We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views”
Review of Crystal Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Sands
New Knoxville, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I rented unit 1203 for our 30th wedding anniversary celebration. The view was unbelievable! Every day, we watched the sting rays swimming below. The sunsets on the deck each night were also amazing! The complex has a glass elevator, covered parking, two swimming pools, plenty of beach chairs, covered beach chairs (for rent), gas grills, and a very friendly staff. The unit itself is loaded with beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, canopies, towels, sheets, blankets, and a washer and dryer. As well as being well-stocked, I was very impressed with how clean the unit was!!

Room Tip: Choose rooms ending in 01, 02, and 03 for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Crystal Sands. We rented low rise Villa 15 this time, after renting in the high rise the year before. Our unit was beautiful, recently renovated and perfectly appointed, which made up for the lack of beach view. :-) Having a garage was a big bonus, especially for keeping the car cool and making it easy to bring in groceries. It was another amazing stay on Siesta Key, and we can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hfxshopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed one week and ran out of trash bags and toilet paper within two days. When I called the office, I reached a very curt woman who told me it was my responsibility to buy my own trash bags and paper products. Ok???
The bedding linens in my unit were extremely old, dirty, pilling and ill fitting. The sheets kept pulling off of the bare mattress and the comforter was one of the grossest I've ever encountered.
The unit smelled like used kitty litter and the dryer had to run at least 3-4 cycles just to dry the laundry we had to do per the rental agreement.
The year prior, we came home to a slip of paper on our counter saying our unit had just been sprayed with pesticides. We were traveling with our two crawling infants and we were horrified. No warning that this was scheduled during our stay. An exterminator was in our unit without our permission. When we asked what was in the pesticides we had to call at least four people and each was more rude than the last. Not ok!
The view was nice, as was the beach. But it wasn't worth the trouble or danger to my children.
Not impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VermontGirl_18_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently rented unit 12 A, it was a 3 bedroom newly remodeled condo. It had everything we needed. Steps away from the heated pool and laundry room which was perfect with our daughter. Not right on the beach but a very quick and easy walk to another heated pool that is directly on the beach. We will definitely be returning and renting this condo again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our 3rd year visiting this condo. The condo is beautifully decorated. This unit has everything you need for a perfect vacation. The kitchen is well equipped and the beach toys/umbrellas are just waiting for you to enjoy. The view from the screened in balcony is breath taking. The building has plenty of chairs for you to use and there are two gas grills for tenants to enjoy. A small grocery store and Captain Curts Oyster Bar are within walking distance. If you want to go into the village you can always call the free taxi service (but remember to tip your driver.) This location is our favorite place for our girls trip. You can always find something to do, or you can do nothing at all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Right on beautiful Crescent Beach, Crystal Sands is a great complex with friendly staff, 2 pool areas, a glass elevator, and the most perfect beach as it's backyard...Free use of beach chairs, bathrooms and lockers near the beachfront pool, and great security....That also was a minor inconvenience sometimes though,as you had to have a security key fob to use the elevators after a certain time, gain access to the beach, gain access to the bathrooms, or get back in the complex at all times....Would definitely stay there again though as it was 4 min drive to Siesta Key Village, and 2 minutes drive down to another smaller shopping plaza at the base of Stickney Point Road. Very convenient and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 01-05 have the most beachfront views...beware lower than 4th floor, your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieswife9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our first time staying in Siesta Key. My husband and I are avid travelers to the Caribbean, but with two very young kids we decided to try renting a condo on a beach closer to home. The unit we rented was very clean and spacious. It was well-equipped with towels, kitchen utensils, beach umbrellas/toys, etc. The unit overlooked the beach which was just gorgeous and we slept to the sound of waves each night. Speaking of sleep, a suggestion to the condo owners: polyester bedsheets are horrible in florida heat! So uncomfortable!!!! The pool is clean and not overcrowded, as with the beach. Honestly, I hate to be a buzz-kill, but it wasn't the best beach I've been on. Yes the sand is like powder, but the shoreline was not white powder and it was pretty dirty (until we had a strong rain, which cleaned it up a bit). The water is very warm but a little murky. I have to say though, being in our own condo where we could cook our own meals and put our kids down for naps was a plus. Definitely convenient, but not so stellar that I would come back to the same spot. We enjoyed the experience, but I think we'll try another spot next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank STK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
0.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.2 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
589 reviews
2.4 mi away
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
#2 of 29 in Siesta Key
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palm Bay Club
The Palm Bay Club
#9 of 29 in Siesta Key
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sands

Property: Crystal Sands
Address: 6300 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2406
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Siesta Key
Number of rooms: 153
Also Known As:
Crystal Sands Hotel Siesta Key
Crystal Sands Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing