We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for going the extra mile!”
Review of The Horseshoes Inn

The Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rennington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thank you for going the extra mile!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wanted somewhere Special for my Mum's Birthday and The Horseshoes didn't disappoint!

Having thought about where to go *My Mum's Birthday being St. Patrick's Day, wanted to go out for lunch rather than somewhere in the evening, decided on somewhere a little further afield than the usual Alnwick, Warkworth & Amble places* My Partner knowing the people that run this place booked us in for 1:30 and was really pleased by how friendly/welcoming and prompt they were. Couldn't fault a thing! Even the people also dining were friendly and having a good time : ) Which helped create a really warm, relaxed atmosphere.

We'd said on the phone that it was for a Birthday but didn't expect what a surprise was in store for my Mum, Balloons and Banner decorations were a lovely and the icing on the cake quite literally was at the end of our meals they presented Mum with her very own beautiful cake and sang Happy Birthday!

The Mains were Excellent, we had 2 Stake & Ale Pies and 2 Beef and Yorkshires. This came with a selection of leek with béchamel sauce, carrots and red cabbage with horseradish sauce. Wonderfully tasteful and quite filling! Really good value and plenty on offer with mains costing around £10 : )

We even treated ourselves to dessert *The Dessert Board was very tempting!* Mum had the Chocolate Icecream Sundae, Twin & I had the Lemon Posset *Perfect balance of lemony and sweetness with cream and raspberry on top! & my Partner had Ginger sponge with home made custard. Felt very spoilt! Well looked after and a perfect way to celebrate Mum's special day!

Thank you Mark & Louise & all your staff! We shall be back ^_^

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonia_HoskinsBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Louise D, Owner at The Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are very glad you and your mum enjoyed your day at our pub and we look forward to seeing you all in the near future.
Thank you for your kind words.
Mark and Louise Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    46
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shotton colliery
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fab place to eat”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

had a lovely meal following a disaster at another venue. Owners were friendy and couldnt do enough for us. Louise was busy preparing valentines gifts for the ladies. Would certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very welcoming pub, would recomend”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Made welcome from the minute we walked through the door, of this oldie worldly pub. Found lunch menu a little limited, but decided to try salmon salad, which was lovely. Lots of tasty salmon accompanied with a mixed salad and several pieces of lemon (enough lemon to cover salmon easily). My husband enjoyed his steak and ale pie, which appeared to have large chunks of lean beef. The service was polite and food order was delivered quickly. Our only grumble was that the main restaurant was extremely cold on the day we visited, and unfortunately this resulted in us leaving more quickly than we would have liked. Otherwise a lovely place would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polly-the-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Louise D, Owner at The Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are very happy that you both enjoyed your lunch. We are however very sorry that you found the pub cold, when the wind blows from the north it is very hard to heat the place. we have been decorating for the past few weeks and i have found gaps were the draughts have been coming in so they have been filled so the restaurant feels much warmer now.

Mark and Louise Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, interesting menu.. recommended”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had not long moved into the area - found this place when 'exploring' my new environs !

It is a short drive from Alnwick or off the Alnwick Gardens ( Alnwick north ) exit off the A1.

Head for Denwick, then Rennington ..The staff are friendly and the restaurant is cozy.. a lot of locals recommend it so that says a lot !

I intend to work my way through the menu..it is THAT good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very average I`m afraid”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I asked for the duck breast medium cooked and pink in the middle and it came well done?????? If you are going to have thinks like duck with a wild berry jus, don`t serve it with frozen chips. After reading the reviews on here, we thought we were in for a culinary treat.......nah. Best avoided.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Fife_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark and Louise D, Owner at The Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hello The - Fife - Flyer.
We are sorry you felt that your meal was average.
If you had said something at the time we would gladly have cooked you another Duck or another dish of your choice, we also are only too glad to do potatoes for those customers who don't want chips we are very accommodating when asked. The frozen chips we use are of a very good quality, unfortunately homemade chips are not practical for us to do. We are only human and can make mistakes. Your review was shown to our chef and has been noted.
Once agin our apologies.

Mark and Louise Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoes Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing