantly surprised.Congested area,but plenty to do.A lot of wonderful restaurants in the area. Yes - pick up some of the tourist magazines.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPB-keepitreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are a number of resorts clustered along Sara Sea Circle. They are a little past the main beach area, so you are not with all the other tourists. The private beach is very nice. My daughter and I had a deluxe studio with two comfy beds, nice bathroom and a kitchenette area. Very nicely appointed. Beach towels and chairs and an umbrella were available if you wanted to carry it all down to the beach, which was about 100 yards long. Not long at all, really. If not, you could get two lounge chairs and an umbrella already set up for $20.00 charged to the room and I think $14.00 for 1/4 day - like if it rains. There were places to eat and a little supermarket within walking distance, coffee and tea in the room and in the lobby. There was a sitting area outside and the grounds were lovely. We enjoyed the place thoroughly. The beach itself could have been a little cleaner, but it was not really a problem. We will definitely come back. A very good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaterinaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Almost everything around here looks like an old Florida hotel one floor and a cozy feel . But when you open the door everything is beautiful full kitchen dining room. One or two blocks walking distance to the beach ( beach side) Perfect place to
Disconnect and have some quality time

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emjj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just got back from a quick 2-day stay at Tropical Sun. We live in Florida and find it easy to do spur-of-the-minute trips when we need to relax. We quickly learned that the end of August is considered "low season" on Siesta Key - great time of the year to visit!! We were able to get a "manager's special" that was 1/2 the regular price. Tropical Beach Resorts is divided into 3 different places: SaraSea; Tropical Sun; Tropical Shores. We stayed at Tropical Sun in Rm 151- Sandpiper w/ King bed. All the units in our whole building were remodeled last December and are beautiful. I understand they have a larger unit, but our room was perfect. There was a small kitchen with granite counters and stainless appliances - even had an oven & microwave & fridge with freezer. The kitchen is equipped with plates, cups, bowls, glasses, silverware, coffee pot, toaster - you get the idea! There is a glass-top table with chairs (for dining), a leather sofabed with side lamps & coffee table and the king bed. The bath had lovely tile, granite counter, tub/shower, closet with mirror sliding door and a safe. Each unit has it's own A/C unit - great to be able to control your own A/C. The place is new & very very clean. The maids come every day and replenish your towels and clean the place - they do an excellent job and should be very proud of their hard work! There are 2 pools with lots of lounge chairs - one pool seems to have more shade than the other with beautiful landscaping and large palm trees everywhere. Then there is the private beach that we (and a few other hotels) have access to. They rent umbrellas and chairs for $12 for 1/2 day and $20 for a whole day. We passed a Publix on the drive in, but found the grocery store across the street to have everything we needed to stock our fridge. In the back of this grocery store they have a deli with homemade meals (ready for the microwave) - wonderful stuff!! We found the public beaches to be beautiful and clean - reminded us of Sanibel Island. They all seem to have lots of free parking - a plus for some areas in Florida! The small "village" has lots of restaurants to select from or you could take a drive to Lido Key or Sarasota. All in all we found Siesta Key to be very relaxing and this property to be the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FloridaBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.1 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#8 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Property: Tropical Beach Resorts
Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing