We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captiva Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
Reviewed July 3, 2006

First, I must say that Siesta Key and the Sara Sea Circle complex of condos is absolutely beautiful and the beach is amazing! However, the Captiva Beach Resort was the worse place I have ever stayed due to the arrogance and rudeness of the owner, Robert. We decided to take a short getaway from the East Coast of Florida for the weekend and came across the Captiva through this site. The reviews on this site were very misleading (the ones that say Robert is very nice). By first talking to Robert on the phone to book the room, he was very short and not "welcoming." We only stayed two nights and got to stay in 2 different rooms due to Robert's mistake of double-booking our room the second night. After checking in late Friday night, we were approached by Robert early Sat. morning and he told us we had to move. So, we ended up having to move our unpacked clothes and toiletries next door to another room. Robert didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. And, to top it all off we had to check-out at 9:30 a.m. on Sunday. He said that he had someone checking in, which was not true, because we went to the beach until noon that day and I didn't see anyone in that room. Feeling that maybe I was over-reacting about Robert, I asked a local person in the same resort area and my opinion was confirmed. The individual said (among many other things that I can not write) that he is a very disgruntled man. Now I know why there were vacancies on a busy 4th of July weekend at Captiva Beach Resort, especially with the powerboat races going on that weekend, as well.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank minno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    108
    47
    35
    27
See reviews for
142
169
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

My husband and I vacationed here from June 7th through the 12th. We stayed in room #31 (Robert's Retreat). First of all, we arrived after hours, but Robert was there to greet us upon arrival (we gave him an estimate of our arrival time). We checked in quickly with no problems. We were surprised to find a large bowl of fresh fruit (canteloupe, apples, bananas, peaches, pears, grapes) as a welcome to our room.
We also found a bottle of orange juice in the fridge. The kitchen was well stocked with pretty much anything we needed; plenty of pots and pans, utensils, towels, potholders, dishes and dishsoap. There was a dishwasher, which we did not use for just the two of us. There was a full size fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. Everything was clean and worked well. The bathroom was very clean....something I am very picky about. There was enough room for two of us. There is not a full bathtub which was fine for us but might make it difficult for families with toddlers who still take tub baths. The shower was clean with no mold or broken tiles. There was always plenty of hot water and great water pressure. There was plenty of drawer space for our belongings in the bathroom. It was also stocked with plenty of towels for the two of us. When we needed clean towels, we just set them out and the staff replaced them. A previous reviewer complained that they had to place the empty toilet paper roll outside to get a replacement. That is true, however, there is a spare roll in the bathroom so it's not like you would have to hold off on using the toilet until the roll was replaced. I think most resorts like this where there is not daily housekeeping follow the same procedures for towels and toilet paper. Not a big deal. We had no trouble with bugs in our room....a big change from our last vacation in Florida. There was a tv in the living area and one in the bedroom both with more channels than anyone could watch. There was plenty of drawer space and closet space (a large one in the living room and a small one in the corner of the bedroom). The air conditioning worked great and there was also a ceiling fan in the living area. There was a large dining table that could seat 4. We used it more as a desk for the laptop (no problems with the internet connection at all). We also rented beach chairs and an umbrella from the resort rather than rent from the supplier on the beach (cheaper at the resort). There were beach towels available in our room. We did not use the pool or spend much time in the common area because we enjoyed sitting on the beach so much. We did check out the grounds and everything was well cared for and clean. There is also a washer and dryer unit with a hanging clothes line behind some of the units at the resort. We did not use any of that so can't really say how well it worked. Robert was also kind enough to print off our boarding passes for our departing flight...something we were very gratefull for (anybody flying Southwest will understand why). The room was just the right size for the two of us and we decided that it would work well for an additional 2 more people. Anything beyond that would be crowded. The couch does fold out as a bed but we didn't try it out for comfort. We liked that all rooms were ground floor. We would definately stay at Captiva again. In addition to the resort being so clean and well equipped, it was close to the beach with a private access for residents of a group of resorts on Sarasea Circle. Others included were Sea Club V, Conclare, Tropical Sun and Tropical Shores, Sara Sea and Capri International. A few of these places were undergoing serious remodels during our stay. They all looked like nice places to stay but I didn't see the insides of the rooms. The sand on the beach was even better than we imagined. The resort is located on the southern portion of Siesta Key and appears to have more landscaping than the northern portion and seems more private. Siesta Key Village and the larger resorts/condos are to the north and is more of a business district along with the public beach area. We prefer the more private and secluded area than the Siesta Key Village area. We spent hours walking along the shore collecting shells. The gulf water was a gorgeous blue and the sunsets were incredible. We also spotted a dolphin swimming along the coast on more than one occasion. We would choose this beach over any other in Florida. There were plenty of places to eat on Siesta Key as well. We enjoyed breakfast at The Broken Egg and the Village Cafe. We also ate dinner at The Old Salty Dog and at Captain Curt's. Both places were good. There are several restaraunts on 41 as well. Most of these places are national chains if you aren't in the mood for local flavor. There are grocery stores on Siesta Key but we didn't shop there. There are also grocery stores along 41/Tamiami Tr. I can't stress enough how impressed we were with the area and with Captiva Resort. Robert has a well managed and friendly staff. There are rules at the resort, but I wouldn't stay at a place that didn't have these rules. We are dreaming of the day we can return! Thanks to Robert and the Captiva staff for providing us with a wonderful, relaxing, much needed vacation!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mommy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2006

First let me say that the beaches on Siesta Key are beautiful. White soft sands with beautiful water. We found Siesta Key as a whole to be very remote. Very few restaurants, and very few things to do. The hotel Captiva Beach Resort was clean. The innkeepers were nice as well. However the rooms were outdated and very, very small. I think I could lay in bed and touch one wall to the other. The walls were so thin, we could hear the man next door snore all night. In fact it was so loud, it keep us up. No maid service and if you wanted additional towels, you had to lay your used towels outside the night before. Clean towels would come the next day. The really "cheap" ordeal of the hotel was the toilet tissue. Once a roll was used to get another you had to put the cardboard center outside with the used towels to get a new roll. Only then would a replacement roll be given. My husband and I have traveled alot and would not go back to this hotel again. We felt like we stepped back to the '70's. Sorry!

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank ossi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 26, 2005

Captiva Beach Resort met all of our expectations and we will certainly recommend this lovely spot of Florida to our friends and family. What you need to know:

-CLEAN. By far one of the cleanest accommodations we have ever had.
-FRIENDLY. Robert and Linda are there to make sure you have a wonderful holiday.
-LOVELY. If you don't believe us, check out our pictures.
-CONVENIENT. Within walking distance of restaurants, rentals, grocery stores, drug stores, specialty shops, and liquor store (margaritas anyone?)!
-SIESTA BEACH...awaits you. Captiva is located on a private beach. Beautiful sunsets, fabulous blue skies, and spectacular white sand.

So when you head to the Siesta Keys, make sure you choose the Captiva Beach Resort as your destination.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2005

If you are looking for a relaxing, casual, vacation Siesta Key is the place. The Captiva Beach Resort is very clean, close to the beach, and the grounds are lush, tropical, and well-kept. The rooms are small in accord with the date that the beach resort was bulit, but for the most part this place is a no-brainer. The staff is helpful and direct, rules and expectations are well defined and reasonable. This is a great place for families, couples, or seniors. THIS IS NOT A PLACE FOR COLLEGE KIDS OR SPRING BREAKERS! I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank loncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2005

My husband and I stayed at this resort a few weeks ago. The place is kept nicely, the rooms were spotless and the Innkeepers were very nice. I had read some reviews about "rules" but we had no problems. We definately will stay at Captiva Resort again. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank exe455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 18, 2005

My daughter and I had an awesome stay here! We plan to come back with the rest of the family sometime soon! We enjoyed Robert's fun and outgoing personality. We stayed in Jane's Junction and it was very, very clean and was plenty big enough for us. We loved the big walkin closet and furnished kitchen. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
0.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,300 reviews
2.6 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.8 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Beach Resort

Property: Captiva Beach Resort
Address: 6772 Saras Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captiva Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Beach Resort on beautiful Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is a 19-Room quaint boutique hotel which has been around since the 1950's. Its long heritage and proximity to the USA's #1 Rated Beach as Voted by TRIP ADVISOR in 2017, has kept people coming back for years on end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captiva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing