We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Jeeez” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenilworth Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenilworth Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Sebring
Glenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jeeez”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Ok, it's on the National Register of Historic Places, and that designation does restrict what improvements/updating an owner is allowed to make. But rust on the bath fixtures, dead gnats in the tub? Lumpy, needs replacing mattress? We were startled twice when a lamp shade fell as we were reading in bed. 15" tube TV. Toilet seat in our bath couldn't be raised upright, as it was blocked by the flush handle. Entry from parking to lobby is at least 11 steps, I saw no ramps for accessibility.
From reviews, I know others favor this hotel, and I prefer preservation as well. But you can at least keep the place clean.
For an example of a hotel that provides both nostalgia and cleanliness, see my review of the Inn of Naples, in Naples, Florida.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetireeTraveler33715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    77
    31
    21
    18
See reviews for
53
72
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Welcoming, clean, friendly staff, nostalgic yet modern conveniences! So relaxing, wish I had stayed longer than 3 days! Pool was spotless, quiet and lovely! Went on a Groupon and was not disappointed with the double bed room. Simple, not elegant but we knew it wouldn't be. Had TV, a/c, fridge; adequate as we were only sleeping in it! Will definitely return for a longer stay God willing! Lovely area to roam and browse around! The front porch with rocking chairs were very relaxing and sunsets can be enjoyed while viewing a (now) somewhat obstructed view of Lake Jackson. Not for those expecting modern upscale lodging this is a fun, old lodge with comfort not elegance.

Room Tip: ROOM SERVICE AND SPA NOT AVAILABLE but a nice exercise room is! Fancy the place is not, nostalgic i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne-Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is our 11th year to stay at the Kenilworth. We believe we get a nice room at a fair price. Granted, this property is no longer at the height of its elegant history but it is aging gracefully. The linens and towels are fine and we always find our room to be very clean. We enjoy staying in the poolside rooms and spend a lot of time in the screened shady porch. The Palm Restaurant and Jimmy's Café that are nearby provide good meals at very fair prices. If you have a few hours to fill, get directions to the Highland Hammock State Park in town. It has several short hiking trails, a tram ride to other sections of the park and an interesting museum of the CCC, a work program of the government in the l930s.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool are choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This was the dirtiest most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. Dirty sheets, a filthy shower and paper thin walls. I woke up this morning with a big bug on the side of my head. Never again. I would sleep in my car before I would stay here again. If I could give it a 0 rating I would.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank hopcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have stayed at Kenilworth Lodge many times since 2004, and look forward to another trip soon. We always seem to sleep well, and get up early to make the most of our time in Sebring. Our last stay was for the Bike Sebring 24 Hour event held at the Sebring Race Track. We had a suite, as we have done before and loved the space available. Breakfast is always fun, and meeting the guests who come for the winter months is great and adds to the friendliness of the hotel. The jigsaws are good entertainment and we love the history surrounding the lodge. Wonderful to sit on the veranda on a rocking chair and have nap....
We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woolllly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here maybe 5-6 years ago, and while it was not ever a luxurious hotel it was acceptable, funky but charming. This time, we couldn't get a reservation at the Residence Inn or Inn on the Lake, so we checked into one of the suites on the 2nd floor of Kenilworth, and what a disappointment. We were prepared for funk and even just a Comfort Suite level type of accommodation. What turned out was not acceptable at any standards. The closet floor was filthy with debris from not having ever been vacuumed it seemed (not sure what the stuff was). Stains on ceilings, toilet did not look like it was cleaned, had "stuff" around the rim. Tub rusted out at the bottom, and then get this, not only did the sink in the bathroom not drain, there was another sink in the bedroom, and it was backed up with disgusting looking water that wouldn't drain. I called the front desk, and maybe we will be able to change room tomorrow, but we will likely try to find another hotel if possible. I don't mind old, like linoleum floor, old CRT TVs, (hard to find any hotels with them these days), all this is acceptable since the hotel is inexpensive, but basic cleanliness is to be expected. The lodge had one shot this time with us because our usual hotels were full, unfortunately we will never come back again. A shame as the staff all seems nice, and I would love to support mom and pop type of businesses but there is a minimum level that a hotel should have to live up to. I hope the management would consider closing down some of the rooms and gradually repair one room at a time, and turn this very very tired (near death) grand dame around, she deserves it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Although I love old things, when I stay on the road, I don't want funky. The best part of this hotel is the grand staircase. But it ends there. The rooms include a few amenities such as: noisy window-unit air conditioners. The paint is chipping on the windows. Pull down vinyl shades. Step-up into the bathroom. Old square lineoleum in the bathroom. Oldest toilet I've seen in a long time--the kind that will take small children with a good 10-gallon flush. But there is some charm in the original check-in counter, complete with the wood cubby hole mail slots, all wood cabinets. It hasn't changed in over a half century.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sebring hotels
1.9 mi away
Inn On The Lakes
Inn On The Lakes
#1 of 12 in Sebring
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sebring
5.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Sebring
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sebring
Residence Inn Sebring
#3 of 12 in Sebring
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sebring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Lodge

Property: Kenilworth Lodge
Address: 1610 Lakeview Dr, Sebring, FL 33870-7936
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Sebring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Sebring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kenilworth Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kenilworth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel Sebring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing