We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Property has gone downhill ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Property has gone downhill ...”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed at this property again for another 8 days in April 2012. Overall, the access to the beach was great. Apart from that, there is no value for the cost per night.

Pros: (i) The units are large, with enough space for 4-6 people to comfortably enjoy. We were three adults and used up the two bedrooms plus the pull out sofabed in the den. It was great to be able to prepared our own meals and enjoy the meals with delicious wines, especially on the balcony. Don't think we used the dining table at all.
(ii) All the staff who do valet parking are amazingly obliging, professional and courteous. They were the shining light of the property and out stay.

Cons: (i) There is no housekeeping service. The daily towel change is hit and miss (with many days when the stand don't leave enough hand towels, face towels, bath towels or toilet paper). It's as if they forget what to do every morning and like every morning is a new routine for the staff. Horribly inconsistent service for this minimum amount of work. And you have to call every morning for the unit to be made up, otherwise you may come back later in the day and find that they beds are not made and the towels not changed.
(ii) We only got one day when housekeeping was suppose to do a thorough cleaning of the unit. They didn't. In fact the carpets were not vacuumed, the floors swept minimally, the table and counter tops not cleaned or wiped, and the bathrooms cleaned minimally. If it sound like I'm being let, it's because they property charges a significant amount for very little service. Hence, this is the only daily service they you'd get at this property and should therefore be the best thing they do. Not the least!
(iii) The grounds are well maintained but very much on your own. Don't expect to have pool service or towel service at the beach. Yu will be directed where to pick up towels and to join the staff at the pool bar. The only time you will get service at the pool is if you order food. In my humble experience, at other properties of similar costs, you would usually have staff setting tags up for you, bringing complimentary ice creams or cold face towels. Not here. Don't get me wrong, when you do encounter staff, they are polite, but usually to tell you politely where to get things for yourself.
(iv) Becasue it was April, the property was not busy. In fact, they may have only been 40-50% occupancy, if at all. Of course this is unstandable as it is not holiday periods for kids. However, because of the low occupancy, services and staff numbers were also very low. So low that sometimes it was easier to do things yourself (keep in mind, if I were paying half the daily rate, I would not be complaining). This leads to contact with staff who seemed challenged when asked for anything. Not good for guest relations.
(v) Check in and check out is not easy. Staff (and in particular, Cynthia) are professional but lacking any guest relation skills. They will smile, listen to you, and assist where possible. However, they also make it clear that they are doing you a favor, that this is beyond what they usually do, that they try to make things work but really, you are making it inconvenient for them. Wow. This was definitely the deal breaker for us!

Overall, a very poor repeat experience of coming and staying here. Don't think that we will be returning again. There are so many better properties around and in the area. If you choose to stay here, please lower your expectations of service. Yu only get the large unit, access to the beach and a very small pool (that feels intimate when 3-4 people are in it).

Room Tip: Don't eat nearby. Most of the cafes and restaurants only serve fried foods. Lots of better place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank HuarenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSKB, General Manager at Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay here with us, and would like to review with you in further detail. Our property is set up differently than most of our hotels in regards to amenities on the grounds, however the service level is to be maintained no matter where you travel within Hyatt. Please feel free to call my office, so we may discuss. On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen, we apologize your stay did not go smoothly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    34
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
184
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The nicest most well equipped rooms I have ever enjoyed. I vacationed here with My wife and two little ones, 3 and 1. After spending a hectic week at Disney World we needed the luxury the Hyatt Siesta Key beach provided to unwind- and unwind we did.

Joining us were my father and mother to help with the children, but with 6 people in the premium gulf view room we did not feel crowded at all.

The total experience was one of awe. We had a small issue- I cannot remember what as it didn't detract from the trip to be even worth remembering, but the service manager showed up promptly to rectify and while he was in our room provided answers to a lot of questions and showed us some tips and tricks, such as how to best operate the high tech HVAC system.

The manager went on to tell us with pride that a lot was spent furnishing each room pointing out a cabinet made with stingray, the hand milled tile and other objects of art and luxury.

In the end I found only only two items lacking- that are in defense of the property outside of their control.
1.) The pool was small- but I am advised that this is due to local zoning so you won't find any bigger on the island.

2.) I did not like the fact that the street water outflow was directly adjacent to the beach in front of the property. It rained during our trip and I noticed a flow of debris right into the ocean water in our vicinity, not a complete deal breaker, but a bit gross.

Overall above and beyond Five stars. I would challenge anyone to find a property with more luxury at a better cost anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Choose a Premium Gulf View room. I did and was amazed. I was advised by staff that rooms ending in 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank grminalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a luxurious resort right on one of the best beaches in the world. This is why my friend and I returned this year. We do love the wonderful kitchen since we love to shop locally and cook since we have many food allergies and issues. This has not changed but what has is the level of cleanliness and standards of housekeeping. We left our customary tip everyday and had to ask for essentials such as toilet paper and to replace towels that were originally there. The housekeeping staff were quick to respond to special requests such as more of a particular type of coffee but when it came to maintaining the standards, this was clearly not evident. If the intent is to attract buyers, this is not a very good way to do so.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank EdVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSKB, General Manager at Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Your feedback was shared at our weekly manager's meeting and addressed with our housekeeping team. Although we strive to always surpass our guest expectations, our team values both the praise and constructive criticism from our owners and guests. This feedback allows us to know what areas of opportunity we may have had during a stay, so we can avoid repeating this in the future.

We appreciate your family choosing our property to visit on a return stay here in Siesta Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The place was spectacular. We had an excellent time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Carmel, Aspen, Beaver Creek are great but
Siesta Key is AMAZING! You feel like you are
staying in a multimillion dollar penthouse..which
you are! Location has most beautiful beach in US
and you walk on it every day or lounge around pool
in private cabanas with flat screen t.v's or just walk around
the key and have the most amazing clam chowder at
"Captain's"..or drive over to St. Armands Key for world
class shopping and dining at South American and Italian
inspired seafood restaurants..amazing!! Well, Keurig and Nespresso,
Wolfe and Subzero plus one bath with each bedroom and
ceiling rain showers plus heated toilet seats in master bath!! :)
Can't say enough..

Room Tip: rooms with view of gulf a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maryfegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWIndiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We just came back from staying at the Hyatt. The service and people working there are so friendly. From the valet people to the front desk help to the kids working around the beach. We had a golf view room which was awesome. Three showers sure help when you have 6 people. You have your own private beach where they supply chairs and umbrellas at no extra charge. They serve a nice continental breakfast and every morning there is a USA Today waiting out your door. I was hesitant on paying the price they wanted but now I am happy I did. This is a first class resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MRN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We are currently staying at the Hyatt Siesta Key for Spring Break week and all I can say is WOW! This place is amazing. There aren't enough superlatives to describe everything, it is so spot on, but I'll try. First, the location is stellar, the units are georgeous and appointed with absolutely anything you'd need and the staff is friendly, thoughtful and professional. Everything about the Hyatt Siesta Key is top-notch. We will definately be making this place our annual family vacation spot. We already can't wait to come back. Thank you, Hyatt Siesta Key!
-the Cappelluti Family

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
0.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.2 mi away
The Capri at Siesta
The Capri at Siesta
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club

Property: Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Address: 915 Seaside Drive, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2575
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#4 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the new standard of vacation ownership at Hyatt Siesta Key Beachn- A Hyatt Residence Club, just minutes away from the art and cultural hub of Sarasota, Florida. The beachfront residences provide superior amenities, luxurious accommodations and unparalleled service. Spend the day on the beach or poolside in a private cabana. Watch the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico from your private terrace or the beachfront firepit. The surrounding environment provides endless opportunities for fishing, boating, water sports or simply relaxing. Escape to Siesta Key Beach and experience the luxury, lifestyle and location for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, a Hyatt Residence Club Hotel Siesta Key
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing