We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captiva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captiva Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Captiva beach resort during the second week of June. The weather was great many things to do (sailing,beach, pool, night light) the staff was super, Big Show and Side Show were the best, greeted us with welcoming hospitality, made sure our room was kept very clean fresh towels everyday. The room had a new looking decor that made the place very comfortable. Outside was very beautiful and kept up to maintenance.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 13 would want to stay in room 29 or 32 for big families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Jeff d Thank you for sharing your review. So glad the room was accommodating and comfortable. We hope you will come back and stay at the Captiva in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    92
    40
    31
    23
See reviews for
120
137
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had 3 rooms at this hotel for two nights. The rooms were nice and renovated. But the staff, specially the cleaning supervisor, had an horrible attitude our room was not cleaned after the first night and when we came back from the beach at 3pm and saw that the rooms were not cleaned we spoke with the office guy who called the cleaning supervisor. She referred to my husband as "this man," asked us how many more night we were staying and when I told her one she said "WOOOOOWWW!!!" Like she was doing us a favor to clean the rooms for just one night. Then she proceeded to tell us what she was going to do in our rooms...She was JUST going to take the garbage out and do the beds, nothing else. And the office guy didn't do much about it. This lady has no business in hospitality. What an attitude!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christy1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
christy1312 Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize the way housekeeping dealt with your request. We hope your previous stay has not deterred you from staying at Captiva in the future. If you return to Siesta Key please call and we can negotiate a suitable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwin, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We are in the middle of our third week here in as many years ... and it is better than ever ! They are remodeling rooms each year and upgrading the courtyard. "The Big Show" and Erin are wonderful staff and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Many restaurants close, a 7-Eleven across the street, night clubs within walking distance ... it doesn't get much better !! Quaint and comfortable !!! The Simmons from Michigan

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2014
Thank you, Dick S for sharing your review. Glad you enjoyed the remodeled room. We hope to see you return to Captiva in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

First of all, Crescent Beach is one of the nicest places to spend a week - well, at least it was a couple years ago. The resorts at Sara Sea Circle were quaint, quiet, and the beach USE to be uncrowded. Now, it seems that people come to the complex during the day, park in hotel renter's spots, and walk down to the beach. It was OVER CROWDED there every day. The sand is still powdery and cool, and the water is still clear, filled with aquatic life. That is the redeeming factor of this beach.

Specifically about the hotel, the room was very nice and the maintenance guy was very friendly. Well, everybody was friendly. Upon our arrival, around 7:00pm, there was a LARGE party in the courtyard of the hotel, right outside our room. Drinking, loud folks and the smell of reefer from time to time. It got to be 9:30, and the sound was still loud, so I asked the guy in the office what time quiet time was, and he said, "10:00pm. I'll tell them." At 12:30am, my one daughter had couldn't sleep and went out to ask them to quiet down, of which they did for the most part. This repeated for 3 nights, and each time, the hotel personnel said, "we told them..."

On the 4th night, it was quiet. 6th and 7th, the party came back. Almost all of the cars in the lot were from Sarasota county, and they left after the party ended...

About the room -we had the 2 bedroom suite, and it was pretty nice - marble tile floors, walk in showers, stainless kitchen, new faucets, flat screen TVs, etc. It was a bit small, for a 2 bedroom, but very nice. The AC worked like a charm, and the room was clean. The beds were not very comfortable, and at this price per night, I would expect Stearns & Foster or Tempur Pedic beds...

Linens were all clean and there were plenty. Sheets and blankets were soft, and the only downside was a cigarette burn in our comforter.

The pool - which is shared with the other hotels (OK in my book) - was always packed. There were 2 carloads of people that drove in with Sarasota plates EVERY DAY and filled the pool with about 10 LOUD non-English speaking folks. At the end of the day, they got in their cars and left. They always parked in the overflow lot at Captiva. That was kind of annoying - loud, pitchy, annoying people....

Overall, it was an OK stay, but I would have to say that I would probably not stay again, especially since I had informed the office help about the issues 4 times, and nothing was done. At one point, I asked to speak with a manager, and he just said, "uh, I don't think they'll be here today or tomorrow."

This hotel and location has SUCH potential. I wouldn't give it a solid thumbs up or thumbs down.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0hioSteve0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
OhioSteve0 thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the noise from the other guests. Glad you enjoyed and were happy with the cleanliness and updates of the room. We hope you will give Captiva another try. If, in the future you do choose to return, please call and we will discuss a suitable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is not the most modern hotel. However, it is walking distance to the beach on a small road/path within the Sarasea Circle enclave of hotels. You have access to the beach and to a pool. The rooms are outdated but include what you need, bed, shower, fridge, stove, big screen TV and WiFi. Best of all, the rates are very reasonable. We've stayed in a couple of the hotels within the enclave and both were of the same ilk, outdated but convenient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handslol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
handslol Thank you for your review. Yes, our rooms are old Florida style and most resorts in the Circle are the same. We hope to see you return to Captiva in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We only stayed 2 nights, is somewhat outdated, although the said they had remodeled this year, maybe other rooms but not ours. From other reviews I have read it does not even sound like the same place. They never cleaned our room even after we left the tag on the door for maid service, the second day we had no clean towels and no coffee for the pot. I went to the office, all he said was that he was going to look into it and gave me 2 bags of coffee for the morning. Also they did not have a hair dryer in the bathroom. On the pro side the WI-FI worked excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylrin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Sylrin45 Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for your room not having any service. The hair dryers we keep at the front office, in the past when dryers were in rooms they have gone missing. If you forget to pack any toiletries always check with the front office and we will accommodate you the best we can. We hope to see you stay at Captiva in your future visits to Siesta Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My family and I keep coming back to The Captiva Beach Resort in Siesta Key, Florida. We absolutely love this place! They always take care of us here! We will continue to stay here again and again! Our room is so clean and so elegant! Another reason we keep coming back is because of The Big Show and her trusty side-kick, Side Show! We just love them so much!!! The Big Show goes out of her way to make us feel so welcome and to keep everything nice and neat! We are one lucky family to have found The Captiva Beach Resort! They are our now a part of our family, as well! Can't wait to go back next year!!! This place is a must, everyone!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonBaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
ShannonBaby1 Thank you for sharing your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff. We are excited to be apart of your family and we look forward to seeing you again at Captiva Beach Resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
0.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,022 reviews
2.6 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#8 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Beach Resort

Property: Captiva Beach Resort
Address: 6772 Sarasea Cir, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2521
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captiva Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Captiva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing