We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senor Siesta - CLOSED

Senor Siesta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open DAILY for LUNCH and DINNER. (Kitchen closes 3-5PM) Latin "Grab and Go" Street Food and Craft Beer at its finest. Ask which beer goes best with each entree. Specialties include "Design Your Own" CEVICHE and TACOS and "Choose Your Ingredients" Latin WOK Stir Fry CHIFA. Chef Specials include Sirloin Burger on Rosemary Bun, Skirt Steak and Eggs. Draft and can Craft Beers. Eat In, Carry Out, or have delivered on the Key.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this restaurant! The service was great and we were able to enjoy eating outside. My husband ordered a shrimp and scallop pasta which the chef was able to add a little spice to the dish. It was absolutely perfect with the right amount of kick! We also had the beef brisket that was extremely tender, it came with delicious rice and plantains. Plantains are my favorite and they are not always easy to find. I would have come back just for those but the entire meal was great. We tried to go back our last evening which was Monday but unfortunately they were closed. Next time we will plan better and be sure to eat there at least twice! Thank you for a great meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tannafoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    38
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Personal Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

During our week in S.K. we visited this restaurant twice and given the number and variety of restaurants in the area is proof of how good it is. It deserves to be rated No.1 in view of the quality of the food and the excellent service. We look forward to our next vacation in S.K. and to a meal at Senor Siesta.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lloydy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on Siesta Key for a week at the end of September 2013 and went to Señor Siesta based on reviews. My husband, my son, and I sat outside at the entrance, which is nicely covered. Although it is along the parking lot, there is a lot of foliage here, and the ambiance outside is very charming. The menu seems to change, as the menu online is different from the menu at the restaurant. They also have specials listed on a board at the entrance. We started with the chorizo empanadas (omg!) and the fried baby scallops. Both were wonderful! I had the Ensalada de casa Senor Siesta, very light, with a nice Latin flavor. Our entrees: Costillas Asadas (pork ribs), the mahi mahi special, and Tacos de Pescado (mahi mahi). Everything was beautifully prepared and we even liked the rice pilaf--usually considered a "filler" but not here! Honestly, my husband always orders pork ribs, no matter where we are, and is disappointed 95% of the time (I do believe this is a test that he likes to give a restaurant!) These ribs were nicely smoked, and the meat came off the bone very easily--wow! My mahi mahi was nicely scented with grilled rosemary and thyme, a very nice touch. Wait staff was attentive, prompt, and very nice. Drink list is limited: 4 beers, house red and white wine, sangria. The sangria was ok, but the house red was surprisingly good quality. Will definitely be back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CharleneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Muy RICO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been twice to this newish restaurant in Siesta Key Village during our holiday here for 2013. We know SK well and have been coming here since 1999.
The Honduran lady who is front-of-house gave us a really warm welcome both visits, and the food, and atmosphere was excellent - a really good gastronomic experience as well.
The tapas to start are delicious: quite Spanish in character, although the ham and cheese quinoa croquettes are obviously more Latin American. The gambas al ajillo were superb.
Main courses are much more Cuban or Central American and we found them to be superb.
All in all, a restaurant to recommend thoroughly. We'll go back next year for sure.
Los Altos, Glasgow, Scotland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank losaltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta key
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ate here twice on our 4 day trip. Both times the food was excellent and the owner was really friendly and helpful with our choice of food. Would recommend to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Monker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senor Siesta also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing