We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”

The Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled in Siesta Key Village, The Cottage is a casual and quaint, old Florida beach house with a menu that will never disappoint. Our fusion cuisine appeals to locals and globe trekkers alike with Latin American, Asian and Hawaiian influences. We offer indoor dining and two options for outdoor seating--a front patio that overlooks The Siesta Key Village, and a garden-setting back patio with live music nightly 7pm-close. Happy Hour runs Monday - Friday from 11:00am-6:00pm. Late Night Happy Hour offered Friday and Saturday evenings from 10pm to 1am. Known for attention to fine food, lovely cocktails and great service, The Cottage has quickly become everything that is raved about on TripAdvisor and more.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

There were 10 of us celebrating two birthdays. The server and hostess were fantastic in making sure we had a nice table and were accommodated. The food was amazing! My steak was perfection and my friends all enjoyed their meals (seafood mainly). The wine list is a little light / lame for such a nice restaurant. The bartender recommended the Dave Matthews wine that was on special, which was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,070
    361
    122
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My July 4th kicked off with a culinary bang ! ”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Record hot outside, nice and cool inside. The Cottage Restaurant served up a fantastic early dinner and tempted us with drinks that left us wanting more. Great service from Caroline and the manager, Brandy makes you feel like family. World Cup Soccer and a new drink called the Cucumber Smash! Mackenzie invented the drink and all I can saw is Cool and Crisp on a hot day. Soooo refreshing. This is a must have when on Siesta Key. My holiday officially started early !!! Yours should too!

Helpful?
Thank Jugador13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best place to eat on Siesta Key not needing a tie”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Cottage, snuggled among smaller restaurants across from the over-large and over priced Broken Egg on Messina St in the heart of Siesta Key Village, is terrific. You can sit on the deck outside in the heat, under oscillating fans, or inside, where it's cool and saloon-like, or through the restaurant and out the back to a patio that the host admits is "very hot" in the sun. This is a perfect resort island restaurant--with a menu small enough that everything is good yet diverse enough to please everyone in the family.

The three of us enjoyed an iconic lunch recently and our expectations from previous visits were fulfilled. Our meal included a burger accompanied by a side salad that could have been the main dish (with a side burger!) except the burger was too large to be disparaged. A second entree was composed of a row of delicious tacos made with tuna tartare accompanied by what our daughter called the best piña colada she'd ever drunk. (I hope her sample was smaller than she implied...) My own order included ceviche--the world's perfect dish, both delicious and healthy--balanced by one of its most unhealthiest, french fries. The fries were hot and crisp and I had to share them. The ceviche was carefully crafted to resemble a Chilean version but I think it must have been better. It included fish, mussels, shrimp, corn (both white, fat, and succulent and also crisp and toasted--to balance the seafood), and a broth plentiful and good enough to warrant dipping the unused top of my wife's rosemary hamburger roll in. The mojito with which I washed this all down was as good as any I've had, with lots of fresh mint. No complaints about my wife's iced tea either: "perfect--unsweetened, well-brewed, tasty." Happy Hour at The Cottage begins at 11 am when they open and ends at 5. Specific drinks (such as my perfect mojito) then are $5 and a selection of lunch entrees at $8.

A word, too, must be said of our server. She was terrific--knowledgeable and helpful. She was there to serve when we needed her and busy with others when we didn't. She left her own ego and personality at home, present only to answer our questions, refill our drinks with ice, and check to see if all was satisfactory. If all this seems "normal" or expected in a wait person, it nevertheless stood out in ours way beyond the norm.

As we ate, several passersby stopped to examine the menu posted outside near our table and seemed appreciative when I suggested that this was the best place in the area to eat. It sits modestly and unpretentiously in a grove of eating establishments. Only experience of veteran visitors leads it to stand out to the uninitiated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathangerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Dropped by just few days ago for lunch, no special plans to come this place. Surprise was huge, the 8$ lunch menu's were excellent ! Had Fish (raw sushi type tuna) Taco's and the taste was just marvelous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Over40countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Cottage is the best little restaurant in Sarasota near Siesta Keys beach. The outside of the place is deceiving. Once you sit down and eat the affordable delicious meals you can't believe a small place like this can produce such a delicious meal. A large array of tasty drinks are available. Happy hour beers are only $2 Dollars. Great Dining.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing