We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the atmosphere”
Review of LeLu Coffee Lounge

LeLu Coffee Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: LeLu Coffee Lounge is a coffee shop, bar, and restaurant all in one. We are a retro, surf inspired cafe serving coffee from around the world, Cuban Coffee, Cafe con Leche, Fresh Fruit Smoothies, Hot, Iced or Blended Lattes, Fresh Brewed Iced Teas, a wide selection of Hot Teas, Coffee free Frappes, Handmade Sodas, and Fresh Squeezed Lemonade. We have a full breakfast menu featuring our Costa Rican, Stuffed Blueberry & Mascarpone French Toast, Egg White Power Omelette's, Breakfast Samiches, and all the traditional menu items you would want. We also have a lunch/dinner/small plates menu featuring our Cuban with Black Beans & Rice & Sweet Plantains, Blue Burger Sliders, Baha Fish Tacos, Mahi Sliders, and a Fresh Grilled Fish Selection with Veggies and Rice. You can also find specialty cocktails such as the Espresso Martini & Chocolate Martini, our signature Strawberry Basiltini & Mango Basiltini, and Margarita's made with Fresh Lime Juice and Agave. We have a Boutique Wine list and serve bottled beer as well. Want to try surfing or paddle boarding? We have those too, for rent or for sale! There is something for all ages and walks of life at LeLu. We can host parties large or small, catered or not, any time of the day or night.
Sarasota, F
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The breakfasts are good there. A regular egg sandwich comes with potatoes too good to ignore. The best part of the place is the atmosphere which is a reason to bring family. Good food and a real feel of a beach eatery.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Siesta_Key_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    83
    23
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE customer service from the OWNER”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We came across this place to have breakfast while waiting for the rest of the people to arrive for our stay-cation. A total of 11 girls tricked in bit by bit. We all talked and enjoyed some mimosas and breakfast until we asked for the check. The waitress informed us that for parties over FOUR people, the OWNER will not allow checks to be split up. We basically were told that all 11 of us would need to pay our large bill with one card. This information would have been helpful when the four of us who were there first let our waitress know that we are awaiting others. We thought it was a joke. Most of the girls at the table have previously waitressed at one point in time and we all know that splitting a check is completely normal for a large table. We then asked the waitress for process of our items since we were only given one menu and we needed to figure out how to get our bill paid on one check. The waitress quoted prices and then we realized these drink prices were completely different from the prices on the menu we were given. We were told that we were charged based on what the bartender made us and that the menu is old. We requested to pay the menu prices for obvious reasons. After the waitress and a fellow waitress took turns going back and forth from our table to calling the owner, we were told that the owner is on her way to resolve our issues and we need to wait for her to get here. About 15 minutes later the owner arrived not ready to resolve an issue with her business etiquette but ready to pick a fight. We were asked what our problem is and when we tried to explain the menu price issue and the terrible situation of not being able to split up a check we were rudely interrupted with snide comments and attitude. The owner let us know that she cannot afford to print new menus and that there is a sign when you walk into the front door (1 of 4+ entrances to the place) that “some menu items have changed”. She also repeated that with more than 4 people in a party we are NOT allowed to split checks and that this is just their policy. We advised her that we were not aware of this policy and should have been told up front and she rudely stated that next time she will hand out notecards to all of the customers who walk in the business with a list of their policies written on it. She interrupted us countless more times as we tried to explain to her how terrible the customer service was from her (not our waitress at this point). One of my friends was threatened to be physically removed from her establishment because she didn’t like the questions we were asking about her policies. She also walked away from us when one of my friends tried to calmly state to please bring us our check so that we can leave her establishment. When she arrived with the check, she THEN offered to split the check into two tabs stating that with 15+ drinks on the tab there is no way we will know who got what. Remember, there are 11 of us and after being there from 9:30am until this happened at 2:30pm – NONE of us felt the mimosas at all. We ended up being so fed up that we paid on one check (as she wished) and left to NEVER return to the hell hole again.
The owner really needs to attend some customer service training and maybe get with the times and allow their guests to pay their tab as they wish. This was more than a terrible experience so I hope it informs others that come across it to steer clear of this place! It will be out of business before you know it with the ownership and policies it currently has.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLu C, Owner at LeLu Coffee Lounge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
There are many things to say about this but I will limit it. Unfortunately when you involve alcohol in a situation things tend to appear different than what they are, which was true here. Yes, some prices have changed and it is noted for all to see and be aware of. We, as all businesses do, have policies which keep things in working order. The splitting check policy is now on the menu so everyone is on the same page so thank you for that suggestion. I decided against the note cards. When a server is threatened to be left holding a tab for a table it heightens the tension. I could have let the Police Department deal with it but I felt I and my staff could handle it, and we did. There are many things I will tolerate, loud talk and foul language are two I will not. So without getting into it to bore all, let's just say this was a situation that was bad for both parties. LeLu has two entrances into the building, not four. Good luck to you all in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bet place for coffee and a tranquil time..”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

was on are agenda to start out every morning at this very "hip" place....great coffee with a friendly atmosphere...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good coffee and menu”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I love this coffee lounge. They have great specialty drinks and a nice patio area. The only complaint I have is that they get really busy and some of the people that work there don't know how to make everything and stand there while the others try to get the orders. Otherwise, everything is great!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Smkempf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Coffee/Expresso's!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Loved the coffee and loved the staff, they were always so nice and lively. We will be back next year. To the staff and owner keep up the good work.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tmac0810Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LeLu Coffee Lounge also viewed

 

Been to LeLu Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing