We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 nights in room 31”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captiva Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“6 nights in room 31”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When we arrived there was sea grass everywhere. The beach was a mess! But it cleared up daily. Monday and Tuesday this week the beach looks cleaner than we've seen it. The water is still not as clear as to be expected and today it is overcast. The hotel Captiva Beach Resort has friendly staff for the most part. Two bright spots are the housekeeping staff Denise and the Big Show. They have been wonderful, telling us of restaurants and bringing us clean towels and the like. Our room is pretty great. We have a separate bedroom with a King size bed. There is a pull out queen soa in the living area, which we did not use as a bed. Two tv's....one in the living room and one in the bedroom. We had a separate dining table and a separate small kitchen. Should we come back to Captiva, I would like to have the exact same room. We had plenty of space. Thank you Denise especially for your hospitality, smile and recommendations for the area.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    113
    51
    34
    29
See reviews for
150
179
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Captiva Beach Resort and absolutley LOVED IT! We drove down spontaneously from Tampa for the day and stumbled upon this adorable resort within steps to the beautiful beaches of Siest Key. First off I must say its gorgeous here and we are familiar with the area pretty well however, had not stayed at this particualr spot. When we stopped to see if there was any vacancy we immediatley were greeted with extraordianry service. The 2 ladies at the front desk were so down to earth, honest, funny, and extremely accommodating. We instantly wanted to stay.. upon receiving such a warm welcome. The prices were reasonable and rooms were SO ADORABLE!!! We actually ended up staying a second night and will definitley come back to them everytime we visit Siesta! Its nice to see smiling faces, clean rooms, and as always one of the most gorgeous beaches in the world.

Ashley and Matt :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful get away! We loved everything about the resort. Our room, the beach it was all perfect. The staff (Will andSandy) were VERY nice and helpful. They helped make our visit perfect. We will be back soon and have recommended Captiva Beach Resort to our friends.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Douglasbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have stayed here several times this year and even recommended it to a friend for a wedding. The managment of this hotel makes sure you are happy and all your needs are met.
The staff is so friendly and sweet at all times. They are steps away just in case you need anything. They are well informed on the area and have great options to offer.

Whatever they are doing to run this hotel they should bottle it because it works.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just checked out today after 5 days of the best vacation I've had in eons. My boyfriend and I stayed here at The Captiva and we would recommend it to anyone. The resort is situated on Sarasea Circle amongst a select few other quaint hotels. The vibe is relaxing, tropical and best of all very beachy. 

The hotel itself is a true gem. Sandy, Sabrina and Will (front desk/greeters/information guru's) are A+. Always a smile. Good advice on eats, entertainment and local hangouts were spot on. Beth and Gary, the Owner's are also incredible. I believe they acquired the hotel not too long ago and you can tell they are working hard and fast to update the space (although, everything was already super nice to start with) but they are none the less making a great place ever greater. :). 

We stayed in the Escape 2 room and I highly recommend. Sure it's not huge but it was perfect for the two of us and how long does one stay in the room anyway... I mean, we came to do the beach, not dally in a room. It had 2 super comphy queen beds. Clean, updated linens and duvet and had a full kitchen to boot! We opted out of housekeeping since we didn't need it, we're not slobs but I can tell you that "the Big Show" (housekeeping extrordinaire) and Denise (who always has a smile and kind words) were right there should we have needed them. They are, I believe, one of the resorts best assets. 

The grounds were tropical. Lush and the walk to the beach was even shorter than it appears on the website. I'm talking less than 3mins. And what a nice walk it was too. Tree lined with Florida tropical plants. It made the short walk even more of a treat. And the beach.... Holy moley, it was absolutely the best! Not crowded. Sugar sand and I'd say it had the best shelling on the west coast of Florida! We picked Siesta for the location and what we saw in the pictures online and we were not disappointed. And believe it or not, the best snorkeling that I've ever had the chance to do. The beach and water has these incredible rocks that you normally never see in Florida. Like an artificial reef. You could snorkel way out at high tide and view fish you normally only see in fish tanks! I grew up in Florida and this was by far the clearest, cleanest water I've been in. 

Our advice.... Skip the big hotel chains and stay here.

Room Tip: Escape 2. Clean. Quiet. Roomy. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have to share... In the 3 days we've been here.... We LOVE it! The resort. Sarasea Circle, the people caring for us here at the hotel, the room.... Everything! I'll write an even more in depth detailed review from my PC but til then, just know that we'd never stay anywhere else down here. :) Jus say'n. A+++++!

Room Tip: #14 :). But they all great. Very homey, family feel. Love. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ksand1536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Rooms were clean. Location was easy. Basic hotel ..... But easy and nice for a day orb two in siesta key.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Palms of Siesta
Twin Palms of Siesta
#9 of 12 in Siesta Key
22 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Siesta Key
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Beach Resort

Property: Captiva Beach Resort
Address: 6772 Sarasea Cir, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captiva Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Beach Resort on beautiful Siesta Key in Sarasota, Florida is a 19-Room quaint boutique hotel which has been around since the 1950's. Its long heritage and proximity to the USA's #1 Rated Beach as Voted by TRIP ADVISOR in 2017, has kept people coming back for years on end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Captiva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing