We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere trumps over food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of JR's Runway Cafe - MOVED

JR's Runway Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Blanchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Atmosphere trumps over food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Nice atmosphere watching small planes come in and land. This place was clean and had quite the following. I ordered the reuben sandwich on marble bread for $8.99. The sauerkraut was all I could taste. Could not taste the corned beef, thousand island dressing or rye bread grilled in butter. The sauerkraut tasted like it just came out of the can or package. I would not ordered that reuben again. The others in my party got the chopped steak dinner and pork tenderloin. They all said their food was just okay. Nice place to stop and look around. They have a small museum. Just don't expect an outstanding meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lettergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Large menu, handsome decor, pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We enjoyed our lunch at this lovely venue. Both of us selected the salmon, but the pork tenderloin, and BBQ were tempting, too. The menu was extensive and daily specials were offered at reduced prices. There were numerous choices of sides and beverages. The walls are decorated with nicely framed photos of WWII operations at the air base that became the Sebring Airport. In the adjoining terminal lobby we also enjoyed displays about the Sebring Raceway which is just behind the building. There's also the option to eat outdoors on a covered porch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank random_reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Service and food was above average. The shrimp po'boy is very, very good.

Great view of the runaway and light planes landing and taking off.

Decorations have nice collection of vintage aircraft pictures. The terminal also has displays of both WW II aircraft models and models in cars that have won the Sebring international race track hour race.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maxsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A great place for lunch. We were racing at the track and skipped the track food for lunch. I had lunch there on Saturday, just a turkey sandwich. It was so good I returned on Sunday.
Service is very good and prices are reasonable. Nice seating indoors and a patio overlooking the tarmac. It is a little out of the way, if you are not at the track, but worth the trip

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
148 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The airport in Sebring is unexpectedly nice and the restaurant is a great complement to it. Overlooking the runway, it is your choice to dine inside or outside under the portico. Staff is quite friendly. Service is excellent. Our group favored the Reuben Sandwich for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moore1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JR's Runway Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing