We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous!”
Review of The Blue Bowl

The Blue Bowl
Ranked #9 of 12 Restaurants in Hanham
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Blue Bowl is a family friendly business. We offer delicious meals at very competitive prices. Car park is situated at the rear of the building, we offer a spacious outdoor seating area with comfortable seating. Inside we have ample seating & a children's play area. Reservations of any size welcome, please contact us.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrendous!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013



I don't normally write reviews... But it was so bad I honestly cannot recommend it to anyone! We sat in a window seat next to a radiator that looked like it's never been cleaned, with food and drink spilt down it...
I went to order while my partner took a phone call and by the time he had rang and finished his conversation our food had arrived- literally 3-4minutes!
I ordered FULL rack of ribs (there were about 6) my onion rings were raw and my corn on the cob tasted like it had been rolled around in soil! My partners chicken tikka masala would have been nicer if we brought it from Asdas microwave meal range!! Both meals looked like children's sizes!
We would have complained but no one asked how our meals were! It's safe to say we will never go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    20
    28
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Won't be visiting again!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had dreadful service and a poor meal here this week. They left off one of the starters, it never arrived. The main meals came, two were mixed grills and one came with 2 sausages as advertised the other came with none! The children's meal looked revolting. The Eton Mess was 1cm of raspberry sauce with a few crumbs of meringue filled up with ice cream. When I asked where the fresh raspberries and meringue were as in the picture, the waiter came back and handed me a meringue in a bowl! Apologised that the kitchen staff was new to 'making' puddings.Not really that difficult! The waiters were not very on the ball, and we found the overall experience a let down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emilycBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good place for quick meal”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited the blue bowl in Hanham for a quick cheap meal as couldn't be bothered to cook. For the money was good value. New ultimate plates ; bigger sized. New menu had good choice. Loads of choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familysummerholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went to the Bluebowl for lunch with family, fantastic value, Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff, would recommend..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennleonides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited here with my 92 year old mum for Sunday lunch, we ordered it and within minutes it came. The roast potatoes were rock hard when you put your knife into them you had to make sure they didn't shoot off the table, the vegetables soggy, but there was plenty of meat on the half of chicken. We had a small gravy boat and didn't really cover much of the dinner so l asked the waitress if l could have some more, she said that l would have to pay extra and go to the bar to order it. I looked at the bar and there was too many people there so l didn't bother. What a rip off for a small jug of gravy. I have been here several times but this is the worst experience. Not sure if l will return. The waitresses were lovely and so the young guy who served me at the bar, no complaints there. I think this restaurant has gone down hill over the last six months.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bowl also viewed

Hanham, Gloucestershire
 
Hanham, Gloucestershire
Hanham, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Blue Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing