We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Pizza

City Pizza
Ranked #25 of 41 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Vacationing w/ friends we decided to order delivery from here because of convenience. While delivery was quick and spot on, unfortunately the pizza was not. Ordered 2 XL pies and the crust was tasteless. The middle of the pie was extremely soggy and would not give a clean cut. Disappointed, and for the same price, wish we would have made the drive to pick up a couple of pies from a competitor with better ratings/recommendation.

Helpful?
Thank BreezyBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    119
    75
    33
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Time for new management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

One of the few eateries near Crescent Beach which is probably why they don't care if their food stinks. Service was AWEFUL. One waitress for the whole place though it was almost empty. Don't waste your time or Money here.
The pizza was AWEFUL, a little sauce and cheese on tasteless crust does not constitute pizza! Very disappointing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klswaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
2 reviews
“The Worst Crust Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm 52 and have had a lot of pizza, the crust was tough chewy and soggy in the middle.
I ordered two pizzas and was totally dissatisfied. The toppings were good, but the chicken was dry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank randycwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,585 reviews
1,429 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,661 helpful votes
“Florida pizza? It's not like Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I admit I'm spoiled. I love Chicago pizza. Not deep dish. I prefer thin crust. Nothing fancy. Cheese and sausage. Extra sausage. We've tried a lot of them in Chicago and concluded that Bella Luna on North Dearborn at Superior is the best of all. To be fair, we've tried pizza in other parts of the country while on vacation. We were pleasantly surprised to find a very good pizza in tiny and touristy St. Francisville, Louisiana. We tried a New York pizza in Sarasota, Florida. I'm not big on New York pizza. We've tried the pizza at City Pizza on Siesta Key in Sarasota on two occasions. It's a southern Italian restaurant that has been serving family dinners on the beach since 1989. City Pizza offers an extensive menu with appetizers (soup, mussels, garlic bread, buffalo wings, calamari, mozzarella sticks), hot subs and burgers, cold subs, seafood, pasta, veal parmigiana, salads and every variety of pizza you can imagine. The biggest of all, priced at $25.95, is the Stromboli pizza, which is baked between two dough crusts and includes ricotto, mozzarella, pepperoni, sausage, black olives, green peppers, mushrooms, onions and meatballs. You've got to have an enormous appetite to handle something like that in one sitting. Did we like our pizza? Good but not great. Light and chewy crust, not enough tomato or cheese. The sausage was too spicy for my palate. I'd prefer the veal or the spaghetti and meatballs or shrimp scampi or lasagna or grouper. Another plus is the fast takeout service. With so many tourists in the neighborhood, they do a land-office business.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not bad. Not good. Just average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I've eaten at better pizzerias, and I've eaten at worse. The menu is standard pizza joint fare, and the food is okay.

Basically, I see this eatery as a place to eat out of convenience, if you're staying on the south side of Siesta Key and don't want to venture far. There are plenty of better alternatives in Siesta Village and downtown Sarasota, both just a short drive to the north.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jayluvsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Pizza also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to City Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing