We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouth Watering!!”
Review of Senor Siesta

Senor Siesta
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: South American, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our Seasonal Hours Closed Monday and Tuesday We are open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through Sunday
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Went to Senor Siesta having read tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed!
As we couldn't decide whether to have tapas or a main course we shared three starters and had a main course each! Our eyes were bigger than our stomachs but our tastebuds had a great night!
The garlic shrimp starter was spectacular both in taste and quantity, the croquettes and empanadas were delicious. At this point we questioned whether we needed an entree but kept going. The shrimp and chorizo pasta was sublime and had a subtle kick to it. The slow roast pork was very tender,full of flavour and again plenty of it. We asked to try the cayenne dusted okra
as a side ... very moreish and addictive.
Our children enjoyed the appetizers with us and demolished the pasta ... as well as discovering passionfruit juice!!
One of the best evening meals we have enjoyed in Sarasota in the 24years we have been coming here .... hope Senor Siesta is still here when we next come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isibbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorSiestaSrq, General Manager at Senor Siesta, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Wow, glad you enjoyed your experience at our modest little restaurant. We are particularly happy that your children enjoyed their fare and maracaya (passion fruit) juice; we are floored by your “moreish” comment re: our okra!! You are the first to have ordered it as an appetizer as we introduced it, originally, to provide contrasting tastes and texture to our guava drizzled salmon entrée. PS We just had our 1 year anniversary on Siesta Key, so God willing we hope to be around for your next visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 238 of 359 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

We went to Senor Siesta thinking it was a Mexican restaurant. Upon arrival we read on the sign that they were not Mexican, but Latin. At first we were leery about going in but decided to try it. Boy, were we so glad we did!!!! The service was outstanding! We told our server that we had never been there before and needed some education on the menu. She went through every menu item and described each one in detail!!!! Even telling us which country the item originated from! Talk about personalized service! After making our decision we were absolutely amazed on the food and the great taste and presentation. Seriously one of the best meals I've ever had! There were 6 of us and we each ordered something different so we all got to take a taste and everyone's meal. What an experience! We will definitely go back! Don't leave Siesta Key without visiting Senor Siesta!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorSiestaSrq, General Manager at Senor Siesta, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you very much for the kind words. Funny thing, to us, many people think we are a Mexican restaurant prior to visiting—maybe it’s a stereotype attached to our name. We do serve some Mexican beer brands among our Latin import offerings but that’s about it right now. Our chef is surely fond of Mexican food and culinary techniques, but as you found out—glad you overcame your leeriness—our focus is Latin, non-Mexican. We define Latin as originating from the Iberian Peninsula and developed throughout the Americas. And this broad definition allows us to tap some really amazing ingredients and develop flavors accordingly. Buen Provecho!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our group of 16 was looking for an interesting place to have dinner and this was just the ticket! They closed the restaurant for us and served many flavorful and great selections. We were served by the owner, his wife and their daughter and they did a great job keeping the food coming and delivering a great experience!

Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank darrenmace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

During a recent stay in Siesta Key, my group of 10 (4 adults and 6 kids) were looking for something delicious, and WOW!!! did we ever find it.
We found Senior Siesta a little bit hidden in a strip mall, which turned out to be a great blessing. We were excited to be able to sit outside (inside only has room for maybe 20 people), yet still be far enough away from the road so that traffic noise was at a minimum. The atmosphere was relaxing and wonderful for our family.

We were promptly seated by a friendly young lady (I think Giovanna was her name). We opted for the Sangria, which turned out to be a recipe passed through the generations and perfected by our hosts. As with many things at Senor Siesta, the options are limited, but the results are outstanding.
I remember we ordered 3 appetizers, but the one that stuck out to me as disappearing the fastest at our table was the Empanadas. One of the others was Gambas al Ajillo. I just remember that we all loved the 3 choices.
Once again, I can not remember what everyone ate for the main course, but I know the kids loved the Picadillo Pasta. Wow, it was a lot of food, and packed with flavor.
I remember at least the following dishes on the table:
Carne Asada Plato Tipico, Ropa Vieja con Arroz y PlatanoMaduro, Pastelón de PlatanoMaduro

We had at least 2 other dishes, and the food was so amazing, that we shared everything. Every plate seemed to be made special for us, and the flavor of each dish was distinct and delicious. I should also mention that for the quality of the dining, the cost was less than we had expected.

So I have mentioned the atmosphere, and the food. One other thing set Senor Siesta apart from all the other places we ate on this trip, and it was the service. The owner made an appearance at our table after the meal and after talking for a couple of minutes, she brought us a tasting of one of their new desserts to try. (and that was amazing as well).

So we went back another night for only desserts, and that is when we had the picture taken of our kids and the owners. Both times, all of our needs were met, amazing food, outstanding service, and for less than we expected to spend. This is my new favorite place for my annual trip to Siesta Key.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorSiestaSrq, General Manager at Senor Siesta, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We are quite happy you enjoyed your visits to Senor Siesta. Our joy, those evenings, came from the precious smiling faces of your children!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing experience. We got there early and were seated immediately the server was amazingly interesting and great to talk to. The food was just incredible and very well presented. Between the six of us in the party we tried most of the menu and it was all good. Very highly recommend the food and this great family run business they were awesome.

1  Thank FL_Tourist-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Siesta also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Senor Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing