We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Park”

Highlands Hammock State Park
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Sebring
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hammock Inn Restaurant is located inside Highlands Hammock State Park. It is known for it's tasty homemade food, friendly staff and Wild Orange Ice Cream & Pie. It features an "All You Can Eat Fish" Fish Fry every Friday night from 5-8pm. No entrance fee is charged for just a restaurant visit-Based on the honor System. Worth the trip!
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
311 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to the park planning on doing the tram ride. Unfortunately, the tram was sold out. The person at the gate advised us that people generally come first thing in the morning to buy their tickets even though the tram doesn't go until afternoon. We were disappointed but when on a ride through the park anyway. We did 2 of the walks which were very nice. Had we known what a nice spot this was, I would have liked to have packed a lunch and went for a day trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    135
    24
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful day”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We only were there an hour or so, but we took a bike trail and it was so lovely. The weather was perfect, the trees were nice and shady, and we had a picknic. Really enjoyed our time here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Mysterious beautiful trails!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went camping for the weekend. Park trails are well maintained and are easy to walk. An elevated boardwalk crosses some marvelous swamp areas; we saw a big resting alligator in the swamp! The camping area is covered by tall pleasing trees; however, there is not any type of bushes nor vegetation separating one campsite from the other. Therefore, you can see and hear everybody from everywhere. If you do not mind the lack of privacy, you will enjoy the beautiful area because it is really pretty. We went on a tent; maybe rv camping could give you a different feeling. Bathrooms are too old; renovations are needed! Anyway, the park is beautiful, the thousand-year old oak tree is a must to see and hug! Highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The tram ride is awesome.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been on the tram ride many times over several years and have always enjoyed it. We have never taken the time to explore the other aspects of the park but they look nice too. My 80 year old parents winter in Sebring at a nearby condo resort so our visits are about spending time with them and at their pool. Our whole group (8) went on the tram on Tuesday. Great time for everyone 10-81 years old. Kevin the ranger always does a great job. Even though it wasn't a sunny day, we still saw a lot of gators and other animals including deer, pigs, and lots of birds. It is 5$ (3$ for 10yr old) for the hour ride. Well worth it. Very informative. The tram goes through a restricted area of the park. Wish we had more time to explore other parts of the park.
Tips to enjoy are:
buy tickets early- we drive down in the morning to get on the 1:00pm tram. They don't always run a 2:30 tram.
Best seats are on the left side(drivers side) of the tram but all seats are good. Most of the gators will be in the canal on the left side of the path that the tram goes down in the restricted part of the park.

Very educational and informative. Great deal for the price.
You can get great pictures with just you smart phone.
Plan to return year after year.

Helpful?
5 Thank Flip464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Like camping in an amusement park”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Camping in the main campground was a zoo. It was MLK weekend so the extra day may have made it busier than usual, but the layout of the campground didn't help in the least. The campsites are jammed together with little space between them and virtually no privacy. We made the mistake of tent camping here (better than 75% of the people were in RVs). We might as well have put up a tent in the middle of the town square. At least they provided electric so there was no generator noise, but it didn't feel the least bit like "camping".

I am pretty sure we were the only people in the campground who didn't plug in. There were big screen tvs on many of the picnic tables, lights strung up EVERYWHERE and kids roaming loose throughout the campground (we have a 7 year old, but she stayed with us). You couldn't see the stars if you tried because of all the lights on in the campers and campsites.

The rest of the park was nice. Trails were short and mostly well kept. Easy walking. Some of the boardwalks were a bit slippery due to moss and algae but thats expected along swamp trails. Wildlife was pretty sparse owing to the volume of people running around but we did manage to see a few deer in the evening one night.

We looked into the "wilderness campground" and found that it looked a whole lot better for tent campers if you don't mind a neat pit toilet and no running water. That's where our next visit will be.

The restaurant is more of a "snack bar" with burgers or hot dogs and a few other choices along with ice cream and other stuff. The "wild orange cheesecake" was basically an orange sherbert in a pie crust so don't rush to get it unless thats what you want.

The museum has interesting facts about the Civilian Conservation Corps. And a few interesting displays but it won't ruin your trip if you miss it.

There are several playgrounds if you need to entertain the kids.

In summary, if you like camping as an excuse to "tailgate without a game" this place fits right in. If you like camping to get out in the wilderness with your family, see the stars at night and commune with nature... Either come on Monday in the off season or go elsewhere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jupitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlands Hammock State Park also viewed

Sebring, Central Florida
Sebring, Central Florida
 
Sebring, Central Florida
 

Been to Highlands Hammock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing