We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Practical place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shalimar
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Practical place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was looking for a recognisable hotel to stay in when the time was getting on. This was it. Booked into a clean comfortable room. Slept very well Breakfast was standard for this type of hotel. Staff helpfull when asked a couple of questions. Cost $142. Did the job. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daventrygirl656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJDvpsfi, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
19
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was nice overall. I was here for a work trip and this was the only Marriott around. Rates were higher at 149 a night in November. Was on the back side by cheers club and had no noise complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJDvpsfi, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We thank you so much for your very kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again when visiting the Fort Walton Beach area!
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn while visiting our daughter who is stationed at Eglin AFB. We prefer Marriott properties and often stay at a Fairfield when looking for an economy hotel. The Fairfield Inn Fort Walton is a nice property. It is within minutes of Eglin AFB, very clean, and well maintained. The breakfast buffet is typical Fairfield i.e., nothing special but beats going out and paying for an expensive breakfast in town.

The only thing that made our stay less than enjoyable was the thin wall between our room (124) and the room next to us. We literally heard EVERYTHING that went on in the other room and consequently did not sleep well the first night. When we informed the front desk the next day the staff was very accommodating and moved us to another room (a suite). The bummer about the move was that I left my Air Force jacket in the closet of the first room and ended up losing it in the move.

I recommend the Fairfield if you are looking for a moderately priced hotel convenient to Eglin AFB but you may want to avoid room 124 and request the most sound proof room when checking in.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 124, and ask for a sound proof room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chasg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJDvpsfi, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We thank you so much for posting your review, for it is through communication that we may better serve our guests.
WE HAVE GREAT NEWS!!! We found your Air Force jacket! It seems that it may have fallen in the hallway when you were switching rooms and our Guest Room Attendant did not know who it belonged to when she found it.
We are terribly sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory, but we hope the room change made all the difference.
We look forward to your call and we thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Second trip to this hotel for business and it was ok for the purpose. Close to the job in FL. Staff was friendly, hotel was clean. Cheers bar is right behind so if you get a room on the back side beware. First trip our car license plate was stolen, but no issues on the second stay. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Overall, I would return for business, close to local shopping and day to day business. Also close to the airport, pretty much a straight shot.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kcmdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJDvpsfi, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, for it is through guest feedback that we are better able to improve our hotel for all of our guests.
We are very happy to report that we are in the final planning phase of many new upgrades, including a delicious hot breakfast! Please call for details!
We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again when visiting the Fort Walton Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel if your in town to do business at eglin AFB. You can't get any closer with a hotel this new. My only tidbit of advice is ensure you have a room away from the bar next door called Cheers or you will here them and the music until 10pm when the sound ordenence kicks in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgdeppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJDvpsfi, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, for it is through guest feedback that we are better able to improve our hotel for all of our guests.
We apologize that you were unhappy with your room. Please know that you, our guest, are our first priority and anytime we can make a change to fulfill our promise to you we are happy to do it!
We thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott brand and look forward to seeing you again when visiting the Fort Walton Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Missouri
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Poorest Marriott Property I have stayed at in the 51 days I have stayed at Marriotts. As a gold card holder Igot a smaller room due to storage closet opposit the elevators & ice machine when hotelless than 20% full. Found soiled linens on bed. Room facing a bar with a very lound band that played from 7-10 pm

Room Tip: Sttay on entry side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mclaren88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJDvpsfi, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, for it is through guest feedback that we are better able to improve our hotel for all of our guests.
We apologize that you were unhappy with your room and your stay. As a good neighbor to other businesses we practice mutual respect, while also honoring each other's guidelines. We understand that some of our guests enjoy the entertainment and convenience of this facility while others do not. Please let us know whenever you are visiting if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. We always make our guests' needs a priority!
We look forward to your visit when in the Fort Walton Beach area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for a week on business, the suite was spacious and fairly clean (the bed and bathroom were fine, the sofa in front of the TV smelt a bit suspect so I never sat on it after the first time I tried it), decent amenities including a fridge, MP3 player dock and two TV sets. The breakfast was fairly basic but covered all the bases, from fresh fruit to sugary cereals, via prepacked microwaveable sausage biscuits. The staff were all excellent, friendly and full of good advice as to where to eat.

If you like an early night I'd avoid getting a room that looks out over the back if possible, there's an excellent but noisy dive-bar right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a front-facing room, if you're planning on early nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52cards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJDvpsfi, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, for it is through guest feedback that we are better able to improve our hotel for all of our guests.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. If we can ever be of assistance while you are here please be sure to ask. Our Guest Service Agents are always willing to help!
We look forward to your next visit to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shalimar
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB
TownePlace Suites Fort Walton Be...
#5 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites At Eglin Air Force Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#10 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB
Address: 1280 N Eglin Pkwy, Shalimar, FL 32579-1253
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Shalimar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shalimar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin Afb
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin Afb Hotel Shalimar
Fairfield Inn Shalimar
Fairfield Shalimar
Shalimar Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing