We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novel”

Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 7 Dessert in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Made-to-order ice cream, shakes, and Italian Ice that are flash-frozen by hand with patented liquid nitrogen process. Flash freezing yields a fresh, dense, creamy product with no ice crystals or air whipped in. Choose a predetermined flavor combination or create your own concoction. Either way, it's still individually prepared and frozen to order. Bases include Original Cream, Custard, Low-Fat, Fat-Free Yogurt, Lactose-Free, Vegan Almond, and No Sugar Added. All bases are gluten free. Vegan menu available. We also serve Smoothies.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Novel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Interesting use of Nitrogen. But it causes long waits that does not translate to the worth of $5+ ice cream.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LN2IceCream, Owner at Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're glad you visited Sub Zero and took the time to write a review. Yes, fresh, made-to-order ice cream takes longer to prepare than ready-made ice cream scooped out of a tub. We--and most of our customers--think it's worth waiting for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    74
    25
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Better than the other ice creams"”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here with my 4 year old companion and she declared (after being amazed and entertained by the freezing process) that "this ice cream is better than the other ice creams". And she should know as a Siesta Key Village resident who has frequented all the other ice cream and yogurt places.

Personally as someone who is lactose intolerant I appreciate the ability to choose the base, including options for me like lactose free / vegan. Worth walking a few more feet down the street for!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to try this place when it was fairly new. My husband and I had different people make our ice cream. They use liquid nitrogen to freeze it while you watch. Mine was icey and lumpy, and my husband's was smooth, but melty. Give me cold stone creamery instead....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lemstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LN2IceCream, Owner at Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry you were disappointed. There is a learning curve to making the ice cream consistently, and this process has been refined by all of our staff in the months since we opened. We owners and managers have been keeping a close eye on our staff as they freeze and scoop the ice cream, and as a result our servings have become much more consistent in texture. I hope you will give us another chance now that we have some more time and experience under our belts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a perfect day”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

So cool to see a liquid become a solid - especially since it become yummy ice cream! A little pricey but worth it. Very nice staff, great ice cream, clean store.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LN2IceCream, Owner at Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, Tami C. We're glad you liked your Sub Zero experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle PA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to get ice cream”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The ice cream is delicious. Lots of flavores and add-in's. friendly and helpful staff. We went here every night of our stay in Siesta Key.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dml240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LN2IceCream, Owner at Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you, dml240! I remember some folks from Greencastle, and we're honored you made us a daily stop during your vacation. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing