We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Stars Plus!”

Javier's Restaurant and Wine Bar
Cuisines: Peruvian, Spanish, Wine Bar, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Siesta Key, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five Stars Plus!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'm a local, love eating out and trying new restaurants, but always end up back at Javier's. Love the variety of tastes from all around the world. yeah, I know it's billed as Peruvian, but who knew (until recently) that Peru has such an eclectic cuisine. Love the tapas and small plates. Five of us went last week and tried about half the menu I think. My new favorite - Shrimp a la Pardo. The table's favorite was the Scallops with Parmesan or maybe it was the Sangria!! Can't wait to get back and try the other half of the menu. Oh yeah - really nice people running it and working there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    79
    25
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Taste of Peru... Simply - Wow!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A warm greeting from the owner, the best sangria we've had in a long while, were just the beginning. Our vacationing party of 9 thoroughly enjoyed the taste of Peru as presented by Javier's. The soups were absolutely delicious, tapas out of this world, and the meats and fish were cooked to perfection. Wonderful decor and atmosphere, and the staff really know their stuff. We would highly recommend this restaurant. It is a bit on the pricey side; certainly reasonable for special occasions. For our annual summer getaway to Siesta Key, Javier's will now be a must stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DemonGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blah... Yuk...”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This people can do one thing: the ceviche. Other than that everything else we ordered tasted really bad. I love peruvian food, and this restaurant has nothing of it. is more like a wanna be, confused., american, spanish, peruvian, bla bla. Pick a specialty, and be good at it!!!!! The owners go around walking like chickens with their head cut off. There is a weird atmosphere. Will not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmendimase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never had peruvian food but would go back”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Great meal. Javier whips up the bannana fosters himself. We were there late, 830-1000 but stll received excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Invictus1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gourmet Peruvian Food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just visited Peru last December and ate amazing Peruvian food while we were there, but Javier's is a cut above when it comes to Peruvian Food. My husband and I highly recommend it. It is a bit pricy, but worth it. Don't forget to order the Pisco Sour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeesyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javier's Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing