We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Perfect location for beach, food and entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Breeze Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location for beach, food and entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Depending on which of the many rooms you get you are either across the street from the beach or on one of the three pools. Also there are at least 10 restaurants and bars within 3 blocks.
Can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oahudrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    170
    58
    43
    35
See reviews for
200
228
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Was really looking forward to this trip but didn't really live up to expectations. I found the staff in the front office very matter of fact and not warm or very friendly. One bedroom suite was ok good location by one of the pools but on opening the sofa bed found the last guest's dirty sheets on it and dirty offputting stains on the cushions, advised front office and told housekeeping had gone home and collect new bedding. Wish we has changed rooms because the pull out bed was very uncomfortable. Staff should try sleeping on this to realise how uncomfortable it is. Free continental breakfast a joke - coffee. juice and danish pastry!!. Good location to beach and bars was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

After a great relaxing stay we can come to notice we were missing our dogs anti anxiety shirt. We called and found out it was tossed by accident. The manager was sooo sooo nice, she reimbursed us right away without question.

Super cute resort, A+

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Savvysavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A short walk to the beach and next to shops and restaurants. I was solo so only had a small bedroom suite. The beach was beautiful. This hotel is actually about two blocks of different types of buildings and there are 3 pools.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nograyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI BEACH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

OK, you have to read these reviews with the understanding that there are no four or five star hotels on Siesta Key. So, what may be considered "great" on Siesta Key may be considered "average" or even a little "ghetto" in another beach town. That doesn't mean that Siesta Key is the ghetto, it just means that it is mostly privately owned condos and beach houses, as opposed to giant chain resorts. That is both a good and bad thing.
Having prefaced the review with that, Tropical Breeze is adequate. It's not right on the beach, but it is only a couple of blocks away. And the public can just walk right out on the beach from the road, so beach access isn't an issue. Since TB is not on the beach, there are no 4-5 star amenities like beach lounge chairs or umbrellas. Although, there were two small beach chairs provided in our two-bedroom room. So that was better than nothing. The location was also very close to all the restaurants and night life, which was great. All-in-all, for Siesta Key, it's in a great location with super-easy access to everything you may want to do in Siesta Key.
The two-bedroom we stayed in was very small, but I don't think anything anywhere in Siesta Key offers "huge" places - at least that I saw from other friends who stayed other places on the island. Our air conditioner was bad. It cooled down at night, but the inside temperature rose during the day, no matter what temperature we had the thermostat set on. And one of the bedrooms was consistently about five degrees hotter than the rest of the unit. That's significant, and very annoying. The insulation in our unit was terrible. You can see a gap between the exterior door and doorframe. Maintenance checked the A/C, but nothing changed. The pool right outside our room was also very small, but other guests seemed to enjoy it.
The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about things like taxis (free on the island) and local venues. It's tough to say if Tropical Breeze is worth the money. I'm leaning towards "no". I think with room rates and taxes, we paid approximately $245/night for an August weekend (the hottest part of the year). Compared to other places I've stayed around the world, I would price that room at approximately $150/night. By comparison, you can get a ocean view room at a four-star resort in Miami Beach for $245/night in August. And Tropical Breeze is nowhere in that league.
The actual beach on Siesta Key is one of the best in the world. It's like walking on sugar. And there are plenty of good restaurants, daiquiri bars, and night life to occupy your time for a long weekend. I don't know that I would want to stay here for a week or more. Things might get cramped and boring pretty quickly.
On the whole, if you're looking for a four- or five-star vacation, I would avoid Siesta Key altogether. If you're looking for a lazy weekend with decent food, and if you have your own beach equipment, Siesta Key might be a great choice. Tropical Breeze is probably about is good as you'll find on the Key for anything less than a week. Three stars on this site mean "average", and that's how I would label TB. I saw lots of nice houses online and in the actual neighborhood, but they only rent by the week or month. If you're staying for at least a week, you can definitely find a nicer place (probably with a private pool) for a comparable (or better) price.
Long-story-short, TB is an average but adequate place with a central location to all Siesta Key activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WillVenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Tropical Breeze Resort. We stayed in the Beach Cottage which was adorable and perfect for two adults and one child (although two very young children might fit on the sleeper sofa). It was air conditioned (a must in Florida), had a full kitchen, fairly well stocked which would work for a longer term stay. The cottage is in a quiet neighborhood literally steps from the beach across one very quiet road. The beach is at the North end of Siesta Key so it's more private and less crowded than the main beach.

The cottage is farther away from the village than the main resort area, but still within a five minute walk. A grocery, ice cream shop, many restaurants and equipment rentals/excursions are all within easy walking distance. The resort includes three pools, several laundry rooms and bikes for rent.

The room came equipped with two beach chairs and fresh beach towels are available at the office. The bathroom was tiny and no frills but functional. My only suggestions or negative comments are that it is only comfortable viewing tv or relaxing on the 2 seater sofa. The other chair is an armless dining chair and not comfortable for sitting in more than 5 minutes. There are two bar stools at the kitchen counter but no table and chairs to eat at together. I would get rid of the desk and just add a table and four chairs to use as a desk and dining area. The coffee machine comes with prepackaged coffee pods that come in their own disposable filter holder. You can't rig these to create your own coffee and you only get two cups per day. The "grab and go breakfast" in the office is just coffee juice and pre-wrapped danishes like you might find at 7Eleven. We made our own breakfasts and had to go out for decent coffee. If you don't care what your coffee tastes like, you'll love the convenience of the provided pods and I'm sure more could be available if you asked.

The grounds are in the middle of being landscaped and should be quite pretty when it's done. There are crushed shells as ground cover everywhere to keep the amount of sand tracked in to a minimum. There are also a number of rooms being remodeled.

Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The beach cottage or beach houses are closest to the beach and much quieter than the main part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cpc94118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. All staff was wonderful. Sarah at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. The location was great. The housekeeping was great too. We all got a stomach bug and they did what we needed with a good attitude. We will come back here, although the resturants around weren't that great. We may drive to other places next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitneymorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
0.2 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.8 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#8 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Breeze Resort

Property: Tropical Breeze Resort
Address: 140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Breeze Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for Sarasota & Siesta Key Beach Resort and Property Rentals, the Tropical Breeze Resort on Siesta Key provides lodging on Siesta Key, within walking distance to both Siesta Key Beach, Voted the #2 beach in the world by Dr. Beach, and the Downtown Siesta Key Village area where all the dining, shopping, dessert, and entertainment on the key can be found. Choose from our unique accommodations featuring studios, one bedroom and two bedroom suites. We're also "pet friendly"! Call our office for additional information or questions regarding our properties. We now have single family home rentals as well!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Tropical Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Breeze Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing