We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast at it's best.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled in Siesta Key Village, The Cottage is a casual and quaint, old Florida beach house with a menu that will never disappoint. Our fusion cuisine appeals to locals and globe trekkers alike with Latin American, Asian and Hawaiian influences. We offer indoor dining and two options for outdoor seating--a front patio that overlooks The Siesta Key Village, and a garden-setting back patio with live music nightly 7pm-close. Happy Hour runs Monday - Friday from 11:00am-6:00pm. Late Night Happy Hour offered Friday and Saturday evenings from 10pm to 1am. Known for attention to fine food, lovely cocktails and great service, The Cottage has quickly become everything that is raved about on TripAdvisor and more.
Sidney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast at it's best.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not as crowded as the other favorite in town but the food is comparable. Great service and everything is fresh.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SidneyDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    350
    117
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very disappointing considering great reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had heard so much about this restaurant, so disappointed, my husbands steak was not cooked as requested and was cold, obvious to the waitress as he left most of it, in fairness she did tell the manager who came and spoke to us, but didn't suggest replacement or even offer a complimentary drink, prices quite high, but if the food had been to the standard it wouldn't have been a problem, a very disappointing evening food wise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merrymcsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cimarron, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ceviche!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great ceviche! The filet mignon melted in my mouth. It was outstanding. My son loved the burger and ribs, he's not a seafood fan. The burger was so good I wish I had gotten it! Yum! There is something for everyone. My husband and I enjoyed the drinks too! ;) I wish that I could have come back to try more, like the oysters, salmon, waloo, wahu, and skirt steak. My daughter is now hooked on ceviche, and loved the Caesar salad. She can't have any wheat, and these were great options for her since the salad has plantain chips not croutons. It says gluten free friendly on their website, but nothing is labeled on the menu; I know that eating out you always take a little risk. Our daughter is super allergic and she felt very comfortable eating at The Cottage Restaurant, so much so that she wanted to eat there every day! We just ordered items with no gluten ingredients, Dana was a very informative and skilled server, . The GM Tim runs a tight ship, is friendly and proactive. Seems like the weekend A - team is well chosen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LenapeKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shrimp rolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really good food. A little pricey, but the food makes it worth it. Our server recommended the shrimp rolls and boy was she right. They were awesome. We will certainly return on future trips to siesta key!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Ate here twice on our 10-day trip. Everything on the menu is really good. We ate inside both times, due to first available, but the rear patio looks fun. Our two-year old enjoyed this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmcityplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing