We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Placed Condo Complex”
Review of Crystal Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Sands
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Right on beautiful Crescent Beach, Crystal Sands is a great complex with friendly staff, 2 pool areas, a glass elevator, and the most perfect beach as it's backyard...Free use of beach chairs, bathrooms and lockers near the beachfront pool, and great security....That also was a minor inconvenience sometimes though,as you had to have a security key fob to use the elevators after a certain time, gain access to the beach, gain access to the bathrooms, or get back in the complex at all times....Would definitely stay there again though as it was 4 min drive to Siesta Key Village, and 2 minutes drive down to another smaller shopping plaza at the base of Stickney Point Road. Very convenient and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 01-05 have the most beachfront views...beware lower than 4th floor, your view...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussieswife9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Crystal Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our first time staying in Siesta Key. My husband and I are avid travelers to the Caribbean, but with two very young kids we decided to try renting a condo on a beach closer to home. The unit we rented was very clean and spacious. It was well-equipped with towels, kitchen utensils, beach umbrellas/toys, etc. The unit overlooked the beach which was just gorgeous and we slept to the sound of waves each night. Speaking of sleep, a suggestion to the condo owners: polyester bedsheets are horrible in florida heat! So uncomfortable!!!! The pool is clean and not overcrowded, as with the beach. Honestly, I hate to be a buzz-kill, but it wasn't the best beach I've been on. Yes the sand is like powder, but the shoreline was not white powder and it was pretty dirty (until we had a strong rain, which cleaned it up a bit). The water is very warm but a little murky. I have to say though, being in our own condo where we could cook our own meals and put our kids down for naps was a plus. Definitely convenient, but not so stellar that I would come back to the same spot. We enjoyed the experience, but I think we'll try another spot next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank STK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with my parents for 2 weeks in May. It was amazing stay from stay from start to finish. We booked unit 703 through the building mgmt and the pictures did not disappoint. Perfect for two couples. It was beautiful, with amazing views! Right on the beach, looking straight over the Gulf, AMAZING! Check in was easy, with instructions on how to obtain our keys and a quick visit to the office the next day. The unit was well equipped, with everything we needed from a blender to a beach umbrella. The walk in closet in the master suite was appreciated. Big TVs and DVR boxes were nice touches. Siesta key beach is the best beach, hands down, with fine white sand, like sugar. There were lots of beach chairs available every day and the pool was not busy. May was a great time to visit, perfect weather and not crowded like the peak seasons. Can`t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hfxshopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Crystal Sands has been our regular vacation stay since it was built in 1970. My uncle bought one of the condos during construction & we have been visited almost every year since.

Siesta Key is the most beautiful beach I have ever been seen. The 03 numbered condos at Crystal Sands give you a great view of both ends of the key. The sand is like baby powder & the water an emerald green. There is no better location on the key.

The condo units are each different depending on the tastes & style of the owner. Most have been updated, but some have not. Some have lots of extras & others do not, so ask lots questions when booking your condo.

Most condos are 2 bedrooms with a galley kitchen, and open dining room / living room area. The screened-in lanai runs the entire width of the condo with sliding doors that open into each bedroom & the living room. There are washers & dryers available on each floor, although some condos have their own. Their are two pools, one by the office & one by the beach. Beach chairs are available, but go quickly in the mornings at high peak times.

We have seen a lot of changes over 40 years. Crystal Sands is not the gem that it once was in its "hay day", but it continues to be a wonderful beach retreat!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have stayed in this condo for our family vacation 2 yrs in a row! Nothing beats this place.
If you are looking for the best place to stay in siesta key-look no further..heres why

1) this condo is the closest you can get to the ocean-hers a tip the 03 and 04 units are the best-you will have the best view in all directions of the beach. 02 and 05 units rock too!

2) one of the pools is on the gulf. lovely feeling rather then looking at a parking lot.

3) condos at over 1200 sq ft have an incredible layout. Living/dining/kitchen in most remodeled units AND master and 2nd bedrm overlook the gulf and most of the views are to die for! huge windows and patio doors! living has own walkout, so does master and 2nd bedroom-all to an awesome large screened in lanai (balcony). the natural light is incredible!

4) if you dont already know siesta key is a little peace of paradise, consistently voted the best beach in north america and for many people the world. the sand is the whitest and the water is a beautiful color of green/blue. Its wide and you can walk for miles and miles. Cresent beach is private (owned by all the condo owners), beside it is the public beach called siesta key.

5) staff is friendly, so are your fellow visitors-who would'nt be in this dreamy place.

6) its not a party place. But you will see people walking along the beach with a glass of wine in their hand. best for people who like the finest of the basics. deal for families, couples and friends.

YOU WILL NOT BE disappointed !

Room Tip: choose the condo units ending in 03 or 04 if you want to be closet to the ocean with the best view o...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank SKrajinovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I along with my sister and her family spent the week at a beautiful condo in Crystal Sands, and we had a great time. The condo was lovely, and had everything we could possibly need and more, from books, dvds, cds, board games, Keurig coffee maker, blender, crockpot, beach towels, beach/pool toys, umbrella, beach chairs, etc etc.

We really enjoyed having the pool right beside the beach. The view from the condo was great, and my favorite thing was the large lanai, where we ate all of our breakfasts and lunches. I kept my bedroom sliding door open at night to the lanai so I could hear the ocean while lying in bed, and it was awesome. We've stayed at the Palm Bay Club a few times previously, and we agreed that we prefer Crystal Sands.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BabsDFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We always stay at Crystal Sands when traveling to Siesta Key. They had a 2 week minimum but if you go during the off season you can book for 1 week. We love room 809! Very nicely decorated and spacious! I cant say enough for this place and the staff is more than friendly. The beach view is outstanding and we love the screened in balcony.

Room Tip: Go to their website and look through the pics. When we called to book the receptionist was so frien...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siesta Key hotels
0.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
2.2 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palm Bay Club
The Palm Bay Club
#8 of 29 in Siesta Key
436 reviews
2.4 mi away
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
#2 of 29 in Siesta Key
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sands

Address: 6300 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2406
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Siesta Key
Price Range: $252 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crystal Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Sands Hotel Siesta Key
Crystal Sands Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing