We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I was looking for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captiva Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 3 girls and I enjoyed our stay. The value of the Captiva is worth the trip from GA to Sarasota. The Big Show and rest of the staff... Very sweet! Comfortable, clean and kitchen is equipped. We walked to the beach via private path 3 mins time every morning. They provide u w a map of the area, Papaya brand toiletries and extra towels. Grill and pool on site.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Jessica F, Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that your family had such a good time. The Staff really does strive to make sure each guest receives the guest services that they deserve. I will make sure to give our team a pat on the back. The Captiva Beach Resort really is in a perfect location. I am glad that you and your family were able to explore our beautiful sun kissed beach. We do thank you again, and we hope to see you sometime in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    109
    50
    34
    27
See reviews for
143
173
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
naples fl
Level Contributor
330 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I had a nice weekend at The Captiva motel. Yes, "resort" would be a stretch as it is a 60's style motel. Drive right up to your room if someone hasn't taken your assigned spot. Parking is ridiculous there, and it was amusing watching the front desk clerk try to sort things out when a car parked in the wrong space and the owners could not be found. Stayed 2 nights and no room service. Had to go to the front desk to get a clean set of towels. Shower drain clogged so dirty water up to my ankles. Told the front desk the first day and they said they'd make a note of it but nothing done.

Yes you do have a coffee maker in your room, but bring your own coffee and fixings, they don't provide anything. One of the workers, "The Big Show," was very helpful and a pleasure to speak with, but to many annoyances with the room to rate it better than average. Beach is a short walk away and bring your own chairs as I believe guest have to rent them. Might go back, the price was right, but manage expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Mrfuni, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our Resort is a bit older, but I am happy that you were still able to appreciate its unique charm. We truly do appreciate your comments and will be sure to let upper management know your thoughts on our guest parking. I am pleased to hear that you will be one of our return guests, and we look forward to impressing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in Room 29 which was a 2 bedroom unit, one bedroom had king size bed with tv and closet and another bedroom was smaller but had a queen size bed. There was a nice size kitchen as soon as you walk in to your left and then a nice size living room/dining room area. The bathroom was bit small for sharing with ~4 people, but it was fine. Shower water pressure was top notch and hot water did no run out. The place was very clean and the beds were very comfy.

There was seating outside the unit in a small courtyard, which was nice. The walk was less than 5 minutes to the beach. There is also pool nearby.

There is parking for one car per unit. Within walking distance there is a 7/11, drugstore, and a few places to eat, but overall you will need a car to get to siesta key village, or you can take the free (tips only) taxi.

My only complaint is that the resort charges a rental fee for umbrellas and beach loungers. Overall a fantastic stay. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAT3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
KAT3715, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your glowing review. I am so happy to hear that your overall stay was fantastic. Our home sweet home room 29 really is spacious, and has everything you could possibly need during your stay. The housekeeping team really does do their best to keep our resort looking beautiful and clean. The courtyard seating really is a nice touch, and I that you were able to explore the key while you were here. We do thank you for being our guests and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a great couple of days. Our room was very tidy and big enough for our needs. The staff was very very helfpul and friendly. Especially Eryn did a great job and helped us a lot! Hope we can come back soon!

Regards from Germany!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Georg L, Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay. The Captiva Beach Resort has a large variety of different room types, and I am pleased that you were able to find the one that fit your needs. The staff really does go out of their way to make sure each guest has a good time. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We couldn't say enough good things about our stay. The gorgeous powdery beach was a short walk through pretty landscaped grounds, the pool was lovely, plus the room was clean & comfortable! Had everything you needed. We would also like to add that Erin at the Front Desk, was so helpful right from the start..from our reservation itself, then throughout our stay....nothing was too much trouble for her. We has a great time and will definitely be returning!

Ron & Sharon
West Chester, Pa

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Sharon N, Thank you so much for your warm review. Im glad that the Captiva Beach Resort was able to be a part of your amazing getaway. The soft powder sand, luscious green landscaping, and clear blue water really do set the tone for a perfect vacation. The addition of the heated pool and our charming rooms definitely does not hurt either. Thank you so much for being our get, and we can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is a short walk from 2 pools and the ocean. The landscaping was beautiful, but the rooms could use a little work. We stayed in Unit 12, and it needs some major renovation. The bathroom was microscopic. The shower was all of 2ft by 2ft and the water pressure was horrible. You only have about a foot of space to get to the toilet, between the vanity and the wall leaves little room. I can see how some people would have a lot of trouble even accessing the toilet. There were holes in the wall from where the headboard should have been. The employees were rude, not every employee was rude, but at least 2 seemed not happy to be there. And they charge for beach chairs. When you pay that much for a room, the chairs should be included. Their website says 'chairs no charge' but it does not make a distinction for which are free and which are rental. The room was not ready on time and the 'assigned' parking is a joke, it's really just every man for himself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Kc, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. First I would like to apologies for the incidents, and the certain employees that you encounter during your stay. I will be sure to let upper management know, and we will remind them the importance of our guest services. You our guests are our number one priority. We truly do appreciate your comments and are grateful that you shared your stay with us. We will use this as a growing experience and we do hope that if you are ever our guest again that we will be able to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mberga25
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Captiva . Although a little outdated, our room was clean, we were close to the beach, and the price was right. Our only complaint is that they charge for the use of their beach chairs - that is just so second class. Chairs should be included for the guests, not an extra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mberga25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Mberga25, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to that you were satisfied with you stay at Captiva Beach Resort. We do appreciate your comments and will be sure to let upper management know your thoughts about the beach chairs. Thank you again for being our guest. We do hope that if you are in Siesta Key again that you will choose Captiva Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
2.6 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
473 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Beach Resort

Property: Captiva Beach Resort
Address: 6772 Sarasea Cir, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captiva Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Beach Resort on beautiful Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is a 19-Room quaint boutique hotel which has been around since the 1950's. Its long heritage and proximity to the USA's #1 Rated Beach as Voted by TRIP ADVISOR in 2017, has kept people coming back for years on end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Captiva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing