We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location But Renovations Were A Hassle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Breeze Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Weekday Special
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location But Renovations Were A Hassle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

TBR is at the ideal spot at SK. It is perfectly placed between the beach and the restaurants/bars. No driving required. However, I was disappointed with the renovations being done. Mid way through our week long stay, the paver stones leading to our room and in front of our door were removed without any notification and made for a real mess when coming back from the beach (wet sand and mud). After notifying the front desk and speaking with facilities, the contractor doing the stone work came back and laid a few pavers down so we at least had a walkway. But when we returned to our room later that evening after dinner, the pavers had been picked up again. Facilities had to re-lay the stones at 12:30 that night. I was disappointed that this renovation work was being done during our stay. From our check-in, we should have been put in a room away from this type of work. Additionally, both the bedroom door and closet door were broken and off their hinges. Not that big of a deal since we spent most of our time at the beach, but still a hassle to deal with for a week-long stay. Regarding the wi-fi, although it was free it was very spotty. It really only worked in one part of the room. So while nice to have, it was difficult to use the service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort. We continually work on upgrading the resort for our guests. With Siesta Key being such a beautiful beach destination, it's always a challenge to schedule any renovations. However, we never want to inconvenience our guests and I am truly sorry that these landscaping improvements were a disruption. I hope that you will stay with us again when making plans to visit Siesta Key. I can assure you all renovations will be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    169
    57
    41
    33
See reviews for
193
222
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at the Tropical Breeze for 4 days. Before arriving the staff decorated my room for my birthday with balloons, happy birthday sign, and two bottles of wine that my sister shipped to them. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in 5 HOURS early (who does that these days?)

I stayed in a standard room with a king bed (Room 111) and it was absolutely perfect for what I needed. It had plenty of space for my sister and I with a full size Frig, flat screen TV, very nice bathroom, seperate room for a dresser with a clothes rack, iron & ironing board, and 2 complimentary beach chairs for us to use free of charge, also a microwave with a full length of cabinets for oodles of storage.

Location couldn't have been better, we were walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, and most importantly the beach. I personnally loved the all the shells and the landscaping on the property. Why would you walk around barefoot anyway when there are shells everywhere. Landscaping was beautiful in my opinion. I will say that I wasn't impressed with the size of the 3 pools, but I spent my time in the open water so it wasn't a big issue for me. They also had very large BBQ grills all throughout the resort and I loved the huts you could sit under and just chill out with a drink and talk to other guests.

I do wish they had more choices for the breakfast, (for example boiled eggs would have been nice or donuts). If you like lobster, check out the Lobster Pot, the bartender Tony is wonderful and the food is very tasty as well. It is located maybe a block away from the resort. And the Strawberry Daiquiri Deck has 2 for 1 drinks from 3-7 daily. Yummy!!

I can't say enough good things about the staff, they went out of their way to make my birthday unforgettable with the help of my lovely sister. They were always friendly when I called and always smiled.

I most definitely plan on returning and the staff mentioned they give discounts to returning customers so that is even more of reason to go back. I have great memories of Siesta Key thanks to the staff at Tropical Breeze Resort, I can't wait to be able to go back.

Room Tip: Room 111 if you are looking to stay in a standard room with a king bed. It is attached to the offic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARVOE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We were so pleased that you had such a nice birthday when staying with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort. We had a lot of fun decorating your room before your arrival. It was so nice of your sister to go to such great lengths to send us everything for your special day. Please come back and see us again, hopefully before your next birthday! Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We love Tropical Breeze Resort. You cannot beat the location. There are plenty of various room needs to choose from. This is our second stay there. Our room this time was adequate although it needs some minor attention, I would stay again. I do believe the staff was overwhelmed over a holiday beach weekend during Sunday room turnovers, but that will not keep us from not returning. The prices are reasonable and the location is perfect. If you want 5 star pay for 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimH20141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This was a great location for its price but that was about it. The regular rooms were very small. The exterior looks very unkempt. Te landscaping was horrible for bare feet especially when the ocean is only a block away- broken shells! Geeze.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We have many different room types, maybe a one bedroom suite would better suit your needs in the future; they feature a separate bedroom and full kitchen. I didn't read any specifics about service, so I can't really respond except to say that I am truly sorry if our staff was less than outstanding. Our goal is for complete guest satisfaction. Being near the beach comes with shells, unfortunately we can't get away from them. We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Tropical Breeze was the perfect place for our beach vacation. Our room was clean, comfortable and the fully operating kitchen was a definite plus. The location of the hotel is unbelievable- 1 block from the main street of Siesta Key, and 2 blocks from the beach. We were able to stroll throughout the neighborhood at our leisure and never even touched our car. Their bicycle rentals are wonderful! I highly recommend renting bikes!

I cant wait to go back to Siesta Key!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here many times and absolutely recommend it. Nice large rooms with plenty of amenities. Some rooms have lanais and the resort is a short walk from the water. Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We thank you so much for being loyal guests at the Tropical Breeze Resort. We appreciate your comments and your continued business. We look forward to your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend at Tropical Breeze for our anniversary from Tampa. Our one bedroom cottage was perfect and just steps away from the beach. The staff helped us when needed but some were more friendly than others. Great getaway!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lshadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
2.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
0.2 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.8 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#8 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Breeze Resort

Property: Tropical Breeze Resort
Address: 140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#6 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Breeze Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for Sarasota & Siesta Key Beach Resort and Property Rentals, the Tropical Breeze Resort on Siesta Key provides lodging on Siesta Key, within walking distance to both Siesta Key Beach, Voted the #2 beach in the world by Dr. Beach, and the Downtown Siesta Key Village area where all the dining, shopping, dessert, and entertainment on the key can be found. Choose from our unique accommodations featuring studios, one bedroom and two bedroom suites. We're also "pet friendly"! Call our office for additional information or questions regarding our properties. We now have single family home rentals as well!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Tropical Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Breeze Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing