We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay; won't be our last!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is our second visit (first visit was at Tropical Sun), and certainly not our last.

We stayed in the 2-bedroom suite for two nights last week, as a family of four. We arrived early hoping to take advantage of some added beach time and much to our surprise our suite was ready. Check-in was a breeze, and the staff very welcoming (even more so than our first visit). The suite was right across the street from where you check-in and was exactly as pictured. You get lots of natural lighting / windows as the suite is located in the outside corner of the building. Everything in the suite was just perfect, especially the beds (super comfy). We got settled quickly and then went back to the “lobby” to ask about beach chairs, beach toys, towels, and a few other things. We can’t thank the staff enough for being so helpful and friendly, and for ensuring all our needs were met.

We had asked about specials for Canadians visiting, but nothing was applicable for this particular unit. They did mention they would have a bottle of wine or champagne for us though, which was a nice offer. Unfortunately they did forget about the wine, but when we mentioned it they were very quick to rectify the situation.

The grounds are impeccable and the gardens stunning. On our first night we even happened to see some hummingbirds! The pool areas are also extremely nice; the water is sparkling, clean and warm. There is more than enough loungers to accommodate everyone. I won’t say much about the beach, as it speaks for itself. We were lucky enough to see some dolphins on our second day though, which was very exciting.

Both evenings we borrowed movies from the “lobby”. They have a great selection, including recent releases and family friendly options. Plus you can get microwave popcorn as an added treat :)

Our 8 year old daughter loved the welcome area of the “lobby” and throughout the day she would sneak in and visit – usually to steal a cookie or two.

Our only complaint about this suite would be that the Sundeck Studio is located directly above this particular suite so you can easily hear guests talking and moving around patio furniture above you. Not a deal breaker, but slightly annoying.

Without any doubt we would highly recommend this resort. We hope to make our stays a family tradition, and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twolittlebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week this September and it was our third year running at this hotel. It is that good!
We requested by email the room we had last year and they were happy to give us that room again. Infact you feel that nothing is any bother for the reception staff.
( just a tip, if you find this hotel for a cheaper price, ring them direct before booking and they will price match)
I won't go into a lot of detail as all the other reviewers have, just to say that if you want a relaxing holiday, with a 2 minute walk onto the beach, modern clean rooms with top rate kitchens, lovely pool, well kept gardens, Gas BBQ areas, free coffee and biscuits in reception, etc etc etc, well look no further, because you have found your destination.
Thankyou Tropical Beach, see you next year.

Room Tip: we like to stay in room 123, where it is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canada420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have nothing bad to say about this resort. The room was perfect. Very clean and updated. The resort staff was very friendly and very helpful. Chairs and beach towels to "borrow" from the front office, however you can rent beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Located at the North end of the island, which is very quiet, with just enough restaurants, bars, and stores within walking distance. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are on the beach, however, its just a short walk, <2 minutes to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfield1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place is a great find. Easy two minute walk down a private path to the georgeous siesta key beach. The room was regrettably small but packed with a full kitchen. The decor was new and nice. There is a central "alley" shared by six or so establishments with a park, and the beach access rd. There were new looking grills in our courtyard and each place had their own pool. The staff was super friendly and helpful, getting us in early and allowing a late checkout. We are already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our room was at the front of the property, a little walk from the beach but close to the pool. We had a small dog traveling with us and found this resort very accommodating for those traveling with small pets.
Beach area was really great, for a $20 daily fee you could get a lounge and umbrella, however if you did not want to pay the fee you could get sign out a free beach chair at the office.
The whole resort was well kept and the rooms (our had a king bed, large bathroom, sitting area, dinning table and chairs and a full kitchen) all were very clean and well kept. Overall I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling with a small pet.

Room Tip: If your into using the pool, ask for a room close to the road, if nearer to the beach request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walteq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice hotel located just few minutes from the beach and main amenities.
We were in room 129, the one with the access to the beautiful terrace. From the hotel you do not have sea view, but it's surrounded by trees and grass and we found it very relaxing.
The bedroom, including a kitchen area and a spacious bathroom was lovely with a beautiful bow window facing the terrace. It's all very modernly furnished with an elegant touch.
The only negative point was that, being probably a wooden structure, you can hear the noisy from your neighbour and for the 2 nights we were here, we had small kids waking us up during the night - but this can happen anywhere, not definitely anybody's fault

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SIBI78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is my 4th stay with my wife and a 2 year old this time. The resort is broken into 3 sections Tropical shores, Tropical Sun and Sara sea. I was leary about staying at Sara sea since we've always stayed at Tropical shores. To our surprise we loved it better. You can't beat this resort. Kitchenette, very large king bed fit all 3 of us with room, flat screen tv with sufficient channels, pull-out couch, eating space and just a great clean comfortable room. This room didn't have a bathtub so a shower stall was tough to bath out child, a small issue. The pool was warm and provided a great swim. I used the bbq's on site each day which had the utensils at the tables, we ate outside one evening.
To answer one critcis comment about "how can you call this place a resort", a question I pondered for months since I had read it and stayed her before. It dawned on me day 2 visit here that this place is self sufficient. A shop at the grocercy store and your set, you really don't have to leave the resort if you want beach, pool and relaxing. That's a resort to me. A 7-11 across the street took me 1 minute to get fill-ins like eggs, butter and wine. A hair salon I used for a quick hair cut in a strip mall near the liquor store, pizzeria and post office in a drug store. The beach is truly the best. The ocean was 84' and we all went in everyday. Rent a big umbrella and chairs for $20 full day or $12 half day on the beach. Resort does offer free beach chairs and towels.
We flew into Tampa and rented a car, an hour and 15 min highway drive. I ate at Hooters Restaurant for the wings of course. Had chinese food in a nearby mall. Went to the public beach, kid played on the swings.
We can't wait to return next year. Biggest problem with the vacation was it had to end and we had to leave.

Room Tip: Sara sea is best and if you have a small child and need a tub. Make sure the room you book has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haringdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.7 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
711 reviews
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Address: 6717 Sarasea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range: $145 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our world where relaxation meets paradise at our Siesta Key Hotel. It is here at Tropical Beach Resorts in Sarasota Florida, where the setting sun meets the gentle rhythm of the sea. Siesta Key is where you will experience the best of all worlds… vacation fun, natural beauty, choice of activities and so much more… Proudly rated the #1 Beach in the USA, this stretch of the most beautiful powdery- white beach is just the beginning of what this natural gem on the west coast of Florida has to offer. It is home for us … and will be paradise for YOU! Just imagine walking on a pure white beach, while savoring spectacular sunsets over the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico or just strolling through the quaint village of Siesta Key with its lively atmosphere and friendly people… you will experience it all! Siesta Key is home to exquisite fauna and flora offering a collage of breath-taking colors and exotic wildlife. Whether you are looking for single solitude, a romantic get-away for two or family fun in the sun, Tropical Beach Resorts provides the perfect fit with beautiful hotel rooms and suites! The variety of room types offers a choice to fit your style and your budget. From stylish smaller floor plans for singles or that romantic getaway for two to spacious one- or two-bedroom units, perfect for the whole family to enjoy, we can accommodate you. All units offer a colorful garden view with the nearby pool area and the beach only a short walk away. We take great pride in our attention to detail, personal service and exceptionally high standards for cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Our hotel is conveniently located directly on Siesta Key (Sarasota, FL) and within immediate walking distance to our private beach access to Crescent Beach where you can meet some of Florida’s natives: dolphins, manatees, pelicans, sandpipers, sea creatures and seagulls galore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing