We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Held A Large Party at The Hub Baja...”
Review of The Hub Baja Grill

The Hub Baja Grill
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Bar, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hub Baja Grill has been serving up fresh Baja cuisine for locals and tourists alike since 2008. The Hub Baja Grill’s famous Grouper fish tacos, hand-made lobster bisque and other Latin American and tropical inspired creations are sure to exceed expectations of the most discerning palate. We offer indoor dining and a covered patio on the sidewalk. We offer live music day and night. “Fiesta Hour” runs Monday - Friday 11:00am to 6:00pm and features, $5 House Margaritas, $4 House Wines, $3 Well Drinks, $2 Domestic Drafts & One Great Time! LATE NIGHT FIESTA HOUR 10:00PM – Close with the same Great Prices 7 Nights A week! The Hub was awarded #1 margarita in Sarasota/Siesta Key by The Sarasota Herald Tribune in 2010. So come on down and find out why we really are “The Hub” of Siesta Key and Sarasota!!
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Held A Large Party at The Hub Baja...”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Saturday afternoon we held a large family gathering at The Hub Baja. We had nearly 20 guests mingling between three different tables. The Hub crew was plesant and willing to work with us the best they could despite how busy the establishment was. The rain forced our party to dine and drink at the tables inside, however, many other guests still enjoyed their rainy afternoon on the patio. Our party enjoyed multiple entrees all of which were delicious and came out hot and fresh in a very timely manner. We brought a cake with our party and the staff did not seem to have an issue with this. I will return to the Hub and I believe most of my party enjoyed their afternoon at this establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    997
    666
    199
    60
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The margaritas are the only good thing about this place”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We chose the Hub because it looked like a fun, bustling place in downtown Siesta Key. Unfortunately, that turned out to be one of its few redeeming qualities. We waited a good 10 minutes after being seated before our waiter (who was quite grumpy) came. We ordered the Hub-ritas, which were pretty good, but it was mostly downhill from there. The food was underwhelming, to say the least. I got the ribs, which were pretty standard but nothing to write home about. My sister got a burger, which was also mediocre at best. Another member of our party ordered fish, which was not good compared to other places in Siesta Key. Service was sub-par; suffice it to say our waters were not re-filled even once. Overall, an alright place for drinks and people-watching, but if you want a decent meal you should look elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a cold day at the beach”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed live music, friendly bartender (Whitney)! Food was better than expected. We ordered quesadilla and fish tacos. Both were great. Portions were perfect for lunch. Had a martini or two-good drinks!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lcheney46052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
“Kicked back in the sun after a long walk up the beach”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We took a long walk on Siesta Key beach and ended up in the Village. We had eaten at several places in town previously on our trip, so we stopped at the Hub. We didn't want to be inside, so they seated us at one of their outdoor picnic tables. Lelani was our server and she was a delight. She was very knowledgeable of the menu, gave some spot-on recommendations nd stopped by often to make sure everything was going well. The margarita was truly one of, if not the best I have ever had (all 3 of them) I had the mahi tacos and my wife had a Baja salad. Pretty damn yummy!! Glad we stopped here!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henksailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
232 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Rainy afternoon misfire”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a late lunch after walking Siesta Village in the rain which forced us to eat inside. Mistake number one, the noise level was so bad we spent lunch yelling our orders and across the table at each other. Mistake number two, ordered two happy hour $3 well G&Ts - watered down and bitter. Final mistake was ordering lunch - had a mediocre tortilla soup and tasteless Cuban sandwich. On the plus side our server was attentive and pleasant and the decor is festive. If you choose to eat here would suggest eating outside under the covered tables and order one of the items suggested from other reviews.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hub Baja Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Hub Baja Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing