We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Dipping Dots...”

Sub Zero Ice Cream & Yogurt
Ranked #2 of 7 Dessert in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Made-to-order ice cream, shakes, and Italian Ice that are flash-frozen by hand with patented liquid nitrogen process. Flash freezing yields a fresh, dense, creamy product with no ice crystals or air whipped in. Choose a predetermined flavor combination or create your own concoction. Either way, it's still individually prepared and frozen to order. Bases include Original Cream, Custard, Low-Fat, Fat-Free Yogurt, Lactose-Free, Vegan Almond, and No Sugar Added. All bases are gluten free. Vegan menu available. We also serve Smoothies.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you like Dipping Dots...”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I actually think Dipping Dots are better in the world of "alternative ice creams." This was was good though. Even getting the "low fat" seemed to have a lot of flavor. The show is fun watching them zap the liquid concoction with nitrogen. Better than Big Olaf but not as good as Orange Octopus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Showman500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    73
    24
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretty good ice cream”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Saw this place on Shark Tank and I'm a fan of the show so I had to visit this place. The "show" they give you is pretty good as they chill the ice cream right in front of you. I've read online that people say the ice cream has a different taste to it and I can kind of agree with them. The ice cream was really good but it did taste just a touch different that "normal" ice cream that I've had before. Big Olaf has really good "normal" ice cream but Sub Zero is definitely a place to check out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SiestaKey0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great desserts, and good fun too!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My son enjoyed a 'nitro' custard concoction. It all is hand-made before your eyes and the kids (adults, too) enjoy seeing the nitrogen inroduced to the mixing bowl and the vapors blocking the bowl, and preparer, from view. Magic!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lennie_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Different experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The best part are SubZero is the process - very interesting and fun. The final product is good, but not for the serious ice cream/yogurt crowd

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BecRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANKFORT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sub Zero a delightful surprise!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Sub Zero isn't just good ice cream/frozen yogurt, the preparation of it from liquid to solid is real entertainment! The choices are many, and you can choose anything from premium ice cream, to the more healthy frozen yogurt or almond cream.
Because of the way it is prepared, the flavors seem more intense, and the ice cream itself has a better texture.
Our 1st visit was at lunch today, and we will be going back tonight!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggyg827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Zero Ice Cream & Yogurt also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sub Zero Ice Cream & Yogurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing