We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner in the true sense!”
Review of Sebring Diner

Sebring Diner
Ranked #5 of 142 Restaurants in Sebring
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Diner in the true sense!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had lunch here with 4 others-- all had great lunches and great prices. Love the fried green tomatoes and salads are great. Nice fresh ice tea and great service! All great for bfast with great choices and prices. Always stop here when in town!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    118
    49
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited this little restaurant twice during our stay in Sebring, FL. It caught our eye as we drove down busy Route 27 when we first arrived in town. It looks like an old-fashioned diner with its silver exterior. Inside you'll find a long counter with stools. There is a large seating area with both booths and tables. There's also an outdoor area but we didn't go out there. This is a locally owned mom and pop independent restaurant. They obviously take pride in what they do.

We decided to go on St. Patricks Day for their famous corned beef and cabbage. We expected a long wait but were seated within 15 minutes (even though the line was out the door). The hostess took our drink order, and our waitress came over before the drinks arrived to take our food order. The serving of corned beef and cabbage was big; more than we could eat in one seating. I didn't think to ask if there were smaller portions available. Instead we took our leftovers home and enjoyed them on a second day. The corned beef came in big chunks rather than slices; very tasty, although a bit salty. We also had a big wedge of cabbage, boiled potatoes, long carrot sticks and a corn muffin. The serving was more than worthy of the $10.99 price. Service was fast, efficient, and friendly.

The diner is open 7 days a week from 6 a.m. to 3 p.m. They are NOT open for the normal dinner times. Breakfast is served any time. The menu has quite a variety of offerings. Breakfast is typical with eggs, sausage, bacon, steak, country ham, etc. They have corned beef hash and scrapple should you be so inclined. Biscuits and gravy or griddle cakes are also on the menu along with fruit and cereal.

Starters include fried green tomatoes, which were crispy, tasty, and hot. I think we got eight big slices. You can also get fried calamari, chili cheese fries, nachos, mini crab cakes, etc. There are large salads, soups and chili, sandwiches including open face, burgers, and quesadillas. Dinners include old-time favorites such as pot roast, meat loaf, liver, country fried steaks, pork chops, steaks and seafood. Each day there is a special: Sunday - baked half chicken; Monday - beef tips; Tuesday -- chicken and dumplings; Wednesday - Chicken Stir Fry; Thursday -- spaghetti and meatballs or sausage; Friday -- fish fry; and Saturday -- crab meat stuffed fish fillet. They also serve Italian dishes. Their desserts are yummy. Even though we couldn't finish our main course, we took home a strawberry shortcake that was delicious.

When you're in Sebring, give this diner a try. Don't be turned off if you see people standing out the door. The line moves quickly, and it's well worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's Worth the Wait!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

At 1pm in the afternoon on a Wednesday they were lined up out the door. It is a classic diner but looks like a bright shiny silver box from the outside. All the "snowbirds" told me they have the best food. And they were right! We waited about 20 minutes but could have been seated sooner if we wanted to sit outside. The waitress was friendly and very timely even in this busy place. My dad had the fish sandwich without the bun and I can see why. It was huge and of course I tried a piece of it. Great! I had a burger. I was not expecting much, but it was good as any Angus Burger I have had anywhere. In fact, better than some chain names. The sweet potato fries were awesome and we really liked that they served it with ranch dip. Looking forward to visiting "mom and pop" again in Florida so I can go back to the Sebring Diner!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Romeo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRID PLACE!!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The to go order I placed was not kept warm... when I arrived to pick it up and complained ...they re made ot and charged me for both! HORRID PLACE!!!

Helpful?
Thank Carrassa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“50's type diner. Very busy so people like this place.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food was very good, variety of food offerings was plentiful. We were seated right away for lunch.
Only open until 3:00pm - - we were wondering if staying open until about 7:00pm would be beneficial. Menu would not have to change for those hours and we are sure they would be busy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebring Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sebring Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing