We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good traditional pub ”
Review of The Horseshoes Inn

The Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rennington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good traditional pub ”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited on 17 Aug. had really nice meal in traditional pub. Good selection of traditional pub fare. Nothing too fancy or pretentious, just well cooked and tasty with generous portions and good value. Rest of party managed puds, but my wife and I were carbed out and don't have such a sweet tooth, so staff did a special of cheese and biscuits for us which was great. Friendly service and helpful. Will be going back next time we are in area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tarzan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Louise D, Owner at The Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Mark and Louise Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    43
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
423 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Very friendly welcome and great food too.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We have been here twice on our holiday and will be back again before we leave at the end of the week. The hosts Mark and Louise, together with their friendly staff, give customers a great welcome. The beers are expertly kept with a choice of local regular Farne Island brew plus a guest bitter or two. The food is locally sourced whenever possible and this shows in the fresh taste of everything we tried on our visits. The special tonight of chicken breast stuffed with haggis, wrapped in bacon and served with a mustard sauce was a great example of an inventive dish that was well cooked and served with local veg. All our other dishes from Sunday roast on our earlier visit through to the melt in the mouth lamb on the bone to steak pie, fresh fish etc were all great. If you are looking for a family run pub restaurant to visit whilst in the area where you will get a warm and genuine welcome plus good food and beer then you simply must visit the Horseshoes. Heartily recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GTSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Louise D, Owner at The Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Once again it was lovely to you all and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Repeat visits and reviews help us and our future customers so thank you for your kind words.
Mark and Louise Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The warmest welcome and great food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed in the village and were most pleased to have a traditional pub so close at hand. All of the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed two lovely meals, the meat in particular being of outstanding quality. If you are visiting the beautiful Northumberland coast don't miss a trip to The Horseshoes Inn, you won't find a warmer welcome or a more satisfying meal for miles.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Louise D, Owner at The Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the village and your visit to us we hope you will return and visit us in the future.
Mark and Louise Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
378 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Friendly traditional pub with great food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Lovely friendly bar with real ale. Splendid and varied menu and the food did not disappoint. Excellent quality and large portions and also good value for money. What more could you want !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Louise D, Owner at The Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal (and real ale) at The Horseshoes Inn.
We look forward to seeing you when you return.
Mark and Louise Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We ate here on the last night of our holiday - a Thursday night, pre booked for a party of seven. It was busy, with the bar area obviously full of locals and the restaurant with very few spare tables. The food was really good (loved the Northumbrian pork platter starter) - tasty, traditional and enjoyed by everyone. I have never seen our twelve year old wolf down haddock and chips so quickly ! The desserts were also very impressive and hard to resist.

Service was excellent - friendly and accommodating. Very glad we found the Horseshoes, and would not hesitate in recommending it to others

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sidneytrip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Louise D, Owner at The Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are pleased you all enjoyed your visit to us and thank you in advance for recommending us to others we feel word of mouth is far better than advertising, hope to see you all when you return to the area.
Mark and Louise Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoes Inn also viewed

 
Embleton, Alnwick
 
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 

Been to The Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing