We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain Cook Holiday Park
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend family get away on Bruny Is, staying at the Captain Cook Memorial Caravan Park. We booked a 2brm cabin, and asked for a quiet location (which probably wasn't necessary being the off season) but were located in "Resolution" at the end of the row. Our only visitors were the ducks that arrived (much to the delight of the children) on the door step once they noticed we'd opened the curtains. They obviously know the cues.

The cabin was cosy, clean and tidy. The heat pump had been put on before our arrival to warm the cabin which was a thoughtful touch. The main bedroom has a double bed (with electric blanket) and wardrobe. The second bedroom at the opposite end of the cabin, had a single bunk over a double bed, and another set of single bunks on the other side, so could sleep a couple and three children easily. Matresses were all innerspring. Beds were comfy, though the double mattress in the main bedroom was very firm, but luckily we both prefer that to a squishy soft one, so we weren't phased. All bedding was supplied as were the towels. Kitchen has a microwave, a mini grill oven with two solid hotplates on top, and a large fridge/freezer. The hot water is heated by gas so no cold showers for the last person in, but there is a reduced flow shower head to conserve the tank water so rinsing shampoo out takes a bit longer than usual.

The beach was just across the road and we could listen to the waves at night. There is also play equipment for the children within the park. (Caution for families with young children though. There is a river that runs behind the park, that can be accessed by a few pathways through the bush. Make sure young children are supervised as they could reach the river's edge within a minute.)

Many thanks to the friendly and accommodating staff for making it such a wonderful weekend escape for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LibWilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 148 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was a great place to stay for our two nights on South Bruny Island. We had new villa overlooking Adventure Bay. The booking was easy with a quick phone call one Sunday morning. The drive there to Adventure Bay from the ferry was lovely. The kitchen dining area was well equipped. All we needed was supplied. Would love to return.

Room Tip: We had Villa No 1 which is first in a row of four all close to the ocean side. The villas are spaced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin (4 of us) so plenty of room. It was lovely to have a kitchen and be able to cook. We were out walking all day and came home very tired. The cabin was great, hot showers, didn't have to walk to an amenities block, My bed had an electric blanket on it, so was great for tired aching legs. There was a large table outside our cabin so we could eat indoors or out. There was also a very large indoor camp kitchen that I spotted so that would be great for those campers who don't have a kitchen. The owners were extremely helpful with any little problems that arose. We were a group of 12 and hired 3 cabins in all. We were all extremely happy with our accommodation. Beautiful spot on the beach also.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamrock784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The location of the Captain Cook Caravan Park in Adventure Bay had a lot to do with our decision to camp there, with the beach and stunning seascape just across the road. And Manager Traci was very friendly and very helpful.
It was a long weekend at the end of school holidays in Tasmania, so the park was very busy. In fact we were lucky to get in! Despite all the holiday-makers we still found a very pleasant shady spot to pitch our small tent.
We expected long queues for toilets and showers, but they weren’t too bad, although the facilities were in need of a scrub down by 9am! We did think that paying $1 for a 5-minute shower on top of the site fee was a bit OTT (over the top). Also for the size of the park, just one amenities block did seem rather inadequate for the number of people staying in the park.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beyondmetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

There are a lot of neglected caravans on sites that weren't occupied which gave the place a neglected feel. The amenities block could do with some attention - broken floor tiles - and we thought it a little over the top charging $1 for a shower when you've paid for your site at $28 a night. Staff were very pleasant and friendly and amenities were clean.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin for three nights in October and really enjoyed it. The cabin was older style, but very spacious (it was huge!) and clean with a comfy bed and great shower. It was also quite cold when we were there so the heating was greatly appreciated! We thought the cabin was good value for money compared with other caravan parks we stayed in during our trip to Tasmania.

The park is in a lovely bush setting just across the road from Adventure Bay with a shop up the road and a few attractions nearby. We used the kitchenette in our cabin to prepare a few meals, and everything we needed was provided. Tip - there aren’t many breakfast options around – but the shop does great toasted sandwiches.

I would definitely stay here again – Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LC81_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On site vans are 1970's era caravans with a annex. No hot water (running cold water in sink), No shower, No toilet, flyscreens broken or missing, NO AIR CON (unbearably hot) and double bed is small for anyone over 5'6ft tall (we had to moved the mattress into the annex). Toilet and showers blocks are clean, but a 30 meter walk from your caravan, cost $1 per shower. Communal camping kitchen is clean with old dining tables/chairs,wood heater, toaster, fridge, sink and broken table tennis table
Children's playground is small and modern, but not undercover or shaded, (unusable during hot days), the playground is not fenced and is near a busy main road.
Pro: Great location (beach across road), friendly staff, clean showers and toilet block
Cons: Old vans, no Air Con (HOT HOT HOT), toilets and showers not in van, dusty park ring road, TV reception bad and flyscreens missing or broken

Room Tip: Book a cabin or villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Always_watching365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adventure Bay
5.4 mi away
Hotel Bruny
Hotel Bruny
#1 of 4 in Bruny Island
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
43 Degrees Bruny Island
43 Degrees Bruny Island
#1 of 2 in Adventure Bay
251 reviews
16 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adventure Bay Retreat
Adventure Bay Retreat
#2 of 9 in Bruny Island
46 reviews
20.4 mi away
Bruny Beachside Accommodation
Bruny Beachside Accommodation
#1 of 1 in Dennes Point
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Holiday Park

Address: 786 Adventure Bay Rd, Adventure Bay, Bruny Island, Tasmania 7150, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bruny Island > Adventure Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Adventure Bay
Price Range: $51 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain Cook Caravan Park is located in the heart of Bruny Island, Adventure Bay, Tasmania. The park offers powered and unpowered sites, on-site caravans, cabins and one bedroom villas. It is located across the road from the popular Adventure Bay Beach near the general store and is close to the award winning Bruny Island Charters cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Captain Cook Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing