We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park - Easy Access For Day Hiking”

Highlands Hammock State Park
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Sebring
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hammock Inn Restaurant is located inside Highlands Hammock State Park. It is known for it's tasty homemade food, friendly staff and Wild Orange Ice Cream & Pie. It features an "All You Can Eat Fish" Fish Fry every Friday night from 5-8pm. No entrance fee is charged for just a restaurant visit-Based on the honor System. Worth the trip!
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Park - Easy Access For Day Hiking”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was very impressed with the Highlands Hammock State Park. Fantastic.... Plenty of clean hiking trails in and around the various park attractions. Many of the longer trails seem tranquil, lending the idea that you are alone in the Jurrasic time-period and a dinosaur will pop out any moment Don't miss the tram ride. It's $5 bucks and takes about 1.5 hours. Worth every penny. Stay in Sebring which is 15 minutes away.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank powellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    135
    23
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami Shores, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hammocks State Park”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice place to drive around, picnic, walk, hike or bike! Actually, it is enough just to bike up to the entrance and back... (and free)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PSimmons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Day-trip walking tour”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife, my parents, and I really enjoyed taking a walk on one of the trails. It took us past a Momma alligator and two young un's, and later on an older, crusty fella. The visitor's area was very nice.........just disappointed that there was no restaurant at that time. Overall, a nice, inexpensive trip back to nature!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank druthemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun Activities, Lots To Do But Select Carefully Where You Camp”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the park for 5 days and overall it wasn't too bad. our camp site had a really bad slope, they did offer to change our site but our pop- up was leveled out. Things were going ok until the restrooms had a septic problem. The other 2 facilities we're quite a distance away and unfortunately we had to cut through other campsites. As if that was not enough, another facility had 2 out of 4 stalls clogged. Luckily this happened during our final 24 hours of our stay.

As for the park the trails, they were beautiful! Whether you hiked or biked the trails the scenery was breathtaking.

We just encountered some inconveniences in the campsite section. All in all, when you reserve your site make sure your not to far from 2 facilities.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lettie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
330 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Smallish but well done”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fun place to visit. There are several walking trails although none of them are very long (1/2 mile or so is the maximum length). Interesting Conservation Corp Musuem on the premises as well. Some of the trail heads are kind of far away from the main parking areas, but there are spots to pull off if you don't mind parking a bit off road. $6.00 entry fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cwbunger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlands Hammock State Park also viewed

Sebring, Central Florida
Sebring, Central Florida
 
Sebring, Central Florida
 

Been to Highlands Hammock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing