We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!”

Miguel's Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 42 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Although Miguel's is in a strip mall the atmosphere was lovely.
The wait staff was excellent, professional and humorous. It was a very busy night but staff handled it well. Three in our party had a wonderful French onion soup and a salad made table side. All of our entrees were excellent, from fish, duck and veal. I highly recommend Miguel's for anyone who would like to have a great meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    114
    48
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Why haven't we been to this restaurant before now?”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went tonight after having lived 7 years in Siesta Key and having never been here before. We visited with our friends who are very critical of Italian food. All 4 of us had fabulous meals. The place was very busy but our server Sean was fantastic. We never felt rushed but always could get his attention if needed. During high season, a reservation is highly recommended. The prices were decent - not cheap but not expensive. We spent too much on alcolhol, but that was our problem. Overall, I think this is the best Italian restaurant in the area. We will definitely visit there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbo_SRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very good food - extremely noisy”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We hadn't been here in years, but saw a groupon and since Miguels has a very good reputation we purchased it. Our Groupon wasn't good on Holidays and Miguels considered Valentines to be a holiday so we went on 2/13. I'm glad I made a reservation as every table was full and tables turned over more than once in the evening. The staff was jumping to keep up. Given the amount of work they had, the service was surprisingly good.
Now for the food - We were presented with a lovely amuse bouche of pate and cheese along with garlic bread. We shared an escargot appetizer which was heavy on the garlic but quite delicious. We each had the special - black grouper oscar style - which was cooked to perfection with crisp asparagus, rice timbrale and some other nice veggies. Entrees come with salad. We were too full to have desert.
Wine - we intended to order wine by the glass, but their selection by the glass was extremely limited. When we asked we were told only the varietal name. When we asked for more specifics on the selection, i.e. vineyards, the waiter said we would not be happy with the wine by the glass since we knew enough to inquire about the vineyard and brought us the full winelist. The first wine we ordered, a spanish cava, was not available. The waiter suggested another cava at the same price which we rejected. He consulted with the owner and brought a 3rd wine which was acceptable though they were charging $30 for a $7 retail bottle.
Ambiance - The decor is old fashioned dark panel with spanish plates and paintings covering most wall surfaces. The owner is from Malaga. Tables are close together and your can clearly hear the other conversations. This is not an elegant decor and could use an updating.
We would return to Miguels but not during season when it is so crowded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francescina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Urgh... buyer beware”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

So, we got the Groupon for this place. We ended up being told (even after CHECKING on the phone month prior with the staff) that we could not use the Groupon because it was Valentine's Day. Apparently, that is a national holiday now. Anyhow, we were there, so we stayed, much to the dismay of our unattentive and horrible waitress. The food, if you have even eaten in France, has really little or nothing to do with French food. Its more like Early bird portions of what SHOULD be French food, minus the quality. To add to our wonderful night, the wine we wanted was "not available", so we had to upgrade to the next option, of course, at our cost. Avoid this place like the plague. Based on prices and reviews, you would think it is good, but the reality says otherwise. Very dissapointing, especially on Valentine's Day. Oh, and the restaurant is so small, that you are going to feel like you are eating on top of other people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mali_Urke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not great food or service”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were so excited to try it, but that's where the excitement ended. When we arrived we were seated at a table, and were not noticed for the first 5-10 minutes, then finally someone came over and asked if we would like to order a bottle of wine? (with what? we hadn't been given a wine list or anything), and when we told him so and he brought the wine list, it didn't give any single glass options. Finally we were able to order a house glass of red, which was not bad. Through all this we hadn't seen a waiter, though someone did drop off a plate with what tasted like liverwurst and cream cheese. I am a pate connaisseur, and I know this was supposed to be pate, but it really tasted like inexpensive store bought pate/liverworst. We were disappointed again. Also, the bread that came with the pate was extremely greasy. The decor in the place is also a bit odd, many strange porcelin chandeliers and medeival looking candlestick chandeliers. Can't tell if they're trying for a French decor, old Spanish decor, or old antique store refuse decor...We did order the onion soup which was good. That was the highlight of the meal. Finally the main course: the mussels were not very good - first of all almost half of my mussels were bad - they tasted and smelled spoiled. So that I ended up being able to eat only half my meal. Then the broth with the mussels was so acidic it was almost difficult to eat. Now I see they mention mustard seeds, but it was way over the top. I've had mussels prepared many different ways in France and here, and I have never tasted such an acidic broth. The "frites" that come with the mussels are actually potato chip slivers, which are extremely greasy again and do not taste fresh. I suspect they were also store bought (tasted like those old Andy Capp potato chip slivers). The salad was odd as well - meals come with salad, but mine was all iceberg and my husbands was all dark greens and for the very small amount of actual salad greens on the plate, the amount of salad dressing plopped on top was surprising. My husband's seafood vent was not very good either. The shrimp didn't taste right and there was an overwhelming taste of saffron or sherry - hard to place but really didn't do the meal justice. The salmon didn't taste fresh either. We told the waiter about the seafood not being fresh and he said he was so sorry, he'd make it up to us, but instead promptly brought us the dessert menus and "would we like to order a drink or coffee?" No thanks, we made for the exit. We won't be going back. Sorry Miguel's, but for such a pricey meal, I expect good, fresh food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 7Travelgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miguel's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing