We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would definitely go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night so had never spent any time at Siesta Key so we booked into the Tropical Beach Resort after reading reviews about it. We knew it was a group of renovated motel units so that was no surprise. We also knew the square footage of the unit we were going to be in. Check in was friendly and fast and although our room wasn't ready they gave us an equivalent room so we were able to check in early. Our unit the Sandpiper was wonderful, whoever did the renovations did them first class. We had a small kitchenette with granite countertop and stainless steel appliances. The king bed looked so inviting with a lovely cream duvet, it was just as comfortable as it looked and was like sleeping on a cloud. There was a leather love seat and a table with 3 chairs. It was perfect for 2 people.The beach was about a 2 minute walk and you could rent chairs and umbrellas there if you wanted or they allowed you to take chairs from the resorts.

Room Tip: We found a restaurant just a short walk away called Captain Kurt's where we had delicious chowde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dialamatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

After reading reviews we did not expect too much but just wanted three nights rest after Orlando.
It was perfect. Beach with whitest sand few minutes walk. Staff so pleasant. We arrived two hours early and the room was ready for us.

If you want to take beach chairs to beach, no problem. Plenty of beach and pool towels
No rules, regulations and horrible signs up. Very welcoming. Barbecues on site and beach if you want to use them in their private beach.

Motel type and not luxury but okay, accommodation with modern kitchenette, full oven, microwave, fridge and freezer.

Very short walk to some bars and restaurants. Publix supermarket 5 mins drive away.

We are now in Key West in much more luxury but prefer the accommodation and helpfulness of the Siesta Key accommodation.

Room Tip: If you want to crash out and rest this is perfect but for children they only have the pool to occupy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed five nights in a room with 2 full beds. The staff moved us to the second floor and a room with a large front window upon our request. Everyone on the staff was helpful and friendly. You can borrow beach towels, chairs, DVDs and more. You can also rent lounge chairs on the beach as well as umbrellas and canoes. The walk to the beach is lovely, you don't cross any roads, just walk down a nice brick path--takes 30 seconds--and the beach itself is gorgeous. Go for the sunsets and the white sand. Our room was quiet. There is a food stand with coffee and breakfast sandwiches--perfect for your first morning, especially. Our kitchen was equipped with everything we needed, didn't even need to buy coffee filters--just the coffee itself, although they do give you some, and tea bags. The cleaning staff did a good job and were helpful. The landscaping was well-tended. Other things to do: drive up the island to the "town" for food and shops, go into Sarasota for food, shops, movies, Ringling Brothers Museum. Go to St. Petersburg for Salvador Dali Museum. Go inland to the Myakka River State Park and go on a walk in the forest canopy and an airboat tour to see alligators and birds. This hotel is perfect for families with children (who will love the pool) and for couples. Siesta Key is not the singles scene you find in other Florida locations. We were very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: If you need a room with two full beds, reserve 121--the room is upstairs and has a nice big front wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

This is a great informative review on our property! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. There is a wealth of activities and attractions available here on Siesta Key and our staff is available to help guide you to your most perfect day and direction! Please take advantage of what Tropical Beach Resorts has to offer, but don't be afraid to ask us about other places to visit while you are here. We are here to help!!
We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. I read reviews prior to my stay but decided to give it a try anyway. This resort is just average. I couldnt see the water from the room and had about a 3 min walk to the beach. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beescivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This resort lives up to the previous reviews. It is reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Amazing movie selections for free. Really comfy beds. There were 14 in our group and the tiki hut was awesome! Used the grill for a crab leg and shrimp feast. Grocery is close and beach is just a short stroll. Have already recommended to a friend coming this summer. Job well done folks. Job well done. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rm 120 is a little dark but other 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom suites were beautiful and newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoeGirlBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

It's always great to know read that a larger group really enjoyed their stay with us so much! Thanks for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you this summer and are very happy that you plan on returning to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were looking for a stay near the beach and came across this motel. The website seemed very promising. Reality is that the rooms are smaller and feel very crowded.
Reception on arrival was very sharp and efficient. On departure totally disinterested.
The noise levels were not good, but the noise did not come from guests. We had a day in as my wife felt unwell and were subject to continual banging, drilling, electric saws. There was no effective soundproofing with the staff workshop/store next to our unit. Then the maid trolleys and trash bins rumbled backwards and forwards.
The motel is clean and will appeal to many. Not for us.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Great location and nice rooms. They are a bit small, but as there is outdoor space, we didn’t mind. 2 minute walk to the beach. Nice grill and outdoor seating available. Room was clean and updated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnb2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
714 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range: $143 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our world where relaxation meets paradise at our Siesta Key Hotel. It is here at Tropical Beach Resorts in Sarasota Florida, where the setting sun meets the gentle rhythm of the sea. Siesta Key is where you will experience the best of all worlds… vacation fun, natural beauty, choice of activities and so much more… Proudly rated the #1 Beach in the USA, this stretch of the most beautiful powdery- white beach is just the beginning of what this natural gem on the west coast of Florida has to offer. It is home for us … and will be paradise for YOU! Just imagine walking on a pure white beach, while savoring spectacular sunsets over the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico or just strolling through the quaint village of Siesta Key with its lively atmosphere and friendly people… you will experience it all! Siesta Key is home to exquisite fauna and flora offering a collage of breath-taking colors and exotic wildlife. Whether you are looking for single solitude, a romantic get-away for two or family fun in the sun, Tropical Beach Resorts provides the perfect fit with beautiful hotel rooms and suites! The variety of room types offers a choice to fit your style and your budget. From stylish smaller floor plans for singles or that romantic getaway for two to spacious one- or two-bedroom units, perfect for the whole family to enjoy, we can accommodate you. All units offer a colorful garden view with the nearby pool area and the beach only a short walk away. We take great pride in our attention to detail, personal service and exceptionally high standards for cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Our hotel is conveniently located directly on Siesta Key (Sarasota, FL) and within immediate walking distance to our private beach access to Crescent Beach where you can meet some of Florida’s natives: dolphins, manatees, pelicans, sandpipers, sea creatures and seagulls galore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing